Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2014, 03:04 AM   #1
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,884
Default "Link track controls to MIDI" not sent to other track

Can someone try this?

-- load a multi-output VSTi,
-- create 16 tracks of MIDI routing to the track,
-- link the track volume/pan to MIDI on a "MIDI" track,
-- set that track AND the VSTi track to Record the Output,
-- disable the VSTi (so that the received MIDI is not processed.

Click Record and twiddle the Volume and Pan sliders / knobs on the "MIDI" track.



I get the Volume and Pan CC messages recorded on the "MIDI" track, but not on the VSTi track. So it looks like they are not being sent there.

Or I've missed something obvious (but not to me).
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 04:08 AM   #2
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,721
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Or I've missed something obvious (but not to me).
If you use "build 16 channels of MIDI yada" you need to...

- enable "Link track volume/pan..." (of course)

- enable "MIDI track controls" for the sending track (can be bypassed but ReaControlMIDI must be on the track. O_o)

- click the MIDI button ("the darn green thing") on the send.

Now if you think about that sequence for about 5 minutes or three weeks, it does have some obviousness.

If you just create a send manually to a VSTi track, you also need to restrict the MIDI routing to a specific channel, otherwise vol/pan CCs are being sent on all 16 channels.

Last edited by Ollie; 08-19-2014 at 04:15 AM. Reason: yes
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 07:11 AM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,884
Default

... back in three weeks, then





Or,surely I do not need ReaControlMIDI - as I only want to send CC#7 and CC#10 messages from the TCP Volume and Pan sliders.

But the "little green devil" sorted it out (by habit I had turned it off in the IO window).

So it does have an understandable use after all. I still get loads of redundant All Notes Off messages whenever the Play Cursor stops in a new position (this is just with MIDi clips on 4 tracks):
... Big pic: https://i.imgur.com/A8f3cE8.png
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.