Old 04-07-2006, 05:28 AM   #1
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default New to the party - and a small suggestion maybe?

Cheers folks,
I accidentally found reaper 2 days ago and must say, WOW.
For such a small application I'm amazed and surprised about the stuff this thing offers. Looks like it's here to stay?

With all the noise about ACID/VEGAS clone/lookalike, it would be nice to also support acidized .wav files? I mean, I have a lot of them and you already provide the possibility to repeat a clip by only stretching it to the right. Or is there a proprietary algo/header in these files which would require licensing?

Excuse me for my bad english.

Regards
Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 08:02 AM   #2
Newbie Brad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkster1
it would be nice to also support acidized .wav files
This is a GREAT suggestion.
Newbie Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 09:17 AM   #3
shane
Human being with feelings
 
shane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 61.215 -149.8925
Posts: 366
Default

What is the difference between an Acidized .wav file and a regular .wav file?
shane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 10:00 AM   #4
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,497
Default

Fret not, Justin is well aware of this and has been for some time
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 10:24 AM   #5
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shane
What is the difference between an Acidized .wav file and a regular .wav file?
Acidized .wav files automatically adjust to the project tempo, so you don't have to mess with timeshift.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio
Fret not, Justin is well aware of this and has been for some time
Fret not? Does this mean that he will consider this? I mean, like mentioned, I'm new to the app and this board and I don't feel like reading ALL posts from the past.

Regards
Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 12:58 PM   #6
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,497
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkster1
Fret not? Does this mean that he will consider this? I mean, like mentioned, I'm new to the app and this board and I don't feel like reading ALL posts from the past.

Regards
Raphael
Just to do yourself a favor, just pick any posts at random from the first few pages

You will see that by FAR this app's developments happen faster than any other audio app ever, by a HUGE margin. Sometimes two or three new versions a day. There is NOTHING like the reaper development speed

or responsiveness

So far it has been the case that if a feature could be lobbied for, the why's and hows, it has shown up in reaper, or is on the way.

Justin is aware of the Acid looping requests, and in fact the ability to do it is already there, just not in a convenient, easy on the fly GUI being exposed
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 01:16 PM   #7
RokkD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,125
Default

Have you ever seen on a forum, members hint that there're having a hard time keeping up with the abundance of updates for an app (read some threads)...it's got to be unprecedented.

--
RokkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 02:34 PM   #8
Ben Zero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 678
Default

I concur that ACID-ized wav support would be a great feature. I'd really like to see it in REAPER.

My only worry is that surely developers have to pay Sony licensing fees for this? This could be prohibitively expensive for a small developer, and my worry is compounded by a hunch that Sony may not be too pleased with REAPER!

Ben
Ben Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2006, 03:01 PM   #9
synth
Human being with feelings
 
synth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Synthopia
Posts: 1,729
Default

I think Sony may see REAPER as a mean rip-off of ACID that may destroy it's product.

ACID-ized WAV support is there in FL Studio for a long time.


P.S. Shouldn't acidized WAVs be rather called "sour" or "rusty" WAVs?
__________________
Synth's consolidated FR thread: Loaded with some of the *hottest* features in DAW-land:

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=22279
synth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 05:34 AM   #10
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default

@pipelineaudio:
I'm aware of the developing pace of this app and I'm really amazed.
There's already such an awful lot of options in less then a 1MB .exe, even some of the "Big Boys" should feel ashamed. And since I'm not new to DAW's & Sequencing, I'm even more surprised.
Anyway, I didn't mean to start a controverse here. It's just, not being a native english speaker, I have some difficulties in understanding certain things/sentences, and the internet can be a hard place to discuss things, since you can't see the bodylanguage of your talking partner, which can cause some misunderstandings.

I'll be watching this app/board as regularily as I can to see where it's heading.
Have a nice weekend mate

Regards
Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 06:17 AM   #11
Art Evans
Mortal
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6,656
Default

No worries Raphael - all that's being said is that it's quite possible that the feature you suggest may be provided later, as the developer (Justin) is aware that it would be good to have.

I do admire people who can discuss technical matters in a language which is not their own! It must require linguistic skills rather greater than I have - I couldn't even ask the way to the British Embassy in any language but English!

And now - sit back and see what comes along in future releases, and enjoy!
Art Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 06:47 AM   #12
RokkD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans
No worries Raphael - all that's being said is that it's quite possible that the feature you suggest may be provided later, as the developer (Justin) is aware that it would be good to have.

I do admire people who can discuss technical matters in a language which is not their own! It must require linguistic skills rather greater than I have - I couldn't even ask the way to the British Embassy in any language but English!

And now - sit back and see what comes along in future releases, and enjoy!
Well said...

--
RokkD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 06:52 AM   #13
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

And, by the way, Raphael, welcome to the fold.
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:28 AM   #14
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Art Evans
No worries Raphael...

And now - sit back and see what comes along in future releases, and enjoy!
Will do so Sir

Quote:
Originally Posted by fluffy
And, by the way, Raphael, welcome to the fold.
Thanks fluffy. Are you by chance present on cubase.net or k-v-r sometimes? Your nick sounds familiar to me.

Cheers
Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 07:54 AM   #15
fluffy
Human being with feelings
 
fluffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Port Neches, Texas
Posts: 1,949
Default

I do hang around KVR occassionally, but I use my real name there (sboullion).
__________________
IT'S A TROMBONE !!!
fluffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2006, 10:42 AM   #16
pipelineaudio
Mortal
 
pipelineaudio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wickenburg, Arizona
Posts: 13,497
Default

Funkster1, no worries and welcome aboard!

After giving reaper a good hammering, if there are things you really want, just present a good case. You'd actually be surprised at whats already under the hood.
pipelineaudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2006, 06:19 AM   #17
funkster1
Human being with feelings
 
funkster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Planet Groove
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelineaudio
Funkster1, no worries and welcome aboard!

After giving reaper a good hammering, if there are things you really want, just present a good case. You'd actually be surprised at whats already under the hood.
Cheers mate,
btw, I've found out by trial & error how to quickly adjust the length/timing of my loops. It's as simple as alt+shift dragging the loop boundaries to the left or right. GREAT!!!
This app is like easter: search & find the hidden eggs

Regards
Raphael
funkster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.