Old 02-19-2024, 09:08 AM   #1
halfshavedyaks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 71
Default Motu 828ES and reaper glitch

I just got a Motu 828ES.

It works great with Reaper except for one weird glitch.

Every time I open Reaper it sets the sample rate to 96khz - even if the project that is opened is at 88khz or some other rate. It does this even when the 828ES is already set to 88khz and I'm opening a 88khz project!

To get it to set the sample rate correctly for the session I have to open the project settings window and close it again, then try to start playing, then click once in the track window, and then it resets the interface.

By comparison on my fireface 800 it is also possible to end up with a session playing with the interface at the wrong rate, but it didn't do it when opening reaper for the first time, only when switching between sessions in tabs.

In general it seems to me that some work needs to be done on making sure that the interface is always set to the rate specified in the project settings.

Could I be doing something wrong? Is there a setting somewhere that will avoid this? It isn't really a big deal, but it's an extra annoying little task every time I open Reaper.
halfshavedyaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2024, 01:33 PM   #2
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Do you have Request Sample Rate ticked in prefs?
How about allow projects to override device sample rate?
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2024, 03:19 PM   #3
halfshavedyaks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stella645 View Post
Do you have Request Sample Rate ticked in prefs?
How about allow projects to override device sample rate?

I don't have "request sample rate" set as I want the project to set it rather than a global pref.

I do have "allow projects to override device sample rate" set as I want the project to set it.
halfshavedyaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2024, 08:21 AM   #4
Stella645
Human being with feelings
 
Stella645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,690
Default

Then I have no idea....if it's only the MOTU it could be owrth trying different usb sockets etc.....I have had some odd sample rate switching issue with MOTU in the past that disappeared when I changed hardware.

Just seems odd that the motu is receiving a 96k request from somewhere when you open Reaper if nothing in Reaper is set to 96k....have you checked your windows settings in case it's windows setting it and then Reaper can't unlock it.....that would be similar to the issues I was having.
__________________
Funkatarium 30th Anniversary Remixes
Ltd Edition Vinyl finally available on Bandcamp.
https://funkatarium.bandcamp.com/alb...ersary-remixes
Stella645 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2024, 01:17 PM   #5
halfshavedyaks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 71
Default

I should have said - I'm on MacOS 12.7.3, and connecting to the Motu via Thunderbolt.

However I think that there is effectively a secret setting in reaper. If you set the project rate to be the default for new projects, then reaper sends that rate to the interface on every boot, and is slow/ineffective at overriding it when an actual project at a different rate loads.

What the default is set to isn't displayed anywhere.

I had my default set to 96k, but most of my projects were at 88k.

I'm not 100% sure of this yet, I need to test more.

Seems to me that it's a reaper bug - reaper should only use the default project setting when creating a new project, or opening one that doesn't have a rate set in project settings. When reaper opens a project that has a rate set in project settings it should use that.
halfshavedyaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2024, 05:54 AM   #6
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 918
Default

Hmm... Everything works fine here with my Motu 828es.

Is your device up to date? firmware? drivers?

Have you tried whether this problem also occurs with a freshly installed reaper portable to rule out the possibility that it is caused by a setting you have made?
Zeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.