Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Old 11-30-2017, 02:26 PM   #1
Day-0
Human being with feelings

Default ASIO4ALL - Output gets choppy every 50-seconds or so...

Hey All,

I am a complete beginner when it comes to recording. I have been meaning to get into this for a while, but I had far too many issues getting setup on my laptop before my recent PC build (latency, sound quality, and lack of know-how overall). Now that I have all the necessary gear and software (at least I think I do) I decided to try out Reaper.

I'm using ASIO4ALL as the driver for my soundcard (that's what it is... right?) as the driver for my interface does not allow me to route the output (or monitoring) to my headphones (which go through a usb powered headphone amp). I decided to use ASIO4ALL as it seems common in the forums and common on Youtube tutorials.

Here is the issue: Although ASIO4ALL gives me the option to select my headphone amp as an output, once I set this up in the driver's software and in Reaper's preferences (by clicking "ok") I get around 50 seconds of clean recording and monitoring... then it gets choppy.

I can almost "reset" this problem just by going to Reaper's preferences and clicking "OK" but then the issue occurs again. It seems to only be an issue with the output, as my recording sounds fine when I "reset" the issue to check my recording.

I thought the issue may have been caused by buffer size (again, I'm new to this) so I played around with the settings in the driver's software but nothing seems to have worked.

Gear: Passive Bass -> Warwick LWA1000 class "D" amp head -> DI out from amp into Behringer U-Phoria UMC202HD interface -> USB into PC I/O backplate.

Computer specs: WIN10 Pro (64-bit), Intel i5-7500 CPU, 8GB RAM, >100GB avaliable on SSD, and plenty of space on my 1TB HDD.

Hopefully this is detailed enough for someone to figure this out. Any and all help is appreciated

Regards,
Day-0