Old 11-19-2017, 08:11 PM   #1
cymbals
Human being with feelings
 
cymbals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default Hitting Home button with plugin active

This action loads the first preset in the plugin instead of going back to the beginning of the song. Very annoying.
cymbals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2017, 07:59 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

What are you referring to with "home button"?
If you mean the transport rewind or stop buttons, I cannot reproduce this.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2017, 09:04 AM   #3
cymbals
Human being with feelings
 
cymbals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default

The home button on a normal computer keyboard.
cymbals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 06:42 AM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

OK I hope I know what you mean.
Are you referring to the rewind or stop key in Reapers transport?

I thought you were describing a key on your keyboard, not a transport button.

Also, is this just one particular plugin that behaves this way & if so what is it?
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 06:58 AM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
OK I hope I know what you mean.
"Home" on a computer keyboard which usually lives near "End", "Insert", "Del", "Page Up", "Page Down".

To the OP, if you are saying it is tied to an action you don't want, go into actions and remove/change the key binding for the Home key.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 07:57 AM   #6
cymbals
Human being with feelings
 
cymbals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
"Home" on a computer keyboard which usually lives near "End", "Insert", "Del", "Page Up", "Page Down".

To the OP, if you are saying it is tied to an action you don't want, go into actions and remove/change the key binding for the Home key.
The transport button is already mapped to the Home button, which is correct. However, when the plugin screen is active, home no longer works the same way. I don't see any other mappings for the Home button.

It would be nice to be able to rewind to the start of the project while the plugin window has focus. That way I don't have to click out of the plugin window to rewind. I tried a couple plugins and they all behaved the same way.
cymbals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 08:01 AM   #7
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,900
Default

Got it. I can't seem to repro here. My simple test was to load up ReaEQ, choose a preset, hit the Home key but it moves the play cursor back to the beginning as it should and nothing happens with the plugin presets.

I thought there may be a setting for this concerning keystroke pass through but can't remember if/where it is... and/or is it for any VST you use?
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 10:17 AM   #8
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,900
Default

It may be this, make sure it is unchecked...

__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 11:46 AM   #9
cymbals
Human being with feelings
 
cymbals's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 60
Default

[QUOTE=karbomusic;1915772]It may be this, make sure it is unchecked...

It is unchecked. Make sure you click on the plugin window before you try hitting home, and I tried it under ReEQ and ReaComp and same issue.
cymbals is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 11:56 AM   #10
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
"Home" on a computer keyboard which usually lives near "End", "Insert", "Del", "Page Up", "Page Down".

To the OP, if you are saying it is tied to an action you don't want, go into actions and remove/change the key binding for the Home key.
I totally forgot I only use nano keyboards on the PC & the standard Mac keyboard doesnt have any of those keys that I can see....

Neither of my wireless KBDs even have a numpad either... Sorry for the confusion.

And yep, Karbo - I seem to remember someone else having this problem with plugin focus and it being a passthru issue, but I cant recall what the solution was either!

Sorry, OP.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 01:03 PM   #11
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 200
Default

In general, I'm not very happy with the shortcut focus stealing. For example, I mapped forward and rewind to the + and - keys on the keyboard. Ever time I open up a plugin GUI, the transport does not work anymore (Space works, though). I disabled the keyboard input on the plugin windows, but it does not help.
_Stevie_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 01:19 PM   #12
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,900
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cymbals View Post
It may be this, make sure it is unchecked...

It is unchecked. Make sure you click on the plugin window before you try hitting home, and I tried it under ReEQ and ReaComp and same issue.
Confirmed. I suppose this is something I never really deal with because I've used a control surface for transport and cursor positioning for years now which by passes all focus of anything and everything - even works when the computer is locked.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage

Last edited by karbomusic; 11-22-2017 at 05:06 PM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2017, 04:47 PM   #13
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,157
Default

Me too. Korg Nanokontrol that cost me 20 UK pounds! Such a deal.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.