Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-17-2018, 05:00 AM   #1
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default Reaper refuses to make any sounds from midi after crashing in a particular project.

For almost 6 years of using Reaper I`ve never come across with that kind of strange thing. Reaper crashed, that happens. But after rebooting my PC I still can`t get any sound from any midi instrument in a project that was crashed. Only audio tracks are playbacked correctly. I tried to create a new project and copied everything there, doesn`t work. Any recommendations to solve it?

Also since this is a bug forum I`m sick and tired of the fact that when I need to open midi item Reaper opens all of midi items in a project. Irritating

Last edited by 111; 04-17-2018 at 05:05 AM.
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:30 AM   #2
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 429
Default

Did it break the Midi sends to instruments so that now they dont receive midi info?

Did anything midi related changed by error in your settings because of the crash?
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:37 AM   #3
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default

I don`t see any errors or other changes. Settings look just fine
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 05:37 AM   #4
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 17,509
Default

Perhaps you could compress a simple problem project file (no audio samples needed) into a ZIP file and post it here as an attachment so that we can have a look at it and see what's (not) happening?

How to post attachments (in Post #1)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:30 AM   #5
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default

well I kinda solved the problem because I have a midi file outside from Reaper so that I replaced all midi lines and it worked. If I had no external midi file, I don`t how would I solved it.
Since now it works there`s no chance to know what really happened. Anyway thanks!
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:33 AM   #6
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 429
Default

it kinda needed to be refreshed or something like that you think?
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 06:47 AM   #7
gibi25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 111 View Post
Also since this is a bug forum I`m sick and tired of the fact that when I need to open midi item Reaper opens all of midi items in a project. Irritating
Options/preferences/editing behavior/midi editor: choose the behavior you want.
__________________
I'm a simple man,
so I sing a simple song.
gibi25 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:13 AM   #8
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D Rocks View Post
it kinda needed to be refreshed or something like that you think?
I`m not sure what did it need...
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 08:14 AM   #9
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibi25 View Post
Options/preferences/editing behavior/midi editor: choose the behavior you want.
just looked at it. it`s ok there. But really sometimes it works OK, sometimes no, as I have never tweaked those settings I consider it as a bug
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 09:24 AM   #10
D Rocks
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 429
Default

The devoloppement team have been working on these kind of midi editing behaviors since like 1 full week and 5.80 might possibly include some progress
__________________
Alex | www.drocksrecords.com | Thanks for REAPER
D Rocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2018, 02:41 PM   #11
111
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 105
Default

Nice to know. Thanks a lot!
111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.