Old 09-03-2019, 12:29 PM   #1
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default Auto-Crossfades (in Takes Recording Mode)

REQUEST:
I'm requested that Auto-Crossfades be functional in Takes Recording Mode.

PROBLEM:
Currently the option "Overlap and crossfade items when splitting..." (under Default Media Items in Pref) does not work with Takes mode.

BENEFIT:
1.) Users would not have to choose between auto-crossfade functionality and Takes recording functionality
2.) This removes the need to manually create auto-crossfades across recorded/punched passages which can be hundreds of edits in sessions!
2.)This will be a benefit to users who are used to Ableton Live (And other DAWS) which behave this way.
3.) It makes auto-crossfades behave uniformly across different recording modes, meaning there is less chance for people to "forget" that auto-crossfades weren't created. Users who are used to other recording modes will find auto-crossfades functioning the same when using Takes Mode
4.) Auto-crossfades remove the chance for clicks and pops that are present without fades.
5.) Auto-crossfades are also often more desirable than fade in/fade out, as that can often cause an audible dip in volume in audio that has a solid sustained tone.

REASON:
1.) Without Auto-crossfades the only options for two media items overlapping is fade in/out or no fades at all. Fade in/out can create an audible dip in sustained tones that cross this line. No crossfades creates clicks and pops.
2.) Without Auto-crossfades in Takes Mode, users who are used to auto-crossfades from other recording modes (And other DAWs) may be expecting auto-crossfades to work when they do not, requiring manual input of fades.

People who don't want/use auto-crossfades do not have to use it, as the check box can still be unchecked. I am simply requested that the option actually works in Takes mode

IMPLEMENTATION SUGGESTION:

I would suggest that the "split action" occurring in Takes mode be set to create the auto-crossfades the same as a standard "s" shortcut split action would.

I would almost call this a bug, as Takes mode is described as "splits existing media item..." under "New Recording That Overlaps Existing Media Item".

Technically it is either not actually "splitting" the item (As splitting should created a crossfade via the Default Media Item preference) OR the option in Default Media Item is somehow defeated in Takes record mode, even when checked.

There are many people under many posts who would like this to actually work. I will link threads below.

My Past Feature Request and posts *which go as far back as 2008!*:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....ight=crossfade

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....auto+crossfade

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=178463

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=70418

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=716419

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=28901

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=194722

https://www.reddit.com/r/Reaper/comm...nch_recording/

Last edited by explodingPSYCH; 09-03-2019 at 01:54 PM.
explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 10:02 AM   #2
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default

Bumping this feature request (possible bug fix).

xpost in bug reports is here:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....12#post2179212
explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2019, 05:49 PM   #3
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,393
Default

I wrote this script. See if it helps you:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=224707
__________________
Cheers... Andrew K
Reaper v6.15 Catalina • Mac Mini 2020 6 core i7 • 64GB RAM • OS: Catalina • 4K monitor • RME RayDAT card with Sync Card and extended Light Pipe.
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:52 AM   #4
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thonex View Post
I wrote this script. See if it helps you:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=224707
Thanks! I'll look into this script, thanks. I think I saw another one floating around too.

Last edited by explodingPSYCH; 10-12-2019 at 09:18 AM.
explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2019, 09:53 AM   #5
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default

Would like to request the crossfade action or the split action properly be applied in Takes mode. As it stands, the checkbox for auto-crossfades is not functional in Takes Mode. (Always fade in/out, never crossfade)

Illustration below:


explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 11:03 AM   #6
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default

Bump!
explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 03:50 PM   #7
NickJA
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Default

I would also like this improvement.

All three recording modes should be consistent with how they treat punch ins and the auto crossfade toolbar command.

Currently, this command toggles fade in/out and crossfade in tape mode punch ins.
In the other two modes it has no effect, with takes mode always fading in/out and layers mode always crossfading (and no other options to toggle this behaviour).


There are scripts that partially work around this issue (I use amagalma's: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....72#post2025272), but they require extra steps to use.
It would be better and quicker if it was solved by Reaper directly.


Solving this would also match with currently having this option available when splitting.
NickJA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2020, 12:25 PM   #8
djabthrash
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Paris (France)
Posts: 87
Default

BUMP !
djabthrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2020, 07:44 PM   #9
explodingPSYCH
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 256
Default

BUMP!
explodingPSYCH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2021, 06:40 PM   #10
Scorps
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Estonia
Posts: 5
Default

I miss it very much as well. Please!!!
Scorps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2021, 12:30 PM   #11
jvvh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Default

Very surprised there has been no reply from the Devs on this 10+ year old issue.

Practically all other DAWS have auto cross-fade between clips enabled by default, that makes recording punch in takes on vocals and guitars seamless.

I'm almost ready to drop Reaper for Studio One after banging my head against this issue for years.
jvvh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 12:55 AM   #12
Pink Wool
Human being with feelings
 
Pink Wool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 735
Default

+ 1 from me!
Pink Wool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2021, 03:51 AM   #13
jvvh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 2
Default

I've downloaded demos of some other DAWS to compare (Studio One, Mixbus, Cubase)

The automatic fade logic in Reaper is mostly nonsensical, and never does what you want it to do.

The reason you want (small, short) automatic fades is to avoid clicks and discontinuities between different waveforms.

On top of that, you generally want it to sound good.

I believe Mixbus has the absolute correct heuristics to fix these issues:

1) Always crossfade between clips. If you're crossfading to silence it is effectively a fade.
-You probably NEVER want to fade to silence inbetween two waveforms. It sounds horrendous and finding and fixing these is the main source of my wasted time in Reaper.
-Crossfading on a split within the same waveform is effectively inaudible. This is correct behaviour.

2) Favour crossfades that finish ON the beat.
-If you start the crossfade on the beat you will most likely mess with drum hits, guitar strums and vocal syllables.
-In general when recording Reaper ought to capture a bit before the punch in, as most other DAWs do.

Finally, the logic needs to handle clips being cut, copied, pasted and moved and re-apply the above heurstics after each action.
jvvh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.