Old 01-12-2018, 03:18 AM   #1
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,869
Default Remote control for Rme TotalMix, win/android?

Hi!

Anybody having success with controlling RME TotalMix from their Android tablet?

I have:
- Win 8.1
- Rme hdsp 9632 (not FX)
- Android 7 tablet
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 03:20 AM   #2
ReaDave
Human being with feelings
 
ReaDave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Adelaide, South Australia (originally from Geelong)
Posts: 5,219
Default

That's a really good question. I'm very interested in this too. I'm looking at buying the RME remote but it would be great to control Totalmix from my Samsung phone.
ReaDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 07:27 AM   #3
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,007
Default

Totalmix excepts Mackie Control Universal input as control as far as I know.

Maybe the free Neyrinck stuff, or some other MCU thing will do that, once it can present a midi device with MCU I/O.

The Korg Nano or Behringer X-Touch mini might be interesting. I can try the latter when I get back to the studio.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 07:37 AM   #4
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 10,007
Default

A quick look at the manual tells me it can be controlled by CC commands, MCU devices or OSC.

They specifically mention Lemur and TouchOSC, so this should be no problem.

A quick search reveals this:
https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=20131 (Touch OSC)
https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=16434 (Touch OSC)
https://www.forum.rme-audio.de/viewtopic.php?id=17445 (Lemur)
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 10:41 AM   #5
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,869
Default

I had a go a year ago with no luck,
so, looking for anybody who had success.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2018, 03:54 PM   #6
azslow3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Heidelberg, Germany
Posts: 356
Default

Modern TotalMix definitively can be controlled by OSC. That is "software" feature, OSC is processed by TotalMix app itself, the hardware is not involved. While designed for TouchOSC, that can work with any OSC App as long as settings are correct (IP addresses, ports and layout).

To check that it works, you can run OSC application on the same PC under Windows. F.e. my own: http://www.azslow.com/index.php/topic,352.0.html
Note that this program is specially written for blind users, it make no big sense for other but should work for testing.
Once you get that running locally, you can continue with touchOSC on tablet. At least you will know that PC side / totalmix is configured correctly (but do not forget to enable TotalMix in the firewall).
azslow3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 01:43 AM   #7
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,211
Default

TouchOSC comes with a Totalmix template, as does OSC Commander if I remember rightly. Never bothered using them as I just use the reaper templates
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 02:55 AM   #8
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,869
Default

I use snapshots
#1 for tracking (no speakers, monitoring)
#2 for mixing (mix speakers on, just mix-bus)

and it would be very handy to have a tablet-option,
when I've put myself in tracking-position, strapped on the guitar,
taken on headphones, and ups.. forgot to change monitoring to #1

Reaper is quite well controlled by tablet now,
so it's beside me in the booth
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 04:00 PM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,211
Default

So you now have Reaper controlled with - what?

I am still happily going between TouchOSC on my Tesco Hudl 8" Android tablet and a basic MIDI usb footswitch for engaging the transport from my drumkit.
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 02:49 AM   #10
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,869
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
So you now have Reaper controlled with - what?
Reaper web-control
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.