Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Old 08-16-2019, 03:33 AM   #1
LuCsa
Human being with feelings

Default Scripting - language and paradigm confusion

Dear Reapers,

once again I'm happily thinking about tackling Reaper scripting, but there is a veeery basic question recurring to me around which I fail to wrap my mind.

Reaper offers me to write my scripts in either EEL, Lua or Python. The documentation also lists C/C++ as an available language.

As a C++ programmer I am very much thinking with the object oriented paradigm in the back of my head. What is ReaScript's "paradigm"?
Lua is per se not object oriented (but you can "fake" classes), Python is, I don't know about EEL... C/C++? What... is it now C or C++? Procedural or object oriented?

In what frame of mind should I conceptualize my scripts?

Secondly, the compiled C/C++ Reaper API dll that is mentioned in the API documentation... Is it for use in external programs?

I'd be glad if someone could shed some light on this and a short explanation of Reaper's/ReaScript's paradigms would be most helpful!

Thanks,
LuCsa
LuCsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 03:51 AM   #2
Xenakios

ReaScript is basically just the Reaper C API functions(*) wrapped to work in a scripting context, it doesn't take advantage of the object oriented possibilities of Lua or Python. Cockos's Eel language doesn't really have real objects. So, ReaScript could be described as "procedural". You can of course do object oriented wrappers in Lua or Python yourself.