Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2007, 05:25 PM   #41
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xackley View Post
Expected in Reaper that the Solo overrides the Mute.
no, i expect mute to override solo! so it's fine imo!
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 05:29 PM   #42
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

ah, i got it wrong again. yes, when solo and mute are enabled both, solo should override mute.

so yes, it's a bug. track 6 should be heard in this case, right?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:20 PM   #43
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

Umm, the solo will override the mute on the same track, but a soloed track that has muted tracks sending to it, will still have those tracks muted, likewise a soloed track sending to a muted track will still have the muted track muted... does this make sense?

edit: err nm I think I duplicated.. hmm

Last edited by Justin; 05-12-2007 at 06:25 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:36 PM   #44
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

OK http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr5.zip should fix that.. solo wasnt overriding mute on sends
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:42 PM   #45
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

yeah. seems to work now.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:52 PM   #46
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

OK

Are you continuing onto Meter display tonight?
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:58 PM   #47
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

a little. http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr6.zip

has slightly better meter displays (and track item dimming for that matter, when applicable), and also fixed the solo overriding mute for track post-fader hardware outputs, too.

ok if you want to point out instances where the meters show stuff that is BLATANTLY wrong (as opposed to slightly wrong), that's fine.

An example of slightly wrong (which we'll not mess with for now), is if a folder has a track in it which is soloed, but the track's master/parent send is not set, the meter will still show the possibility of sound, etc..

Last edited by Justin; 05-12-2007 at 07:12 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 06:59 PM   #48
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855-fr6.zip -> http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr6.zip
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:07 PM   #49
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
An example of slightly wrong (which we'll not mess with for now), is if a folder has a track in it which is soloed, but the track's master/parent send is not set, the meter will still show the possibility of sound, etc..
puh. but seems it's this stuff that we need

looking at my template i see many things (meters not showing activity and channel-mute/solo-status not correctly) ...


sound is ok. visual feedback bad
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:12 PM   #50
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
puh. but seems it's this stuff that we need

looking at my template i see many things (meters not showing activity and channel-mute/solo-status not correctly) ...


sound is ok. visual feedback bad

umm, what do you show for a meter on a track that isn't routed anywhere, then?

hmm ok I can improve it some, anyway.. I guess I'll do that and post a build in a b it

Last edited by Justin; 05-12-2007 at 07:19 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:26 PM   #51
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

ah

Build fr6 didn't do anything to fix the meters in my test project?

Edit: Soloing Tracks 1 and 2 displays NOT SOLOED on all the tracks feeding
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:31 PM   #52
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

Here two examples to begin with:

Display-1.zip: missing levelmeter + wrong "not solo" status on track 2

Display-2.zip: missing "not solo" status on track 4 (because in the i/o-dialog, the receive is muted)

Last edited by Dstruct; 05-13-2007 at 02:00 PM.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:32 PM   #53
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

OT: I have had recurring problem running these sessions.
Often when I get done posting here, and return to reaper, the Media Items are remaining OFFLINE.
Not everytime, maybe 1/8 of the times.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:35 PM   #54
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

yeah, had this too. i've disabled this offline option for now. don't need it anyway (because i don't edit the media with external editors).
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 07:48 PM   #55
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
umm, what do you show for a meter on a track that isn't routed anywhere, then?

hmm ok I can improve it some, anyway.. I guess I'll do that and post a build in a b it
Ah this bring up an FR.
IO color/Icon coding for IO state

Not routed
Parent only
Parent and send
Send only

Same Idea as the different Icon/Colors that is used for the Automation Button
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2007, 09:25 PM   #56
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

On Audio Tracks inside a folder, Post Fader Sends are not being Muted when the Folder is muted.

This would mean that a reverb in an FX Track would continue playing when the primary Track sound is silent
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 08:27 AM   #57
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

confirmed. nice spotted! bug.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:20 PM   #58
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr7.zip

when things are routed through other things that are soloed, it should show better status, now...

I'll look at making folder mute mute the post-fader sends of all the children, too...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:42 PM   #59
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

ok http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr8.zip <-- muting a folder mutes all post-fader sends from children of that folder, phew
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:48 PM   #60
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

FR 7 Looks good here.


OT: Earlier today I created a semi-weird template for Groove Agent 1 that crashes reaper when loading.

1: would the DR watson file and mini-dump be of any use to you
2: do you have Groove Agent 1, if not, I would think uploading the template wouldn't help.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:50 PM   #61
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xackley View Post
FR 7 Looks good here.


OT: Earlier today I created a semi-weird template for Groove Agent 1 that crashes reaper when loading.

1: would the DR watson file and mini-dump be of any use to you
2: do you have Groove Agent 1, if not, I would think uploading the template wouldn't help.
hmm well try sending me the template anyway, it might not be GA related...

does this template crash 1.855 release, or just these builds?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 12:59 PM   #62
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

fr8 was quick so it must have been easy.

So far, it appears everything is working and making sense.

You have taken a huge leap in building a firm foundation.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:02 PM   #63
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
ok http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr8.zip <-- muting a folder mutes all post-fader sends from children of that folder, phew
yep, works fine now!
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:04 PM   #64
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
Here two examples to begin with:

Display-1.zip: missing levelmeter + wrong "not solo" status on track 2

Display-2.zip: missing "not solo" status on track 4 (because in the i/o-dialog, the receive is muted)

"Display-1" working fine now! But "Display-2" not ...
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:07 PM   #65
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/oldsb/20455/G...RTrackTemplate

Reinstalling the original 1.855 and NO crash.

Replaced with FR8 crash

I will try again to verify
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:34 PM   #66
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

I re-saved the tracks to template while in the orignal 1.855 to a new template named TEST2.

FR8 doesnot crash with TEST2.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:53 PM   #67
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

ok http://reaper.fm/files/reaper1855_fr9.zip

fixed the crash, now the display takes into account muted status of sends, too.. this should fix the "display2" one I think
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 01:58 PM   #68
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

yeah, fixed. great man! looks like you even "fixed" this http://www.cockos.com/forum/showthread.php?t=6683, right? perfect!
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 02:04 PM   #69
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default

Loaded the template.

Miller time.

gone with family for a few hours.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 02:08 PM   #70
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,440
Default

ok guys well test a bit more and then if it seems good all around we'll release it
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2007, 02:18 PM   #71
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

yeah, i've tested in my procucing-template and it seems to be fine! many thanks again!
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2007, 07:15 PM   #72
xackley
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,120
Default Recording and input monitoring

In my test project

Record enable track 5 and/or 6
Enable Input monitoring.

result
Eratic meters (with or without Input Monitoring enabled)
No sound thru the chain.
__________________
^^^^^^^^^^
Ignore this post.
xackley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2007, 02:25 AM   #73
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

can't see anything wrong there!?
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.