Old 10-09-2018, 05:00 PM   #1
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default Crash on Load: 64-bit REAPER v5.96

The latest version of Reaper, Windows 64-bit
REAPER v5.96 crashes on load for me. Going to roll back to previous. It'd be great to get a notification of when its safe to try again
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 05:03 PM   #2
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Rolling back to 5.95 worked - no longer crashing
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 05:43 PM   #3
Paul99
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 756
Default

No problem with v5.96 64-bit for me. Must be something else.
Paul99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 07:31 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,454
Default

Have any crash reports to share? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 07:59 PM   #5
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Have any crash reports to share? Thanks!
I'm wasting ten mins of my lunch break trying to find where you keep error logs. Any hints? The answer might be good to put in a sticky on this forum
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:03 PM   #6
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Found this in the "show details" on the "Close Program" window that pops up when it crashes

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: reaper.exe
Application Version: 5.9.6.0
Application Timestamp: 5bbbb4c2
Fault Module Name: NUGEN ISL 64bit.vst3
Fault Module Version: 1.2.1.6
Fault Module Timestamp: 544e7325
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00000000000f36a8
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.48
Locale ID: 3081
Additional Information 1: c91d
Additional Information 2: c91d2aa198282cdfceceda7d6800b17c
Additional Information 3: 9777
Additional Information 4: 9777538352f9ff8246613f6c77801bb3
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:03 PM   #7
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

I looked at getting the Event Viewer to help, but your instructions on your forums don't match anything I see in the Event Viewer, so I can't help you there
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2018, 08:06 PM   #8
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

As mentioned, previous versions of Reaper are still working fine. Hopefully that hint in the error about the Nugen plugin and VST3 will give you somewhere to look
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 01:33 AM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,545
Default

where did yoiu insert the Nugen look-ahead limiter? By any chance in the Master track?

There are and have been for some time issues with inserting effects in the master channel.
I have never seen a satisfactory eplanation as to why, but I circumvent it by using a secondary bus for any FX I want to put on the actual Master.

But I would really like an explanation as to why this is a problem in Reaper.
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:17 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,454
Default

Thanks -- I've downloaded ISL to test, but the only version available via their website is ISL2 (which does not seem to suffer from this problem). Is ISL2 the same as ISL (e.g. should you upgrade?), or is it a separate product?

There is a change in 5.96 (note to self: f4f9886cf1 ) to process latent parameter changes when saving state for VST3s, which perhaps could cause this issue, but it's hard to test to see if it is our issue or an issue with ISL (it is likely the latter, ISL v1 not conforming to the vst3 spec, but I shouldn't point fingers).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 06:32 AM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,454
Default

As another note -- ISL2 crashes instantly on REAPER 5.95 or 5.96 if you insert it on a track with more than 8 channels... so... yeah, there are some compatibility issues with REAPER there. Maybe you want to contact NuGen and see if they can help?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 07:36 AM   #12
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,155
Default

I also experience this issue. Here's my thread with crashlog.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 03:45 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,454
Default

Want to go to www.landoleet.org and test 5.961pre1 and see if it works similar to 5.95? Thanks!
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2018, 04:07 PM   #14
em.T
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Default

Hi Justin I just tested v5.961pre1 and its loaded fine, no crash

Thanks!
em.T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 02:21 AM   #15
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,155
Default

Not solved here, unfortunately

Seems intermittent, in my case.
2 additional crashlogs:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cajywu8adz...shlog.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q208btf3kv...hlog2.txt?dl=0
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:44 AM   #16
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Not solved here, unfortunately

Seems intermittent, in my case.
2 additional crashlogs:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cajywu8adz...shlog.txt?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/q208btf3kv...hlog2.txt?dl=0
I'd imagine this also would occur in 5.95 -- I notice you're running macOS 10.14, there might be something broken in there (by the OS, not by us -- the crash occurs in apple event processing where we have very little control over anything).
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 04:45 AM   #17
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,155
Default

I see, hmm, this already happened with High Sierra, though.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan R÷mer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.