Old 08-14-2015, 06:07 PM   #1
TFF
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Default Beatstep Pro - Does it play nice?

I'm thinking about picking one up to use with Reaper, but I wanted to see if anyone has experience using the two together. I'd like them to run from the same clock (either Reaper's or the Beatstep's) and use the Beatstep sequencer to send midi notes into Reaper. Has anyone had issues with this?
TFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 04:36 AM   #2
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,771
Default

Interesting question ; would also like this to know.
vanhaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 05:25 AM   #3
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

Highly recommended,

If you are using midi and analog cv/gate based gear, this will be a great enhancement for your setup. If you have a usb power supply it will also run standalone.

It can even be used as a midi/cv converter on hz/v or oct/volt , perfect for ms20 or Yamaha cs users, the 0 volt base tone can be shifted for analog synths that do not have a "C" as 0 volt base tone (Roland sh-5) , can provide midi clock to Roland clock (tr808) or 16th clock conversion. So you can even sync a pocket operator po12 or a boss dr220 or a korg vodka drums .(all tested)

You will have two independent monophonic tracks, midi or cv , and one drum track.

Go to the next store and test it. It's worth every cent.

Integration into reaper was very straight forward for me, as reaper sent a midi clock (grmpfh...) which was received by the bs . The bs midi output is then directly routed by a midi patchbay to the receiving synth, the output of this synt is then recorded as audio. The recorded sequence I am able to transposed or modifed in realtime through a midi keyboard or directly on the knobs & buttons.

Of course the midi output can also be recorded back to reaper....

Last edited by Mink99; 08-15-2015 at 05:34 AM.
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 05:41 AM   #4
unmixed
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 142
Default

Whats the build like on the BSP,Arturia aint got that good of a rep lately with the SE MB
unmixed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 06:12 AM   #5
Mink99
Human being with feelings
 
Mink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Zürich
Posts: 1,001
Default

Mine is built like a tank, but from other colleagues some doubts have been issued on the faders/pots, which I have not experienced. 30 day money back....

Most important : it is heavy, so it will not skip or fall by the weight of the plugs.
Mink99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 07:55 AM   #6
TFF
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 104
Default

Awesome, thanks for the info! Still a little iffy if I'll pick one up but it's good to know it does what I need.
TFF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2016, 02:47 PM   #7
carbon
Human being with feelings
 
carbon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Eesti
Posts: 2,376
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mink99 View Post
Highly recommended,

Integration into reaper was very straight forward for me, as reaper sent a midi clock (grmpfh...) which was received by the bs . The bs midi output is then directly routed by a midi patchbay to the receiving synth, the output of this synt is then recorded as audio. The recorded sequence I am able to transposed or modifed in realtime through a midi keyboard or directly on the knobs & buttons.

Of course the midi output can also be recorded back to reaper....
Can REAPER be also slave to BeatStep?
__________________
KasparTORN
carbon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 05:38 PM   #8
Riinehart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 32
Default

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm having an issue I can't seem to figure out.

What I'd like to do: Sync my Beatstep Pro to reaper, so I can use it to sequence some modular gear.

Everything works fine, so long as I use the internal clock of the BSP. However, if I slave it to Reaper (which is what I want, to keep in time with the project I'm working on), there's some kind of midi message mix-up, where as soon as I hit Play, something seems to be simultaneously hitting Pause. So basically I get just a little stutter and immediate stop every time I press Play.

This happens whether I press play on the BSP, or if I press Play in Reaper.

Again, no issue at all if I sync the BSP to INT.

Has anyone been through this problem? Any ideas? Is there something simple I'm missing?

Many thanks!
Riinehart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2018, 04:58 PM   #9
CountZero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riinehart View Post
Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I'm having an issue I can't seem to figure out.

What I'd like to do: Sync my Beatstep Pro to reaper, so I can use it to sequence some modular gear.

Everything works fine, so long as I use the internal clock of the BSP. However, if I slave it to Reaper (which is what I want, to keep in time with the project I'm working on), there's some kind of midi message mix-up, where as soon as I hit Play, something seems to be simultaneously hitting Pause. So basically I get just a little stutter and immediate stop every time I press Play.

This happens whether I press play on the BSP, or if I press Play in Reaper.

Again, no issue at all if I sync the BSP to INT.

Has anyone been through this problem? Any ideas? Is there something simple I'm missing?

Many thanks!
Hi!

New user here and I'm having this exact issue with my BSP. Whenever a track is armed and I hit record it seems to send a burst of start/stop messages. Did anyone find a resolution to this problem?

Thanks!
CountZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2019, 05:52 PM   #10
wyleegee
Human being with feelings
 
wyleegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CountZero View Post
Hi!

New user here and I'm having this exact issue with my BSP. Whenever a track is armed and I hit record it seems to send a burst of start/stop messages. Did anyone find a resolution to this problem?

Thanks!
Did you ever get a solution to this?
__________________
I am the master of all I survey. Shame then, that I am blind.
wyleegee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 05:07 AM   #11
wyleegee
Human being with feelings
 
wyleegee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 50
Default

I disabled the transport entirely in the BSPs midi editor utility.
__________________
I am the master of all I survey. Shame then, that I am blind.
wyleegee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 10:09 AM   #12
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,806
Default

Yes, you are missing this.
http://antonsavov.net/cms/projects/as_xc3.html
TonE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2019, 08:23 PM   #13
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,419
Default

It's quite a nice MIDI controller. I only use it that way and it's great for that.
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 07:01 PM   #14
shmuelyosef
Human being with feelings
 
shmuelyosef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 33
Default

Works fine for me...but took some details to get past problems like yours...see THIS POST
__________________
SONAR refugee
shmuelyosef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2019, 11:14 AM   #15
maxdembo
Human being with feelings
 
maxdembo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: All Hallows End
Posts: 202
Default

I've recently had this problem.

My solution was to set up BSP's transport in the control/osc/web with mackie control. Works flawlessly.
maxdembo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 04:38 PM   #16
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 575
Default

I LOVE my Beatstep and Beatstep Pro. For general midi controller, it excels... it's so nice having SIXTEEN banks of 16 endless encoders, assigned to whatever. And the pads can be CCs too... quickly switch between sequencer mode or controller mode.

Not only that but it's just fun to use, sync'd to a Reaper VST synth... just a blast. Set the scale, turn the knobs, hit random pads... instant melody.

Arturia just does things right, for the most part. I would consider myself a fanboy.
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2019, 02:07 PM   #17
shmuelyosef
Human being with feelings
 
shmuelyosef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyleegee View Post
I disabled the transport entirely in the BSPs midi editor utility.
THANX! I just set Transports to OFF in MCC and everything works fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by themixtape
Not only that but it's just fun to use, sync'd to a Reaper VST synth... just a blast.
I agree with this...I have matching profiles set up on the Beatstep and an old MPD18 (with the MPCstuff.com hotrod kit) and I can play sequences with the MPD18 into the BSP pro (skipping the inferior pads on the BSP) and edit them (gate and velo) until I like them then just hit record and I have sequence in Reaper. I mostly do that with some customized AddictiveDrums kits, but also use it to drive the TR808 kit in my old Roland SoundCanvas and then just record MIDI and Audio when I like it.

I just got the MiniBrute 2S off Reverb and ordered a Keystep for some polyphonic sequencing on my other synths (in particular I'm not enamored of the sequencer in my OB-6, but love everything else about it so looking forward to having a live recording capability with the OB-6 (and other pieces of kit).

I guess that I, too, am becoming an Arturia fanboy...the MiniBrute 2S really impressed me and the BSP has followed...
__________________
SONAR refugee

Last edited by shmuelyosef; 06-23-2019 at 02:27 PM.
shmuelyosef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.