COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 06-12-2011, 04:06 AM   #1
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default Ninjam Noob needs Help!

ok, any and all help will be much appreciated here!

i am currently trying to set up a Network Music Performance, using Max/Msp and Ableton.

Long story short, i want two nodes/clients to play audio and tis be streamed back to a host.

do i need to set up a NInjam server on the host to enable this? I am on OSX 10.6.7, and am struggling with the set up instructions on the Ninjam Server.

I will be using a LAN for this.

If i need to set up the server on the host, walk through instructions would be great! I understand that it must be done through terminal, but again 0 here i am novice!

thankyou!
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 06:56 PM   #2
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

Hiya, yes you will need to run your own server for a performance or you could have people drop in the server or even lag you out if you used a public server.

Here is the official NINJAM's download page for the NINJAM Server:
http://www.cockos.com/ninjam/downloa...win32_v006.zip

and here you can find a partially setup version with some instructions including Brennan's Ninjamcast bot for live stream direct from server.
http://ninjamers.spruz.com/downloads.htm
__________________
Latest **** (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 02:55 AM   #3
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

hi,

thanks for the info,but i am on OSX ie an Apple,so that download is not really for me! any ideas on how to set up the server on a MAC? or perhaps point me towards someone who may know?

thanks in advance
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 04:44 AM   #4
jayendra
Human being with feelings
 
jayendra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Gippsland, Aus
Posts: 510
Default

I got ninjam server working on a mac.

You have to:
1. copy the contents of the .dmg into a folder
download here
http://www.cockos.com/ninjam/downloa...server_osx.dmg

then you edit the example.cfg.txt file and then save as 'config.cfg' in the same folder as ninjamsvr

Then run ninjamsvr (I extracted mine to the desktop) this is what you need to run in terminal
"/Users/computernamehere/Desktop/ninjamsrv config.cfg"

You can then edit the config.cfg file to have different bpm/bpi and save it as a different name
(i.e. ninjambpm140.cfg)
"/Users/jacmac/Desktop/ninjamsrv ninjambpm140.cfg"

I got mine working

I can't remember exactly but there is a guide on the ninjam site here
http://www.cockos.com/ninjam/server-guide.php

The key parts being
"On OS X/Linux/FreeBSD (OS X will require you to open a terminal and go to the proper directory):
./ninjamsrv configfilename.cfg"

&
"If you need ot change the configuration once the server is running, you can restart it by using the command "killall -HUP ninjamsrv" in terminal"
__________________
.-. . .- .--. . .-. | .. ... | --. --- .-.. -..

Last edited by jayendra; 06-15-2011 at 02:31 PM.
jayendra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 01:54 PM   #5
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

jayendra - that is really helpful.

thankyou, i might need a bit more help but will try and thankyou very much!
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 06:24 PM   #6
AndyMc
Human being with feelings
 
AndyMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 441
Default

N1, Jay.

Not sure if stuff in the cfg is same as in the win32 one but it's worth having a look, then you can find possible other answers your looking for.
Were always around to help but it will be a longer wait for the answer.
__________________
Latest **** (looking for singers): http://www.soundcloud.com/AndyMcProducer
Twitter (@AndyMcProducer): http://www.twitter.com/AndyMcProducer
Facebook Page: http://www.facebook.com/AndyMcProducer
AndyMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 03:22 AM   #7
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

ok. i think i have it set up - to a degree.

i have copied the files into a folder (which is being recognised as a directory in terminal).

i have adjusted the 'example.cnfg.txt' file and renamed it 'config.cfg'

but when i try and start up, i get this...

rrmacbook:~ robinrenwick$ /users/robinrenwick/desktop/ninjam/ninjamsrv config.cfg
NINJAM Server v0.01a ALPHA built on Jul 7 2005 at 14:26:31 starting up...
Copyright (C) 2005, Cockos, Inc.
[config] error opening configfile 'config.cfg'
Error loading config file!


any ideas?

the following is how i have done the config file


# only one port line allowed (last one will be used)
# these are comments
Port 2049



# limit connections of normal users to 10
MaxUsers 4

# limit normal users to 32 channels each, anonymous users to 2
MaxChannels 4 2

ServerLicense cclicense.txt

#anonymoususers yes or no, or multi (to allow multiple users of the same name from the same IP)
AnonymousUsers no
AnonymousUsersCanChat yes
AnonymousMaskIP yes # shows just the nn.nn.nn.x instead of full IP.


AllowHiddenUsers no # set to yes to allow people without channels to not appear in the user list


#ACL list lets you specify in order a list, first match is used
ACL 10.0.0.0/8 deny
ACL 192.168.0.0/16 reserve # reserve slots for local
ACL 0.0.0.0/0 allow # allow all


#user/password/permissions sets
User robin rr1981* # allow all functions
User robin2 rr1981 CBTKRM # allow chat, bpm/bpi, topic changing, and kicking, a reserved slot, and multiple logins
User robin3 rr1981 # allow default functions (chat, no topic)


DefaultTopic "Welcome to NINJAM. Please play nicely."
DefaultBPM 120
DefaultBPI 8

# two parameters: path to log to, and session length (in minutes). 0 for length means 30 seconds.
# if the first parameter (path) is empty, no logging is done
# SessionArchive . 1


# these two require a full restart to update:

# write PID file (non-windows version only)
# PIDFile ninjamserver.pid

# LogFile ninjamserver.log


# set keep-alive interval in seconds. should probably not bother
# specifying this, the default is 3, which is adequate.
# SetKeepAlive 3
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:02 AM   #8
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

ok, so i have been told that i need to cd (copy directory) file first before i run the server.

can anyone confirm this? thanks.....
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 04:08 AM   #9
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

ok - update - i got this working! yay

the code below worked!

rrmacbook:~ robinrenwick$ cd /Users/robinrenwick/Desktop/ninjam/ninjamserver
rrmacbook:ninjamserver robinrenwick$ ls
cclicense.txt example.cfg.txt ninjamsrv
config.cfg.txt license.txt test.cfg.txt
rrmacbook:ninjamserver robinrenwick$ /Users/robinrenwick/Desktop/ninjam/ninjamserver/ninjamsrv test.cfg.txt
NINJAM Server v0.01a ALPHA built on Jul 7 2005 at 14:26:31 starting up...
Copyright (C) 2005, Cockos, Inc.
Server starting up...
Port: 2049
Using defaults 120 BPM 8 BPI



---------

but how do i stop the server running, without just closing the terminal. is there a stop command?
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 03:21 PM   #10
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

Ctrl-C (is that "command key" for Mac?) usually sends a SIGINT (signal: interrupt) command to the foreground task, usually telling it to exit.

Closing the terminal should send SIGHUP (signal: hang-up - from the days of dial-up connections).

If it just won't die, you can send SIGKILL (signal: KILL!) with the command "killall -KILL ninjamserver".
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.

Last edited by pljones; 06-30-2011 at 12:36 AM. Reason: correct Ctrl-C meaning
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 07:28 AM   #11
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

ok thanks. i did try the kill all function, but it didnt work. will try again, next time. thankyou!

do yo know also is there a way of changing the buffer size/latency. for example if i am running a session at 120 bpm 4/4. can i force the inbuilt latency to be a full 4 bars? ie 16 beats? can that be chosen in the config file?

thankyou!
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 11:13 AM   #12
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

From http://www.cockos.com/ninjam/server-guide.php
Code:
DefaultBPM bpm - default server BPM (range 20 to 400)
DefaultBPI bpi - default server BPI (range 2 to 1024)
I don't see a way to stop people changing it, though.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 08:08 AM   #13
umma08
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 18
Default

ok - i got this working - but had a few teething issues, with which i would very much appreciate some help....

first of all i could not log in with the ninjam client into the server i created on the same computer - i got a status: ERROR CREATING DIRECTORY - message ???? anybody know how to fix this, or even what this is?

i was however able to connect using the expertsleepers plugin - and was able to get separated streams back into Ableton from the nodes i had set up.

i was only able to log in with a user name that was already logged in (on another computer in the jam), if you get me, even though i had set up three Users in the confg file???? i then ended up with Users Robin2, Robin3 and Robin2.2 - is this right?

oh and i wasn't able to get the ninjamsrv to end at all - and had to just quit terminal - which probably is not the best way to do it....

here is the terminal log below

Last login: Wed Jun 29 15:29:18 on ttys000
rrmacbook:~ robinrenwick$ cd /Users/robinrenwick/Desktop/ninjamserver
rrmacbook:ninjamserver robinrenwick$ /Users/robinrenwick/Desktop/ninjamserver/ninjamsrv test.cfg.txt
NINJAM Server v0.01a ALPHA built on Jul 7 2005 at 14:26:31 starting up...
Copyright (C) 2005, Cockos, Inc.
Server starting up...
Port: 2050
Using defaults 120 BPM 64 BPI
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.14!
got login request for 'robin2'
157.190.172.14: Accepted user: robin2
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.16!
got login request for 'robin3'
157.190.172.16: Accepted user: robin3
157.190.172.16: disconnected (username:'robin3', code=1)
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.16!
got login request for 'robin3'
157.190.172.16: Accepted user: robin3
157.190.172.16: disconnected (username:'robin3', code=1)
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.16!
got login request for 'robin3'
157.190.172.16: Accepted user: robin3
157.190.172.14: disconnected (username:'robin2', code=1)
157.190.172.16: disconnected (username:'robin3', code=1)
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.16!
got login request for 'robin3'
157.190.172.16: Accepted user: robin3
Incoming connection from 157.190.172.14!
got login request for 'robin2'
157.190.172.14: Accepted user: robin2
Incoming connection from 157.190.173.62!
got login request for 'robinhost'
157.190.173.62: Accepted user: robinhost
157.190.172.14: disconnected (username:'robin2', code=1)
157.190.172.16: disconnected (username:'robin3', code=1)
157.190.173.62: disconnected (username:'robinhost', code=1)

what commands i typed at the end of the 'jam' i could nto get the sever to shut down. infact all that was happening was a blank command line. ie i would type a command and nothing - it wasn't even showing me the user path or anything..... any thoughts on this too?
umma08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 12:25 AM   #14
pljones
Human being with feelings
 
pljones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 593
Default

The "status: ERROR CREATING DIRECTORY" is probably from the client trying to record the session to a folder it cannot create: check under "Options->Preferences" and, if you're not planning to use any of the, uncheck all the "save ..." options.

"i would type a command and nothing". When you open a terminal window, it automatically runs a program, the shell. This is the "foreground process" for that window -- the one receiving the window's keyboard input. When you use the shell to run another program - such as the ninjam server - that program becomes the foreground process receiving keyboard input (and the shell is suspended).

You've a few options. CTRL-Z (Cmd?) puts the current foreground process to sleep (sends it SIGSUSP, I think) and allows any process waiting on it to regain control. CTRL-C (Cmd?) sends the foreground process a SIGINT signal - as mentioned earlier, the server should exit when it gets this.

Alternatively, start up a new terminal window and use the killall command (not kill).

The logging in thing sounds very strange...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony Williams
...Playing fast around the drums is one thing. But to play with people for others, to listen to, that's something else. That's a whole other world.
pljones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.