Old 02-09-2015, 10:55 AM   #1
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default How to leave Reaper ?

I got a really silly problem.

I am using Reaper as a VST host for live playing.

I installed SWS live config to allow selecting VST chains from my MasterKeyboard.

This does work fine.

I have a "Suitcase"-Computer that is used without a Monitor, Mouse or PC Keyboard attached. A link to Reaper is in Autostart and so I just press the On/Off button and after some seconds I can start to play.

To shut the system down I should press the On/Off button again. But when I once changed a "Row" in LiveConfig (via Midi) (i.e. always), Reaper asks if it should really close without saving. Hence I can't shut down the PC without using Computer Keyboard or mouse

Any help ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 04:13 PM   #2
Lopez
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 197
Default

As long as your change is not topic to be saved, try this:

Start Regedit
Go to key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
Insert a new entry called "AutoEndTasks" and set it to 1.

Windows should shutdown without "asking".

Please try and tell me if it worked

p.s.: Interesting setup! I like it!
__________________
Lopez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 11:22 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lopez View Post
As long as your change is not topic to be saved, try this:

Start Regedit
Go to key HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop
Insert a new entry called "AutoEndTasks" and set it to 1.

Windows should shutdown without "asking".

Please try and tell me if it worked
Thanks a lot. I'll test that tonight...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lopez View Post
p.s.: Interesting setup! I like it!
An alternative would have been a Muse Receptor. But same would be more expensive and much less flexible, but hopefully more painless

It might make sense thinking about selling such devices...

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 11:59 PM   #4
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,885
Default

If you set up an autohotkey script than when triggered, pressed the Right and Enter keys, you could press the No button with your MIDI keyboard.

http://www.autohotkey.com/board/topi...or-autohotkey/
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 01:02 AM   #5
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I got a really silly problem.

[...]
.
Hence I can't shut down the PC without using Computer Keyboard or mouse

Any help.
Really silly solution: pull the plug.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:03 AM   #6
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
To shut the system down I should press the On/Off button again. But when I once changed a "Row" in LiveConfig (via Midi) (i.e. always), Reaper asks if it should really close without saving. Hence I can't shut down the PC without using Computer Keyboard or mouse

Any help ?
For live use, undo points are useless. You can disable them in Prefs > General > "Max. undo memory use" (<-- enter 0 there). With that setting, REAPER won't see project changes, so you won't be prompted for save anymore (and this should save a few CPU cycles too).
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:09 PM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lopez View Post
p.s.: Interesting setup!
No moving part: no Fan, SSD.

-Michael
Attached Images
File Type: jpg koffer_300.jpg (36.1 KB, 211 views)

Last edited by mschnell; 02-11-2015 at 10:12 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2015, 02:32 PM   #8
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffos View Post
For live use, undo points are useless. You can disable them in Prefs > General > "Max. undo memory use" (<-- enter 0 there). With that setting, REAPER won't see project changes, so you won't be prompted for save anymore (and this should save a few CPU cycles too).
Perfect !

That is exactly what I hoped for.

Edit:
This setting in fact is recommended in the LiveConfig user guide, but here it's only meant for saving memory.
I'll include this in the update for this guide I am doing right now.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 02-14-2015 at 12:08 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 01:58 AM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Cost for the PC box about 1000 Euro, based on http://www.mifcom.de/product/1139/74...---passiv.html

http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=156724 (with picture) :

My Reaper PC, used for live performance with Masterkeyboards.

Here Reaper running just as a VST Host, Program change switching enabled by S&M "LiveConfigs".

The PC is a completely silent fan-less box with 4*2.1 GHz i7, 16 Gig RAM, and SSD. The Audio/Midi Interface is a Native Instruments "Audio 6", DI-Boxes are hidden below the construction panel.

Plugins: Keys by NativeInstruments, "Dexed (Dx7), and wind instruments by SampleModeling, effects by Cockos.



-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 04:27 AM   #10
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Any example music anywhere, so we can hear how they can sound together, especially how the wind instruments sound? Are you using a breath controller, too?
The NI sample instruments sound as they should. I don't use any additional effects when live playing.

I constructed Pipe Organ patches using two instances of Dexed and a "real" church room reverb via Reaverb and free impulse files, that for me sound astonishingly authentic.

I constructed a Vibe patch using Dexed and some JSFX effects, that for me sounds astonishingly authentic.

Re the Wind instruments, I do have two wind controllers. An old Yamaha WX7 that is really "nice" but does not work perfectly any more, and I am to lazy to really learn to use the "Boehm" Flute fingering decently. So I have a TEC BBC Breath controller ("played" in combination with a light-weighted keyboard), that I really happily use. But while it's "Breath" sensor is just perfect, unfortunately the "Bite" Sensor is broken and can't be decently repaired. (TEC promised to send me a revised version of the device once they are ready to produce them (later this year) ). The SWAM Flute is absolutely great (please do listen to the sound examples at their website). I did not do enough practicing yet, but with the band, right now I do use it in shows in a choir with a real saxophone player and we are very happy with the result.

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 06-14-2015 at 04:35 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2015, 04:37 AM   #11
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 7,247
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Thanks, so there is no problem with heat generation with your computer or box? If yes, good to know this is possible now, no noise, no heat. Only fun.
No heat problem at all. The cooling ribs are huge enough. The computer case gets just a little warmer than your skin.

Of course I will not close the suitcase when the computer is powered on.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.