Old 01-13-2015, 03:50 PM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default activating tracks via Midi

Hi experts,

Is it possible to activate / deactivate tracks (including the embedded VSTs) via Midi "Program Change" messages (e.g. according to a list defining which tracks to be activate with any selected program) ?

With that, (ab)using Reaper as a VST host for live performance would be a really good option.

If such feature is not included in Reaper itself, maybe a Midi-only VST plugin could do the job, provided Reaper offers an API to allow a VST to enable/disable tracks (e.g. modify the Midi and Audio Routing appropriately and (optionally) power on/off the VSTs of a track.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 01-14-2015 at 08:38 AM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 08:06 AM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Did really nobody consider this, yet ?

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 08:15 AM   #3
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

Could be done through Mackie MCU Protocol , you just need a midi input (not a channel) that can be defined as a control surface. ... And of course deliver the corresponding midi messages.

See http://web.archive.org/web/200801260...ules/MCMap.htm

Or http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=28945
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 09:54 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mink99 View Post
Could be done through Mackie MCU Protocol
Ah I see.

So Reaper does provide the appropriate API that is capable of remote controlling the necessary features.

(Being a programmer in my job) I think I might be able to create a VST plugin that converts Midi Program Change messages to messages sent to Reaper's "Mackie MCU Protocol" API (provided a decent description of this API is available).

I am just astonished that nobody already did this, as it seems extremely useful for live playing virtual instruments using Reaper.

Or is there a more common way of allowing program change messages select one of multiple VSTi's (optionally including an appropriate chain of VST effects), that are installed in (one or multiple) tracks.


-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 10:02 AM   #5
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Especially if you're a programmer, I figure you could also relatively easily build your custom setup using something like OSCII-bot used as a (virtual) OSC Control Surface. You'd make a script for OSCII-bot to convert the appropriate MIDI Program Change events into the appropriate OSC messages for REAPER's OSC Control Surface feature, which supports bypassing plug-ins in its default configuration (cf. the "FX_BYPASS" OSC action description in the Default.ReaperOSC file).
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ

Last edited by Banned; 01-16-2015 at 10:16 AM.
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 03:12 PM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Thanks for the tip.

I never heard of OSCII-bot, yet.

I'll try to find out about same....


....
(later: )

According to the docs there is no dedicated WIN64 version, just Win32. Will the Win32 version be usable on Win64 out of the box ?

Looking around from the starting point you provided, I also found the "JSFX Programming Reference". JSFX seems to be available with Reaper out of the box. So why do you recommend OSCII-bot, and how are the interpreters related / comparable with each other ?


-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 01-16-2015 at 03:32 PM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 03:44 PM   #7
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

The mcu protocol is nothing else than a well-defined set of midi messages. The description is linked in my post.

The challenge will be to "mask" the midi provider that reaper will accept it as a remote control .

Btw : just use an iPad , if you have.
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 04:46 PM   #8
whiteaxxxe
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States of Europe, Germany, Mönchengladbach
Posts: 2,047
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mink99 View Post

The challenge will be to "mask" the midi provider that reaper will accept it as a remote control .
I did a similar thing long time ago ... to fool a Korg X3 into accepting -dont-know-anymore-what.

you can cut out the sysex part where the device ID sits in and place a fake device ID there that tells Reaper, that the message would come from a whatever, NanoKontrol, Behringer, Mackie or such.
whiteaxxxe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 08:09 PM   #9
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

I thought of using a virtual midi cable
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 10:13 PM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mink99 View Post
The mcu protocol is nothing else than a well-defined set of midi messages. The description is linked in my post.
The challenge will be to "mask" the midi provider that reaper will accept it as a remote control .
I see. Do you suggest that Reaper understands these messages out of the box ?

Provided this, There will be several ways to convert midi program changes messages to such remote control signals for Reaper. (e. g. via Boeme's Midi Translator, that I already did some evaluation tests with.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mink99 View Post
Btw : just use an iPad , if you have.
I don't see what you mean. My (and any) master-keyboard is perfectly suitable to send program change messages when pressing one of 32 buttons dedicated for exactly this purpose, so using additional hardware does not seem desirable.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2015, 10:16 PM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteaxxxe View Post
I did a similar thing long time ago ...
By means of which tool ?

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2015, 01:59 AM   #12
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,885
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
You'd make a script for OSCII-bot to convert the appropriate MIDI Program Change events into the appropriate OSC messages for REAPER's OSC Control Surface feature,
I suppose the "JS" plugins provided out of the box are done as OSCII cripts. So there are lots of examples to look at ...

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.