Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER OS X Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-06-2009, 01:22 PM   #41
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

I am using VST as a basis, AU when no choice (Sonnox ...)
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 06:46 AM   #42
dhrose
Human being with feelings
 
dhrose's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Queen City
Posts: 47
Default

I welcome a potential new DAW for the Mac, to compete with Logic... my current choice. But, the "smaller footprint" — focus on the most important functions and keep it simple aspect, seems to be the Ext2 route. Currently Reaper has MORE drop-down menus than Logic (I think?). It's getting more refined, and looks great, but still seems to be more focused on audio than midi — with a lot of stuff that I never use... Sort of like Logic. Ha! Er, that could mean I'm not pro though... Anyone use all that stuff?
dhrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 09:18 AM   #43
necho
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhrose View Post
but still seems to be more focused on audio than midi
Just like me then!

I use the mighty Numerology (http://www.five12.com/) for MIDI. Can't beat it, IMO. I Rewire the audio into Reaper.... bit unstable, but worth it if you want the best of both worlds.
necho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:23 AM   #44
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

I am using Reaper for both audio recording/mixing and midi composing and it works.
It is not as refined midi-wise as Digital Performer, but it works well.
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 05:54 AM   #45
srgk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Moscow
Posts: 26
Default

i'm a registered user of Reaper, and i use Reaper OSX version as my main DAW.
i'm generally satisfied with it, but still there are a few things lacking and unstable

it seems that OSX version doesn't get from the developers the attention it deserves. as well as SWS and Xenakios extensions, but we don't pay for them (sws osx don't exist, xenakios osx were updated more than half a year ago... and it's all sad)

maybe the time has come to pause enhancing Reaper for a couple of weeks, and make OSX version feature-equal to Windows version, and then continue moving forward?
i'm a little concerned that we will never get out of BETA (not while my licence is valid)

maybe that happens because we, Mac-owners, don't remind of our existence often? maybe we should be more impatient and demanding?
srgk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 07:02 AM   #46
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by srgk View Post
i'm a registered user of Reaper, and i use Reaper OSX version as my main DAW.
i'm generally satisfied with it, but still there are a few things lacking and unstable

it seems that OSX version doesn't get from the developers the attention it deserves. as well as SWS and Xenakios extensions, but we don't pay for them (sws osx don't exist, xenakios osx were updated more than half a year ago... and it's all sad)

maybe the time has come to pause enhancing Reaper for a couple of weeks, and make OSX version feature-equal to Windows version, and then continue moving forward?
i'm a little concerned that we will never get out of BETA (not while my licence is valid)

maybe that happens because we, Mac-owners, don't remind of our existence often? maybe we should be more impatient and demanding?

I would pay a second time to get the browser, cd-burnin option and plugin-gui-stability into the mac version.

I would even pay for a tracklist/mixer snapshot extension for mac users. sws - if you hear me...

The enter-close-dialog-bug-fix is something I would NOT pay for.
I really hope that this ugly one get fixed in the next version.
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 02:17 PM   #47
Guido3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 7
Default

Not what I hoped to hear.

I am building a portable set-up and really liked the look of Reaper. I have used Logic and Digital Peformer before but wanted to try something different. However, after reading a few of the Mac threads, I think it's time to look elsewhere. Shame

Any suggestions what to look at? Needs good Midi.
Guido3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 03:26 PM   #48
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

if u ask me: use reaper.
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:25 AM   #49
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido3 View Post
Not what I hoped to hear.

I am building a portable set-up and really liked the look of Reaper. I have used Logic and Digital Peformer before but wanted to try something different. However, after reading a few of the Mac threads, I think it's time to look elsewhere. Shame.
What was it you read then?
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:26 AM   #50
Guido3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaceman View Post
What was it you read then?

Amongst other things.........

Version 3 still in Beta and unstable
Not as feature rich as the PC version. (the reviews I have read all refer the the PC version)
Poor support when compared to PC version

I could be wrong and will be happy to give Reaper a try but I don't want to end up flogging a dead horse.
What version are you using?
Guido3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:39 AM   #51
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

all of them.
at the moment it is 3.06

for me reaper osx is more stable than dp or logic. way more stable!
gui for SOME plugins is missing in vst version but as au they working fine (for me).

try it out.
u would be a fool if you would not give reaper a try ..u know?
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 04:55 AM   #52
Guido3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainer View Post
all of them.
at the moment it is 3.06

for me reaper osx is more stable than dp or logic. way more stable!
gui for SOME plugins is missing in vst version but as au they working fine (for me).

try it out.
u would be a fool if you would not give reaper a try ..u know?
OK. I'll give it a try. I am using a 1.33Mhz iBook G4. Is this up to the job?
Guido3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:11 AM   #53
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,257
Default

Requirements:
OS X: 10.4 or 10.5, PPC or Intel (Intel recommended).

Depends on what you would like to do.
I use a 2GHz Intel macbook Pro so all I can say is: HERE it is working very good.
I´ve seen Reaper on a G4 macbook before, but that was a 2.x version number. It was stable and we did some recordings. No problems. But I can not definitly say what happens if you try to mix/master/process your work in your configuration.

Try it and give back a report

good luck
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:26 AM   #54
Guido3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 7
Default

I'm not looking at recording massive amounts of audio. Mainly midi from my Fantom X.
Can you rcommend a USB/Firewire audio interface that works well with Reaper? That's the next thing on my shopping list along with either a pair of portable monitors or some good quality headphones.
Guido3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 05:47 AM   #55
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido3 View Post
Amongst other things.........

Version 3 still in Beta and unstable
Not as feature rich as the PC version. (the reviews I have read all refer the the PC version)
Poor support when compared to PC version

I could be wrong and will be happy to give Reaper a try but I don't want to end up flogging a dead horse.
What version are you using?
aaah ok, I thought you meant Logic and DP
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:20 PM   #56
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

[QUOTE=Kainer;353758]I would pay a second time to get the browser, cd-burnin option and plugin-gui-stability into the mac version.
/QUOTE]

I would pay 3 times my license for that ;-) !
... and 5 times to have a killer elastic-audio-ish feature implementation.
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:21 PM   #57
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guido3 View Post
Any suggestions what to look at? Needs good Midi.
Use Reaper with a nice audio-interface, avoid Audio Units (hopefully your plugs have a VST version), be a bit patient and enjoy its functionalities and great sound !
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:03 AM   #58
Tallisman
Human being with feelings
 
Tallisman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: in the middle of the icecube.
Posts: 7,405
Default

FWIW, Reaper beta runs well on my Hack. I don't use AU plugins as VST is superior IMHO. The only crash I have had in the last... as long as I can remember was due to a beta version of an extension in the process of being ported for your mac pleasure.
__________________
.t

_____________________________
http://jomei.bandcamp.com <--My Middle Son.

http://tallisman.bandcamp.com <--Me.

"Excuse me. Could you please point me in the direction of the self-help section?"
Tallisman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:41 AM   #59
Guido3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Derbyshire
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
FWIW, Reaper beta runs well on my Hack. I don't use AU plugins as VST is superior IMHO. The only crash I have had in the last... as long as I can remember was due to a beta version of an extension in the process of being ported for your mac pleasure.
Excellent. I don't have any plug-ins. The only ones I would use would be the ones that come bundled with Reaper. Good to know that VST's are probably the way to go though. As I have said before, I will mainly be using Reaper as a Midi sequencer. Hopefully the midi side will be sufficient.

I am looking to build an ultra portable midi rig. Ultimately, my Fantom X will go and be replaced by a rack mount version plus some other bits and pieces including a light-weight keyboard (Novation SL61 or something similar). Before I do this though, I want to make sure the sequencer package I use is up to the job.
Guido3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 02:40 PM   #60
bennals
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallisman View Post
FWIW, Reaper beta runs well on my Hack. I don't use AU plugins as VST is superior IMHO. The only crash I have had in the last... as long as I can remember was due to a beta version of an extension in the process of being ported for your mac pleasure.
ooh..SWS's extension? Do tell.

(my Macbook and Hack run Reaper great too...even some of my AUs).

Bill.
__________________
Macbook C2D 1.83, 10.6.4, MH ULN-2 & 2882 x 3.
bennals is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.