Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2008, 09:58 AM   #41
Chris_P_Critter
Human being with feelings
 
Chris_P_Critter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,574
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
congratulations!
hopefully a baby girl.
I tried thrice no luck.
hehe. i am hoping for a girl too.

And another +1.
Chris_P_Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 09:23 PM   #42
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

J C S kick ass
even if they don't fix this
but they would kick more!

__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:34 PM   #43
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

a daily crusade.
volition fades frequency
weekly bumps suffice
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 07:34 AM   #44
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

bump






.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 06:43 PM   #45
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

bump


is this fixed?




what's the emoticon for crossed fingers?


.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 06:45 AM   #46
fiddler59
Human being with feelings
 
fiddler59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Athens GA USA
Posts: 256
Default

I don't know but maybe this behavior might be related to the screwy takes behavior we have been having to put up with that people have been bitching about since Reapers inception !!!

David B
fiddler59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 09:14 AM   #47
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

well to be fair, reaper did not have takes-in-lanes at it's inception.

and to be fair, again, while not as elegant as logic or cubendo, the takes-in-lanes implementation currently in reaper does suffice many users just fine.

but I'd still like to see this and the facility get some love.

greetings
.t
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2008, 02:17 PM   #48
fiddler59
Human being with feelings
 
fiddler59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Athens GA USA
Posts: 256
Default

Compared to Logic 8, and Cubendo takes is CLUMSy !!!

Reaper is such a great piece of software otherwise and the developers have seemingly ignores the bugginess of this feature, there must not be an easy fix ??

DB
fiddler59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 11:52 AM   #49
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default BUMP please think about addressing these issues :) thanks .t

Currently if one decides to implode items to takes, some odd and unexpected results occur - results that I believe are undesirable.

If you have several short items on a track, that have been rendered to a stem. if you then implode that stem into takes with the smaller items, then the original items lose their original positions and lengths. So this:



Becomes this (where you can see that despite the locking of the original items, these items have lost their positioning). We end up with a single Takes Stack, which I believe is bad:



This occurs using both implode to takes actions.

If the longer item is pre-split in the right places, then implode items across tracks to takes works. It would work better if they imploded to the last selected track, and if the items on the last selected track defaulted to take 1:



But if we attempt the same thing only on one track: implode selected items on one track into takes, the results are bad, even if we pre-split the long ones, and lock others!:



in either of the above cases this, IMHO, is the desired result:



Perhaps some users will say, "No I like it when my item positioning is ignored and things are moved on me and re-sized!" that is why I am proposing that this behaviour - the maintenance of take positioning and order be made dependent on locking items.

So in conclusion I would like to suggest:
  • If items are locked, their positions should be left in tact and they should become take 1
  • If a long item is being imploded to takes on a track with shorter, locked items, the Longer items should be split at logical places to enable the locked shorter items to maintain their positioning.
  • This behaviour should be implemented for both implode to takes options



thanks for your time.

greetings
.t


ps. so is this a bug, a feature, a nit pick, a picnic or a bit of all?
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2014, 02:06 AM   #50
tehsux0r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 91
Default

Has anything happened on this problem yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
So, what do you do when imploding various different length items to takes. Current behavior: force everything to be the maximum length and stack them all. Your wish: intelligently split items to create logical stacks of takes. The latter behavior leads to all sorts of corner cases though. Like, what do you do if you have two items of different lengths that start at different times? Split both items and add silence, creating 3 stacks?
I'm not sure what you mean by "3 stacks", but otherwise your suggestion sounds dead on.

The limitation of one audio file per block-lane is fine and not hard to understand, BUT implode should really work similarly to recording new material into an existing block. In the case of implosion, this means treating every block boundary in the group as a split point for the other blocks, trying to maintain the lane position***, and winding up with a bunch of laned blocks that accurately reflect the original takes. I believe this algorithm to be straightforward and relatively lacking in corner cases, and more importantly it's useful and predictable to the user.

-- sux

*** I'd suggest that this should be done by creating one lane in each result block for each (possibly non-contiguous) track containing 1 or more selected blocks, with some empty block-lanes (already supported - see record behaviour) where there was no source block on the original track. This would make the lanes match the tracks in a blindingly obvious and predictable manner.
tehsux0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 12:52 PM   #51
spk77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,389
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
implode like this please:




.t
This might work:

Split and implode items across tracks to takes, keeping item positions. (it's an EEL script)


Download here (and then load from the action list):
https://stash.reaper.fm/21632/Split%2...to%20takes.eel

Edit: script runs the action "SWS: delete empty MIDI takes/items"
("SWS: delete empty takes/items" don't work for some reason - it deletes non-empty items too)

Last edited by spk77; 08-26-2014 at 09:14 AM.
spk77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 04:30 PM   #52
tehsux0r
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spk77 View Post
This might work:

Split and implode items across tracks to takes, keeping item positions. (it's an EEL script)
That's awesome! I think that's exactly what I meant, except that it doesn't create empty lanes to keep the layout of the original blocks clear.

I think this (plus the lane handling) should be REAPER's normal implode behaviour.
tehsux0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.