Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2019, 12:48 PM   #1
stillshaded
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Default is there a script to chop MIDI chords into arps, within the editor?

Greetings, looking for a script that does something to the arpeggiator tool in fl studio. I thought I recalled running across a script that would do this, but now I can't seem to find it. There was something called "stretch (arpeggiate)" or something like that in reapack, but it did not behave as expected.



the other option would be an arpeggiator fx unit that I could automate the on/off of. Unfortunately, this is causing hung notes if I bypass the entire effect, and BlueArp vst has an on/thru/off parameter but it doesn't automate properly!


any help? I'm just looking to add occasional old school video game style arps here and there to a midi part.
stillshaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 12:53 PM   #2
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,110
Default

Maybe, but that's generally how most arpeggiators work by default. There are some built into Reaper. Wok's SimpArp is about as straightforward as it gets.

You can also try some mouse modifiers (preferences). There are actions to stretch notes and arpeggiate in the MIDI editor.
__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:28 PM   #3
stillshaded
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Maybe, but that's generally how most arpeggiators work by default. There are some built into Reaper. Wok's SimpArp is about as straightforward as it gets.

You can also try some mouse modifiers (preferences). There are actions to stretch notes and arpeggiate in the MIDI editor.
I've tried both of these and I'll give it another go. Main problem with the midi fx approach, as I said in my OP, it that when I automate bypass on the fx, it glitches and I get hung notes. I don't want it to be arping all the time, I want it to be a flourish.

I'll try the plugin you mentioned.
stillshaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 11:23 PM   #4
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 7,110
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stillshaded View Post
don't want it to be arping all the time, I want it to be a flourish.
Isn't this what you want then?

__________________
Myy Wyyrd Muzyyk
foxAsteria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 04:58 AM   #5
digaldeman
Human being with feelings
 
digaldeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In Da Club
Posts: 291
Default

Here is how I normally do it:

1) Add an arpegiator plugin to the track (I use Cthulhu)
2) Right click an item and select Apply track/take FX ...(MIDI Output)
3) Glue the item or select Take > Crop to active take
4) Bypass the arpegiator plugin


digaldeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:09 AM   #6
stillshaded
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Isn't this what you want then?

I tried this and it's really more of a strum effect in my book. Thanks though.
stillshaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 08:11 AM   #7
stillshaded
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by digaldeman View Post
Here is how I normally do it:

1) Add an arpegiator plugin to the track (I use Cthulhu)
2) Right click an item and select Apply track/take FX ...(MIDI Output)
3) Glue the item or select Take > Crop to active take
4) Bypass the arpegiator plugin


This is what I'm after!

I think I'm going to try to create a custom action where I can just select some notes and have it do all of this automatically. I think it might be possible, not sure the actions to select the clips and glue them are available tho.

Thanks!
stillshaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.