COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :

Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > NINJAM Discussion > NINJAM User Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 05:15 AM   #1
EnthENd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default Guitar Rig/ Amplitube/ Revalver with NINJAM

Okay.. so like.
Guitar Rig and the other two programs I listed are all like virtual amp modelling programs.. basically it's like a multi-effects pedal on your computer.
You plug your guitar straight into the computer and then open the program and it takes your line-in signal and you do all the stuff on there.
I'm going to use Guitar Rig for an example, but all the programs work the exact same way.

Like.
If I were to open Guitar Rig and then go and record on an audio interface.. it'd send my dry guitar signal.. even when I have the program up and can hear the one that's got distortion and effects.
What I'm asking is, if anyone knows a way to have NINJAM read my signal after it's gone through Guitar Rig..?

I can't even connect to NINJAM with the programs running.. if I go to the whole ASIO driver thing, it doesn't show my inputs in the section.. it won't let me do that at the same time.. same goes for like Guitar Rig and say Amplitube.. I can't run both at one time.

I'm sorry if this is confusing.. but I really want to be able to get on NINJAM with one of these programs.. that's the reason I have them - so I don't have to bother with micing my amp up.

Thanks in advance!

Also:
If for some reason, someone is in an extremely friendly mood and is good with this kind of stuff.. then you could search for Guitar Rig, Amplitube, or Revalver.. all are made by popular companies. Like Revalver is made by Peavey.. and stuff.. anyways.. you could search them and download the trial version and see if you can find a way to make it work with NINJAM.
that would be great =]
but not asking anyone to or anything.. only if someone has a little spare time to help a fellow jammer out =P

But yeahh, help appreciated.

=]
EnthENd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 08:35 AM   #2
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

What sound card are you using? Does it have an ASIO driver? Or are you using ASIO4ALL?

(And please don't mic the amp... DI is the way to go... )
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:00 PM   #3
EnthENd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Yeah. ASIO.

And I never said I was going to mic it.. even though I disagree with the "DI is the way to go." The only reason I don't mic my amp for online play is because of the noise levels being too high.. but micing my high-end tube amp sounds about 20 times better than some digital crap.
EnthENd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:15 PM   #4
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnthENd View Post
but micing my high-end tube amp sounds about 20 times better than some digital crap.
of course it does - its coming out of speakers meant for the amp...

but for recordings, hardly a diff.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2009, 03:40 PM   #5
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnthENd View Post
but micing my high-end tube amp sounds about 20 times better than some digital crap.
Sorry, not on NINJAM it won't. And you didn't answer the question. Guess you're not after help here.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:15 AM   #6
EnthENd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
of course it does - its coming out of speakers meant for the amp...

but for recordings, hardly a diff.

Yeah. No.
The speakers aren't the case at all. lol
I assume you're not a guitar player.

--

and @ pljones
I've used both on there.
NINJAM really doesn't make the quality all that bad.
It compresses it a bit but it doesn't ruin anything.
I've tested it by going on the program on multiple computers and playing something, then waiting for it to play back on there and it sounded excellent.

I did answer your question.
I said I was using ASIO.


You guys should look up the difference between solid state and tube amps lol..
Isn't like comparing going digital with a piano or bass or drums.. lol
If I had a crap solid state amp, then yeah it would and going digital would sound just as good.

Last edited by EnthENd; 08-08-2009 at 05:19 AM.
EnthENd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:40 AM   #7
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnthENd View Post
Yeah. No.
The speakers aren't the case at all. lol
I assume you're not a guitar player.
guitar player for 13 years.


started with a marshall tube amp and a crate solid state amp. the differences between them are quite apparent - but digital?

you're being fooled by your monitoring/mixing.... imo.

but this debate has been done a million times, with no one agreeing on anything, so no sense in continuing it here
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.

Last edited by Jason Brian Merrill; 08-08-2009 at 05:49 AM.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 02:18 PM   #8
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnthENd View Post
I said I was using ASIO.
OK, so you say you're using ASIO.

But are you using ASIO4ALL or the soundcard driver?

And in any case, what soundcard?

-----
The main problem with running a mic'd amp is that, unless you've got the amp/speaker somewhere soundproofed so you can't hear it, you'll be listening to that, rather than what's really happening on NINJAM.

When you DI, you can set up so you only hear what's coming through NINJAM.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.

Last edited by pljones; 08-08-2009 at 02:20 PM.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 12:12 PM   #9
EnthENd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

@ other guy
lol 13 years playing and thinks some cheap 200 dollar digital stuff sounds as good as a 3,000 dollar tube
lololol

Quote:
Originally Posted by pljones View Post
OK, so you say you're using ASIO.

But are you using ASIO4ALL or the soundcard driver?

And in any case, what soundcard?

-----
The main problem with running a mic'd amp is that, unless you've got the amp/speaker somewhere soundproofed so you can't hear it, you'll be listening to that, rather than what's really happening on NINJAM.

When you DI, you can set up so you only hear what's coming through NINJAM.
Honestly, I have no idea.
It's a studio computer so it isn't really setup like a normal one..
but I went to the Guitar Rig site and I think I found a solution.. they said to check out Reaper.. because you can like use VST plugins and stuff and that Guitar Rig can work as one of those.. and then you can put it straight to live on NINJAM or something so I'm going to check that out.

--
And yeah, exactly. Totally agreed which is why I wish to go digital for jamming online.
EnthENd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 12:16 PM   #10
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EnthENd View Post
@ other guy
lol 13 years playing and thinks some cheap 200 dollar digital stuff sounds as good as a 3,000 dollar tube
lololol
show me some amazing tones with your 3000 dollar gear.

i have both, so show me.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 01:10 PM   #11
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

If you'll be using Reaper, read this thread.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:31 PM   #12
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

EnthENd you will need to use REAPER or virtual cables or similar to route to NINJAM but if you use REAPER it has a NINJAM client in the form of a Plugin called ReaNINJAM

You'd setup ReaNINJAM on your Master FX then you'd make a Track and on this track you'd set the INPUT's to that of your Dry Guitar.
Then you can now click FX and add them 3 programs as VST plugin's, using all 3 or just 1 then there are now no ASIO sharing issues as you are using one ASIO through REAPER and all is handled in REAPER.

Before VST plugin's you've installed show you will need to go into Options / Preferences / Plug-ins / VST then set the VST plug-ins path to your VST Plugins folder.
If you are not sure if you have one then do a search of your pc for Vst and they may have already installed to a dir. If you know you don't have one make a dir on C: called VST Plugins then reinstall the 3 programs and when it asks for a path for VST Plugins select the folder you made on C:
Now in REAPER in the VST pth settings set that folder.
Restart REAPER, click FX on a track, then VST and you will see your 3 programs, now you can use 1 or 3 or loads of other free plugins available on the net and all will pipe route through to NINJAM.

The Link PLJones gave you will get you setup on REAPER with ReaNINJAM, also ReaNINJAM checks test servers and displays who's in them and allows you to connect by clicking so no need to enter server addresses for the test server.
You can find more Servers and NINJAM stuff at these sites also:
http://ninjamers.ning.com
http://ninbot.com
http://ninjam.dyndns.org

.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer

Last edited by AndyMc; 08-12-2009 at 06:35 PM.
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 10:54 AM   #13
EnthENd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you Andy.
Only one who actually said something helpful.

Thanks alot =)

I've pretty much got everything sorted out now.
EnthENd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.