Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2018, 10:50 AM   #1
fripholm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Default Take volume envelope's 0dB position different depending on how it's generated

Just stumbled across this one in Reaper 5.96 x64, Windows 10 Pro - sorry if this was already known.

Here are two screenshots of the same item with the default take volume envelope at zero dB. The envelope in the first image was made active by clicking at the envelope icon in the upper left and check the box "Volume" under "Envelope".

For the second one I have a shortcut setup in ACTIONS using SWS extensions, that shows the envelope.

As can be seen in the tooltip, both are at zero dB but are clearly in very different positions. Is this a bug or am I doing something wrong?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg volumeenv1.jpg (52.3 KB, 48 views)
File Type: jpg volumeenv2.jpg (62.4 KB, 46 views)
fripholm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2018, 04:15 AM   #2
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,179
Default

Can you confirm that you have 'Preferences (-> Project) -> Track/Send Defaults -> Scaling for new volume envelopes: Volume fader scaling' set?

If so, I think it's a bug in SWS (in that it doesn't respect this preference when creating new volume envelopes).
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 12:15 AM   #3
fripholm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Can you confirm that you have 'Preferences (-> Project) -> Track/Send Defaults -> Scaling for new volume envelopes: Volume fader scaling' set?
Thanks for the reply and yes, it's set to VOLUME FADER SCALING in preferences.
fripholm is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 03:23 AM   #4
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 8,179
Default

As I suspected, thanks for confirming.
Then it be nice if you could create an issue / bug report on the SWS tracker:
https://github.com/reaper-oss/sws/issues

edit:
Thanks for the detailed report on the tracker.

Last edited by nofish; 10-18-2018 at 04:00 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.