Old 06-02-2019, 06:11 PM   #1
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 161
Default click with automated eq

I have reaeq automated to unbypass for a brief section of a track then bypass again. It is a low pass to remove hiss during quieter in part in the song where the hiss becomes audible on the track. The problem is it creates a pretty loud click when it switches to not bypassed and back again. Is there any way to prevent this?
If not I will try putting reaeq on the item split so it just effects at the moment I want.
Any other suggestions on how to prevent this or other ways to accomplish it?
Thanks!
John
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 06:27 PM   #2
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMusic View Post
The problem is it creates a pretty loud click when it switches to not bypassed and back again. Is there any way to prevent this?
Automating the bypass isn't the best solution for this very reason. It would be better to automate either the wet/dry knob or the cutoff frequency.

Last edited by Neutronic; 06-02-2019 at 07:02 PM.
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 06:29 PM   #3
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 161
Default

Ahh! Will try those instead. Thanks Neutronic.
This forum is great, always someone around to help out.
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 07:04 PM   #4
Neutronic
Human being with feelings
 
Neutronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 382
Default

You're welcome Johnny, glad I could help!
Neutronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 07:27 PM   #5
JDSStudios
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyMusic View Post
Ahh! Will try those instead. Thanks Neutronic.
This forum is great, always someone around to help out.
A noise gate would probably be a better solution in this case.
JDSStudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2019, 11:52 PM   #6
matt_t
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 75
Default

Even if there are better solutions in this instance, this still sounds like it might be a bypassing bug, similar to this one I found:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=218588
matt_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 02:46 PM   #7
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JDSStudios View Post
A noise gate would probably be a better solution in this case.
The gate doesn't work in this application, because I wanted the note of the track to ring out for its full duration but have the hiss less noticeable. It was noticeable at this specific point in the track because fewer instruments were playing, whereas when everything else was playing, the hiss wasn't as noticeable and the track was more present in the mix with those higher frequencies in. What I did accomplished what I wanted but, with a click when the eq kicked in. I ended up automating the frequency of a low pass filter with the cut off lower during the quiet part to remove the hiss (Instead of automating the effect chain bypass), and it no longer clicked.
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 06:56 AM   #8
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,498
Default

You could try to automate the gain of the frequency you want to cut.
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 09:51 AM   #9
JohnnyMusic
Human being with feelings
 
JohnnyMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Twin Cities, Mn
Posts: 161
Default

[QUOTE=amagalma;2146800]You could try to automate the gain of the frequency you want to cut.[/QUOTE
Yeah, I think I've done that and it worked. The bypass is the one that seems to produce click. But again in this case automating the frequency of the low pass filter worked fine, meaning it didn't produce a click where the automation occurred, which was my original problem.
Thanks!
JohnnyMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:28 PM   #10
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_t View Post
Even if there are better solutions in this instance, this still sounds like it might be a bypassing bug, similar to this one I found:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=218588
It's not a bug, it's just a problem with automating bypass. It isn't just REAPER where this is a problem.
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.