COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 02-09-2008, 04:43 PM   #1
3mph
Human being with feelings
 
3mph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 264
Default Cracks/pops at the start of an interval

Hi.

A friend of mine gave me a new computer, so instead of running on a 1Ghz/512MB RAM machine I now have a 3GHz/1GB RAM computer! I can do a lot more on NINJAM with the ekstra speed, like using VSTi while rewiring to Reason and singing through a bunch of effects.

Everything works fine with Reaper and NINAJM on my new computer, except that every time an interval starts there's a loud crackling/popping sound and sometimes a tiny delay which really kills the flow while playing. The whole setup is still in sync with the rest of the jammers, and I've been told that it can't be heard by other players. I didn't have that problem at my old computer, so with more speed and RAM I'm surpriced that this issue occurs. The soundcard is setup the same way it was in the old computer (it's a Pwoersampler from creamware).

What can be the cause of such a problem?
__________________
Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. (Lennon)
3mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 09:49 AM   #2
the all new rob
Human being with feelings
 
the all new rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: east coast of Kansas
Posts: 681
Default

I had similar problems when I set my latency too low in my ASIO drivers. See if adding latency cures it for you.
the all new rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 11:17 AM   #3
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 12,272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3mph View Post
except that every time an interval starts there's a loud crackling/popping sound
what is an "interval"?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 09:14 PM   #4
the all new rob
Human being with feelings
 
the all new rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: east coast of Kansas
Posts: 681
Default

It's a defined number of beats that forms the basic unit of time synchronization in ninjam. You can hear it because the metronome makes a different sounding click on beat 1 of the interval.

Most audio problems I had in ninjam happen right at the top of an interval. Also, most of them went away once I got my ASIO setup tuned.
the all new rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 10:53 AM   #5
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Yeah, make sure your ASIO drivers are the latest ones, especially if you've just re-installed - you may have gone backwards.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 04:22 PM   #6
petiane
Human being with feelings
 
petiane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: basque country france
Posts: 1
Default SDRAM story

I ve got a similar trouble on an old PC, peace at his mind, with nomame SDRAM. It maked some crack sound as it wanted.
I decided to change the SDRAM by others valued.
That was the end (my friend) of the trouble.
petiane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2008, 04:21 PM   #7
3mph
Human being with feelings
 
3mph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 264
Default

Just an update:

I've tried with different RAM-configs but with no difference. Tonght I discovered, that the crackling sound will only occur if theres no sound transmitted between the last beat and the first of an interval.

Let's say that the bpi is 8. On beat 5 I hit the keyboard and hold down the keys. The interval starts over - no cracks. In the next interval I hit the keyboard on 5, realease the keys after a short while (on, let's say, beat 6) and when the interval starts over - KRAJTZZCH (and a tiny delay in sound).

It's only me who hears it.

Maybe I'm wrong, but now I've tried with different RAMs and soundcards, tried other PCI-configs (to avoid the latency-issue) etc. etc. From my point of view this has to be releated to the software.

Man, this is killing the fun :-(
__________________
Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. (Lennon)
3mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 11:40 AM   #8
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

The only time I notice this is when our internet connect is playing up -- I think, for me, it's a problem with the uplink to the server not letting data through fast enough. I'm not sure how "clever" the compression and uplink code in NINJAM are -- they may still be working away when there's only a very low signal level. And any signal being pulled in will have a lot of random noise, compared with normal audio, so could be harder to compress - so take longer to transmit. Maybe...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2008, 01:48 PM   #9
3mph
Human being with feelings
 
3mph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 264
Default

I'm not sure what you mean. The problem started when I got a new (faster and better) computer - I haven't changed ISP or other internet configuration.



Btw, your last URL in your signature fails in Opera-browser :-( (Sorry I had to bring it up here, but I can't figure out how to PM you..)
__________________
Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. (Lennon)

Last edited by 3mph; 05-28-2008 at 01:52 PM.
3mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2008, 10:41 AM   #10
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Have you checked things out with
http://www.thesycon.de/eng/latency_check.shtml?

New machines are weird. There's a guy with a 64bit multi-core AMD system running Linux who's getting constants xruns with wineasio (which for unknown reasons, I seem to support). On my 32bit single-core AMD system, it's pretty much okay... But an old version of the code works! So... Basically, things are weird... :lol:
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2008, 07:26 PM   #11
Alex18
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 22
Default

On Ninjam try turning down the metronome volume, if it's too loud it will crackle i found. Even if you do turn down the volume on your speakers/headphones that won't help. Well I'd say give it a shot i know mine did the same thing
Alex18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2008, 07:49 AM   #12
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Look for a guide to optimizing your pc for cubase, even if ya not using cubase its same thing for a lot of DAWS. Also if ya have vista then as of yet there is no fix unless someone knows of one.

Also PCI timings can have a lot to do with it too.

Really the best place to start is pops and cracks on google, u will find many guides on how to reduce it, what causes it and so on.

But if that don't help put ya machine specs on here, including, sound card even if built in, other sound cards if u have built in and extrernal or pci card.
Also mem type, motherboard, hard drive spec, as in speed, page file size (system cache), graphics card, ide configuration as in what one the cd drive is on and what the hd is on and os your using.
__________________
Latest Shit (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2008, 03:46 AM   #13
3mph
Human being with feelings
 
3mph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 264
Default

Thanks for your sugesstions AndyMC. It's only at the start of every (on beat 1) interval it crakcles in the sound, and not after beat 1, so it might not be the cpu-power that cause the problem. Here's my specs:

I've tried with Creamware Powersampler and M-Audio Delta 1010lt.

Here's an Everest report (sorry for the Danish stuff): http://www.3mph.dk/report.htm

Thanks for your help!
__________________
Music is everybody's possession. It's only publishers who think that people own it. (Lennon)
3mph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.