Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2018, 11:05 PM   #1
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 361
Default What's a fast way to load a bunch of drum samples to use for a MIDI drum machine?

Any solution as easy as Ableton's Impulse plugin and Drum Rack?
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB

Last edited by Rangler; 11-08-2018 at 01:15 AM.
Rangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 04:03 AM   #2
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 463
Default

No pain, no gain.

You have to build your own drum machine. Good news is, you can save it as a fx chain to quickly load it the next time. Sample loading works fast because you can jump to a folder and scroll thru the samples. Looks a bit ancient. But it works.






Drum machine - empty.RTrackTemplate <- here is a simple drum template you can download. Put it in your track template folder! (options/open reaper resource path ...)

To open the template, right click in the tcp and choose load track template.

Hope that helps a bit, because Reaper seems not to be the coolest midi champ.
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 09:44 AM   #3
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 896
Default

I don't know if Kennys video mentioned this, but my RS5000 setup used multiple tracks, one for each drum instrument. Each track has a single instance of RS5K, dialed to accept only one note, and to play 16 velocity mapped layers for a single drum instrument. These are gathered in a folder track with Parent Send disabled. Using a separate track for each allows separate level, pan, and effects for each drum, just like you'd have if it were a multi-mic'ed drum kit.

To manage and save routing, I also added 2 other tracks: Midi Input, and Audio Out.

Routing:
All midi from the Midi In track routes to every drum track.
The audio out of all the drum tracks routes to the Audio Out track, which has parent send enabled and is not in the drum tracks folder.
All of this is saved as a track template.

To use it, Midi for drums can be recorded on any track, then that midi is sent to the Midi In track.
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:14 PM   #4
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eliseat View Post
No pain, no gain.

You have to build your own drum machine. Good news is, you can save it as a fx chain to quickly load it the next time. Sample loading works fast because you can jump to a folder and scroll thru the samples. Looks a bit ancient. But it works.






Attachment 34940 <- here is a simple drum template you can download. Put it in your track template folder! (options/open reaper resource path ...)

To open the template, right click in the tcp and choose load track template.

Hope that helps a bit, because Reaper seems not to be the coolest midi champ.
I've been using RSM5K, but it's a slog to use and demo kits and samples. Drum Rack is so much easier.
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB
Rangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 04:00 PM   #5
Goldreap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 848
Default

I don't know the Ableton stuff but how about this?....you can drag your own samples onto the pads..quick, uncomplicated.
https://bedroomproducersblog.com/201...-drum-sampler/
Goldreap is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 12:04 AM   #6
Rangler
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 361
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldreap View Post
I don't know the Ableton stuff but how about this?....you can drag your own samples onto the pads..quick, uncomplicated.
https://bedroomproducersblog.com/201...-drum-sampler/
Very interesting. Thanks.
__________________
MacBook Pro; Late 2016, 16 GB
Rangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 02:03 AM   #7
Eliseat
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Cologne
Posts: 463
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rangler View Post
I've been using RSM5K, but it's a slog to use and demo kits and samples. Drum Rack is so much easier.
That's for sure. I keep hopes that Reaper 6 fills those gaps respective midi instruments etc.

Did you check these?
https://bedroomproducersblog.com/201...3/grooove-bpb/
https://blog.landr.com/free-vst-plugins-drums/
Eliseat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.