Old 11-25-2011, 09:30 PM   #41
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

I've seen a lot of *issues* with CDs burned on computers, such as not playing on other (non-computer) devices. These are usually caused by the 'burner' itself, the burner settings or user error.

Yes it could possibly be Reaper causing the problem, but with the majority of positive responses concerning Reaper's burning ability... I believe its something else.

Hopefully Whis4ey will ignore the 'rude' comments and supply the asked for info.

__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:44 AM   #42
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fixerdave View Post
ever though of just doing waltzs 123, 123, 123, 123 ?? fixerdave
You've met my drummer, then?

P.S. How the hell are you?
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:50 AM   #43
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,103
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steveo42 View Post
I have Sonar X1, Studio One V2, Reaper and Sound Forge so I would be willing to check for you.

I also use Foobar200, VLC and Linux Fedora and it's programs as well.


You WHORE, you!
Hope the OP does come back, as I think if he ever gets down to telling us a bit more bout his system etc, this will be an easy fix....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:00 AM   #44
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Rendered to mp3 ......seemed to have worked perfectly also .. played fine on my 'puter
An "mp3" isn't an all-encompassing moniker. There are many parameters that can be set for an "mp3" in the encoder, which means since the encoder is on *your* computer it will work fine - because the decoder is probably set the same way (lame?), but depending on the site you uploaded it to, they may have more stringent/specific mp3 *encoding* requirements.

Quote:
BUT ... when uploaded to the net it wouldn't play. So I clicked on and
This simply means that there is a setting difference between the two programs.

Quote:
What other settings could be faulty??
Look up "mp3 codec settings" on google.


Quote:
And why would an mp3 decoded in Audacity work perfectly??
A number of possibilties:

1) You're not actually rendering an mp3 on one of the programs but just a file that has the .mp3 stuck on the end of it;
2) While having installed the lame encoder, Audacity may or may not actually be using it;
3) In turn, you could have a default mp3 setting that Reaper is using that the upload site doesn't like, but since you've set it on YOUR computer it will play back on your computer;


People on the internet tend to be snippy because of the signal to noise ratio is so low. What you're doing is akin to walking into a plumber's union meeting and saying "Kohler faucets don't work" and having 20 plumbers tell you "yes they do, it must have something to do with the configuration of how you've installed it, what washers and fittings did you use?" and you then telling them that is not the case (but it's a room full of plumbers you're telling that to).
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:03 AM   #45
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,443
Default

Uhm... if I remember correctly, LAME isn't 100% Fraunhoffer compatible, anyhow?
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:28 AM   #46
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chip mcdonald View Post
Uhm... if I remember correctly, LAME isn't 100% Fraunhoffer compatible, anyhow?
As far as I know is LAME ISO/IEC 13818-3 compliant[1] as it was initially a simple patch to the ISO example source code.

[1] Unless you set the --freeformat option.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:42 AM   #47
nicholas
Human being with feelings
 
nicholas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Van Diemen's Land
Posts: 8,804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
OK guys .... I have decided that I will sort this out on my own
I don't want to be what is simply 'an annoyance' to anybody
And anyway, I see Mr Gouncho can't let things be, in his quest to justify his bad manners
It is indeed a great pity that a forum set up to help a newcomer with teething problems can become simply 'an annoyance' to some
Sorry to hear that. I can see that you're clearly upset. Please don't be. Like me, you're surely old enough to have grown enough thick skin to be able to ignore unwelcome and gratuitous comments, especially when from someone you don't know and who means nothing to you.


Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
I have given you any information I have
I am saying that an mp3 encoded from Audacity works perfectly and that one encoded from Reaper doesn't
And I am asking for suggestions as to why this should be
I don't doubt that you think you've given us all the info you can, but in fact just saying that you have encoded and it hasn't worked really isn't enough to go on. When you render to MP3 there's a whole page of settings. There's an example below.

If you can post a screen of your settings there are plenty of people here who would be only too pleased to help.

Better to light a candle than curse the darkness. But that's up to you now ...
Attached Images
File Type: png rendermp3.png (42.8 KB, 84 views)
__________________
Learning Manuals and Reaper Books
REAPER Unleashed - ReaMix - REAPER User Guide
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/glazfolk
nicholas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:55 AM   #48
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Obviously a lot of interest in this subject, so here is the file that won't play, and the one that does
Maybe you can spot why one of them is faulty
How do I post a screen of the settings?
(links deleted)

Last edited by whis4ey; 12-01-2011 at 02:37 PM. Reason: deleting links
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:15 AM   #49
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,690
Default

You can simply hit [PrintScreen] on top of the cursor block on your keyboard, open Paint (or your image editor/viewer of choice) and hit CTRL-V, then save the image as .jpg .png or .gif and upload to the forum using the attachment function (the "manage attachments" button below the edit window when you reply).

Both files play fine (VLC/WMP etc.), they are both 44.1kHz/128kbps CBR, the Audacity file is encoded with LAME 3.98.2 and the file from REAPER is 3.99.1. It would be great to know which application does *not* play the file now.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:21 AM   #50
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Obviously a lot of interest in this subject, so here is the file that won't play, and the one that does
Maybe you can spot why one of them is faulty
How do I post a screen of the settings?
http://billyswann.com/xmasreap.mp3
http://billyswann.com/xmasaud.mp3
According to foobar2000 xmasreap is an mp3 at constant bit rate 128 kbps, sample rate 44100, and it plays when DLed to my computer, but not in Chrome directly from the link. Maybe the MIME-coding is incorrect...?

EDIT: One difference between the two files is that xmasreap has its first frame at 417, whereas xmasaud has its first frame at 26 bytes. Also, the encoder ID for xmasreap is "L3.99r1", but no info about that in xmasaud.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...

Last edited by Fabian; 11-26-2011 at 08:26 AM.
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 08:48 AM   #51
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,103
Default

I hope the OP is less confused by that than I am!!!!

But hopefully we will get a response from someone who can actually interpret the differences.

I'm actually starting to get properly interested in the outcome of this one now.

But still confused that OP wont tell us what he used to render the mp3 in Reaper.

This could still all be down to his using some weird encoder....

Just had a play earlier at encoding a few mp3s and so far mine seem A-OK.

odd...
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 09:16 AM   #52
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,690
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
According to foobar2000 xmasreap is an mp3 at constant bit rate 128 kbps, sample rate 44100, and it plays when DLed to my computer, but not in Chrome directly from the link. Maybe the MIME-coding is incorrect...?
Just tried opening in a browser (Opera/OSX) and both play. Sounds like this is specific to Chrome then but maybe the OP's yet unknown app has something in common with Chrome there.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 09:28 AM   #53
steveo42
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
You WHORE, you!
Hope the OP does come back, as I think if he ever gets down to telling us a bit more bout his system etc, this will be an easy fix....
hahahah!

Yea, I'm a slave to my DAW software!!
steveo42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:57 AM   #54
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

This is the screen print
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen02.jpg (55.8 KB, 130 views)
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:57 AM   #55
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
Just tried opening in a browser (Opera/OSX) and both play. Sounds like this is specific to Chrome then but maybe the OP's yet unknown app has something in common with Chrome there.
This is completely consistent with what the OP and myself have been trying to say. Different software and devices have different ways of interpreting meta-data, and for some reason, many of them choose not to play anything that comes out of Reaper, even if some of them do.

That's fantastic if Chrome is one of the offended pieces of software, because hopefully the ReaDev's will download the Chromium project code and do some simple debugging in Visual C++ to get to the bottom of this.
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 11:04 AM   #56
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Both files play perfectly for me in Explorer
It seems as though you may be correct, and that the fault here lies with Reaper files not being recognised in Chrome????
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 12:49 PM   #57
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
Maybe the MIME-coding is incorrect...?
Nope:
$ HEAD http://billyswann.com/xmasreap.mp3 http://billyswann.com/xmasaud.mp3
200 OK
Connection: close
Date: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 19:40:51 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
ETag: "22872e-4b2a36abc95c0"
Server: Apache/2
Content-Length: 2262830
Content-Type: audio/mpeg
Last-Modified: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 13:40:47 GMT
Client-Date: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 19:40:51 GMT
Client-Peer: 79.170.40.233:80
Client-Response-Num: 1

200 OK
Connection: close
Date: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 19:40:51 GMT
Accept-Ranges: bytes
ETag: "2285a7-4b2a37d73d840"
Server: Apache/2
Content-Length: 2262439
Content-Type: audio/mpeg
Last-Modified: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 13:46:01 GMT
Client-Date: Sat, 26 Nov 2011 19:40:51 GMT
Client-Peer: 79.170.40.233:80
Client-Response-Num: 1

The only difference that I can see is:

$ file xmasreap.mp3 xmasaud.mp3
xmasreap.mp3: MPEG ADTS, layer III, v1, 128 kbps, 44.1 kHz, JntStereo
xmasaud.mp3: Audio file with ID3 version 2.3.0, contains: MPEG ADTS, layer III, v1, 128 kbps, 44.1 kHz, Stereo

So either Chrome doesn't like Joint Stereo encoding (unlikely) or it relies on MP3 audio files to start with ID3 (that is are wrapped in a ID3 metadata container) or otherwise think it is a video file (as that's what MPEG streams really are).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:28 PM   #58
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mich View Post
So either Chrome doesn't like Joint Stereo encoding (unlikely) or it relies on MP3 audio files to start with ID3 (that is are wrapped in a ID3 metadata container) or otherwise think it is a video file (as that's what MPEG streams really are).
I think we have a winner, well done.

Has anybody filed this in the bug tracker?
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 01:29 PM   #59
bluzkat
Human being with feelings
 
bluzkat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,919
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
I think we have a winner, well done.

Has anybody filed this in the bug tracker?
Why?? This isn't a Reaper bug!!


__________________
Peace...
bluzkat
bluzkat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:00 PM   #60
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzkat View Post
Why?? This isn't a Reaper bug!!


+1...
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:02 PM   #61
Newstech
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Baltimore, MD, USA
Posts: 14
Default

According to this thread
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=89755
V. 3.99 of Lame is relatively new, and has made fixes related to ID3 tagging, and is still undergoing changes (3.99.2 just released).

I propose OP take the 3.99 version out of his Reaper directory and replace it with a copy of 3.98, which is more of a known quantity.
Newstech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 02:50 PM   #62
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mich View Post
So either Chrome doesn't like Joint Stereo encoding (unlikely) or it relies on MP3 audio files to start with ID3 (that is are wrapped in a ID3 metadata container) or otherwise think it is a video file (as that's what MPEG streams really are).
I just dragged the files from my win explorer to Chrome (15.0.874.121 m) and it played both files equally fine. So I guess this is not a Chrome issue, but an issue with the web server... or?
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 03:25 PM   #63
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

It can't be the web server or it wouldn't work on Opera, or Explorer, or Safari, or Firefox (which it does) ..... would it?
It just won't play with me in Chrome ....
Fabian.... might be your cache????
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 03:40 PM   #64
goatse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluzkat View Post
Why?? This isn't a Reaper bug!!



You sure about that? I've used the exact same lame_enc.dll in both Reaper, Wavosaur and Audacity, as to say: literally the same .dll file, across numerous generations of Reaper, Audacity, Wavosaur and Lame, and had this exact same outcome. The other 2 work, Reaper doesn't.

I've never written an application using the lame_enc.dll file myself, so I'm not familiar with it's methods and parameters, but it's safe to say that either:

a. Reaper must load lame_enc.dll into memory, choose which methods to call from, and supply probably quite a few parameters, not all of which may be exposed to the end user or Reaper, and some of these hidden paramters ain't working for a lot of applications, or:

b. Reaper voluntarily chooses to natively screw with all kind of file meta-data after Lame finishes creating the file, and something's just not jiving.

I assure you, brother, that this is a Reaper issue.
goatse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 03:41 PM   #65
Gerry P
Human being with feelings
 
Gerry P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,341
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
It can't be the web server or it wouldn't work on Opera, or Explorer, or Safari, or Firefox (which it does) ..... would it?
It just won't play with me in Chrome ....
Fabian.... might be your cache????
I am not trying to piss you off, but I have to ask, "then how is this a Reaper issue?"
__________________
The future ain't what it used to be. Yogi Berra
Gerry P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 03:48 PM   #66
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

hehehe
I am not saying this is a Reaper issue
It might be a Chrome issue?
Or a combination that needs to be sorted out?
I am asking ... 'What is the problem?'
I simply do NOT have the know how to make such an accusation
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 05:49 PM   #67
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,690
Default

FYI I have moved the off-topic discussion to it's own thread here. Please let's stay on the topic here and find out what's actually going on/malfunctioning, we really don't mind if it's a REAPER bug, that would be a good thing because then JCS have a chance to do something about it.




Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by whis4ey View Post
Or a combination that needs to be sorted out?
That sounds likely at the moment.

Last edited by Ollie; 11-26-2011 at 06:08 PM.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 07:17 PM   #68
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,690
Default

Ok after downloading that browser and reproducing that problem on OSX I had a massive brainwave and came up with the brilliant and most unique idea to google for that problem.

Sure enough, since Chrome is the only browser not streaming the file from the net (it does when the file comes from localhost) it's likely a Chrome issue, and the theory that the missing ID3 tag (REAPER doesn't write those) could be the trigger was very good (thanks Mich! ) but probably not the entire story. Apparently, Chrome doesn't play some MP3 with ID tags either:

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...fc77645f&hl=en

http://www.google.td/support/forum/p...c55cd600&hl=en

http://www.google.de/support/forum/p...e1417268&hl=en

So an entirely missing ID3 tag is apparently making it trip as well (it shouldn't do that either). However it plays anything that's not relying on the internal player routine, e.g. SoundCloud etc. So it's a (fairly new) problem with Chrome you're experiencing there.
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:14 PM   #69
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
So I guess this is not a Chrome issue, but an issue with the web server... or?
No, see my post above. The web server produces the same header for both files, so unless the web server selectively sends different header when the browser is Chrome (hypothetical case) Chrome is getting the same headers with the same content type.

@OP: In the OP you mention that Chrome recognizes REAPER's mp3 as a video file. Is this correct?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:21 PM   #70
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
You sure about that? I've used the exact same lame_enc.dll in both Reaper, Wavosaur and Audacity, as to say: literally the same .dll file, across numerous generations of Reaper, Audacity, Wavosaur and Lame, and had this exact same outcome. The other 2 work, Reaper doesn't.

I've never written an application using the lame_enc.dll file myself, so I'm not familiar with it's methods and parameters, but it's safe to say that either:

a. Reaper must load lame_enc.dll into memory, choose which methods to call from, and supply probably quite a few parameters, not all of which may be exposed to the end user or Reaper, and some of these hidden paramters ain't working for a lot of applications, or:
Then these applications are broken, as I already said LAME is ISO compliant.[1]
(Unless REAPER uses the --freeformat option _AND_ you specify a non standard bit-rate, which you can so REAPER doesn't set --freeformat.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
b. Reaper voluntarily chooses to natively screw with all kind of file meta-data after Lame finishes creating the file, and something's just not jiving.
Actually REAPER don't create any meta data (ID3 tags) like all the other applications you mentioned.

Quote:
Originally Posted by goatse View Post
I assure you, brother, that this is a Reaper issue.
Good, now that we have your competent assurance based on vast knowledge of how LAME and REAPER work internally we can all stop posting.


[1] Actually it has one little deviation from the standard:
Code:
       --strictly-enforce-ISO
              With this option, LAME will enforce the 7680 bit  limitation  on
              total frame size.
              This  results in many wasted bits for high bitrate encodings but
              will ensure strict ISO compatibility.  This compatibility  might
              be important for hardware players.
But this shouldn't be an issue as far as I know.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.

Last edited by Mich; 11-26-2011 at 10:30 PM.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:22 PM   #71
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ollie View Post
Ok after downloading that browser and reproducing that problem on OSX I had a massive brainwave and came up with the brilliant and most unique idea to google for that problem.

Sure enough, since Chrome is the only browser not streaming the file from the net (it does when the file comes from localhost) it's likely a Chrome issue, and the theory that the missing ID3 tag (REAPER doesn't write those) could be the trigger was very good (thanks Mich! ) but probably not the entire story. Apparently, Chrome doesn't play some MP3 with ID tags either:

http://www.google.com/support/forum/...fc77645f&hl=en

http://www.google.td/support/forum/p...c55cd600&hl=en

http://www.google.de/support/forum/p...e1417268&hl=en

So an entirely missing ID3 tag is apparently making it trip as well (it shouldn't do that either). However it plays anything that's not relying on the internal player routine, e.g. SoundCloud etc. So it's a (fairly new) problem with Chrome you're experiencing there.
Yes, Chrome issue.

@OP: Send a bug report to the Chrome developers and supply your files to them for reproduction.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:48 PM   #72
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

http://ro.cking.org/mp3/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 12:23 AM   #73
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,103
Default

I am proud to be a member of this totally ANAL group, guys.

Also somewhat relieved that I am not the only one experiencing interesting undocumented features* with Chrome




*(C)TheOldCodger,Inc. 2010
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:04 AM   #74
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,800
Default

I had a couple issues with mp3 exports from Reaper.
1 time our podcast would fail after a few minutes playing on an ipod. That was the 1st and last time I used the mp3 export from reaper for a podcast.

Another time I was sending short clips to a client via email over a few days. The ones from reaper would play on my PC but not his.

On PC I always use RazorLame

I'm Mac based now and I use Xact.

Both are free tools that work exactly as they should.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:08 AM   #75
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,800
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mich View Post
these all work for me.
OSX, Firefox 8, Quicktime playback. The file only works the first time you click the link though, not unusual though.
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 03:48 AM   #76
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

I think it was Mitch who asked this .....
Quote:
@OP: In the OP you mention that Chrome recognizes REAPER's mp3 as a video file. Is this correct?
I have since been told that an mp3 is in fact the audio side of a video so that this comment by me might just be a bit of a 'red herring'
When the mp3 didn't play I right clicked on the screen and read the 'inspect element' and saw that it was listed as a video. I just thought that might be important
Probably not, by what I now read .....
Boy ... does one's education not half get advanced quickly here
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 05:35 AM   #77
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,103
Default

Hardest part is remembering it all.

Glad you are getting sorted out though.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 06:14 AM   #78
Mich
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,265
Default

So the files I linked to all work in Chrome? Or what?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by vBulletin Message
Sorry pipelineaudio is a moderator/admin and you are not allowed to ignore him or her.
Mich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 07:35 AM   #79
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,690
Default

They do here (Chrome/Mac).
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2011, 10:02 AM   #80
whis4ey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 143
Default

The one rendered in Reaper doesn't play for me in Chrome
whis4ey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.