Old 07-27-2009, 11:06 AM   #1
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Default Non-Beta Reaper for OSX

****************
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 4.1.1, LogicProX 10.4.2
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 11-09-2009 at 09:03 AM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 12:38 PM   #2
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

Reaper 4.5
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2009, 02:28 PM   #3
maifeng
Human being with feelings
 
maifeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 82
Default







This question is sooooooooooooooo 2007!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
It's all about making the best product...
maifeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 07:19 AM   #4
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Default

*********
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 4.1.1, LogicProX 10.4.2
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 11-09-2009 at 09:04 AM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 10:53 AM   #5
myownsilence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 121
Default

One thing that has held me back from buying on osx(and using over 30 days of course!) a license has been the fact that I would be paying for a beta version, something against my beliefs.
myownsilence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2009, 12:26 PM   #6
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myownsilence View Post
One thing that has held me back from buying on osx(and using over 30 days of course!) a license has been the fact that I would be paying for a beta version, something against my beliefs.
according to many Reaper users, the whole of Reaper is 'a work in progress'
at least, it's a good way to worm oneself out of a tricky discussion about it's flaws

I'm still following the progress, but so far it's 'Reaper, good idea, wonky execution'. It's going to need an other year to mature for osx (if it ever will mature)
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 04:22 PM   #7
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Default

**************
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 4.1.1, LogicProX 10.4.2
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 11-09-2009 at 09:04 AM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 04:42 PM   #8
Jeronimo
Human being with feelings
 
Jeronimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 501
Default

I'm using the "beta" everyday and it is far more stable than Digital Performer 6.02...
I payed for the non-comercial license and as soon as I feel at home with it, I'll buy the comercial one.
Reaper is a great application, even at beta
Jeronimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009, 06:31 PM   #9
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Default

*************
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 4.1.1, LogicProX 10.4.2
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 11-09-2009 at 09:04 AM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:15 AM   #10
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

As soon as I feel that Reaper has become a proper OSX application and not some half-baked PC port minus the things that makes it excellent on PC, I'll go back to it and give it the respect as it deserves as a PC application at the moment.

I just can't understand all you people who say it's fine on OSX. It is not. Just the fact that they can't seem to manage building a media browser says enough for me. I'm a big fan of the developers and I'm hoping (and expecting as well, to be honest) that it will one day become a real OSX application. It's a decent OSX host, but I don't pay money for a beta.
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 03:54 AM   #11
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

I think there are just not enough reaper-mac-users.

Open bugs: 94/112.
Only 3 coders.

Too much to do for them on the windows version. where most of the reaper users are. Sad.

It is way behind the pc-version not only in the missing features like media browser or cd-burning option. It is slower and a little bit clumsy. I notice this everytime I´m on a pc after I worked some days/weeks only on the mac version.


Don´t get me wrong. Reaper on mac is stable and easy to use (for me). No showstoppers. Better than logic when it comes to audioediting so I stay with reaper.

Slow evolution.
Hoping that reaper mac is ready before version 4.5
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 04:33 AM   #12
Jeronimo
Human being with feelings
 
Jeronimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 501
Default

Well,

Since I came from PT LE, than Digital Performer, and tried Logic, Cubase and Nuendo (all on macs) I have to say I don't really care about media browser or the CD burning option.

Of course it have to evolve to fill in the blanks, but right now it works perfectly for what I do (audio recording and very little MIDI).

If you check my myspace (/jelmet) and take a look at the discography (it's in Portuguese BTW) you can see I'm no bedroom kid...

I never used Reaper on a Windows machine, so I can't really "miss" the options that aren't avaliable on the mac side.

One thing I've seen on the manual and couldn't find on my version is the "Render Queue"... this one I wish I had 'cause I've used something like this in DP 6
Jeronimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 05:01 AM   #13
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

It is on my intel mac (reaper 3.06).
If you go to render a song the render queue option is there at the bottom of the render dialog window.

__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 05:11 AM   #14
The Spark
Human being with feelings
 
The Spark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 148
Default

The media browser isnt a show stopper for me, but Id really like to see the plug in compatibility worked out. That, and I still find Reaper on OSX a bit of a resource hog.
The Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:09 AM   #15
BoxOfSnoo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 998
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainer View Post
I think there are just not enough reaper-mac-users.
And there won't be, until it gets taken seriously. Just read this whole thread and you'll see proof of that.
__________________
Get Dropbox! (Bonus space for both of us with that link)
BoxOfSnoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 08:59 AM   #16
shanabit
Human being with feelings
 
shanabit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Default

**********
__________________
Reaper 4.78, Cubase 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 4.1.1, LogicProX 10.4.2
MacPro Dual Quad 2.4,OSX 10.13.6, MR816X

Last edited by shanabit; 11-09-2009 at 09:04 AM.
shanabit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2009, 12:07 PM   #17
w.caslighter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 101
Default

so far i've only used reaper as a tracking platform. i just prefer the workflow and aesthetics in cubendo more for editing mixing and, have worked on it for quite sometime. it would be sad if osx didn't end up catching up to the PC version though.
w.caslighter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 01:44 PM   #18
Jeronimo
Human being with feelings
 
Jeronimo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 501
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanabit View Post
And the lack of any attention to this thread. Feels like Apple here.
Anyways, no bad vibes here. I like the app but Ill be looking hard at Studio1
What is Studio1? The one from Presonus?
Jeronimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 02:47 PM   #19
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,676
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanabit View Post
And the lack of any attention to this thread. Feels like Apple here.
oh SNAP!

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanabit View Post
Anyways, no bad vibes here. I like the app but Ill be looking hard at Studio1
wait.. what?

__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 03:27 PM   #20
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,557
Default

"face palm"

I have to agree, I'm not a mac user at home but I teach solely on macs at college and it is logic only but if the mac version gets upto speed then I can encourage students to try out Reaper too and see if they prefer it plus I hate having to teach logic when it is available for mac only and these poor students have already gone out and brought a pc laptop typically only to go and have to fork out for a mac again. (not getting into a pc vs' mac argument here) I think it's unfair to teach a single platform application especially since it is not really even "industry standard" (whatever that means anyway!)

So here's to getting Reaper rocking on the mac!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 06:18 PM   #21
Reverbio
Human being with feelings
 
Reverbio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 168
Default

Running vmware and installing windows ?
Not sure how osx and vmware or similar would deal with drivers for asio simultaniously ?.
Anyhoo if you did run it under vmware you could just fullscreen Reaper and stay in the apple os too.
Best of both worlds, no ?
You can even do it backwards and install osx on a pc with vmware.

it just seems mad haha

A pc running osx running vmware running windows running reaper software.

It works though !
Reverbio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 11:57 AM   #22
Polaris20
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Default

That's not going to work very well at all. Audio apps are too bandwidth intensive to run in a VM.
Polaris20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 01:28 AM   #23
spaceman
Human being with feelings
 
spaceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kent
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverbio View Post
Running vmware and installing windows ?
Not sure how osx and vmware or similar would deal with drivers for asio simultaniously ?.
Anyhoo if you did run it under vmware you could just fullscreen Reaper and stay in the apple os too.
Best of both worlds, no ?
You can even do it backwards and install osx on a pc with vmware.

it just seems mad haha

A pc running osx running vmware running windows running reaper software.

It works though !
VMs and audio are still a big no no, and it will stay like that for some time to come. We will only see improvement when visualization will become build into the cpu (or handled by separate cpus). We're seeing the beginning of it in the Intel chpis, but only very specialised at the moment.

If you don't mind 500ms and more latencies and other slow behaviour then I would say give VMs a shot. Personally, I think it's madness.
__________________
That would be an ecumenical matter

Last edited by spaceman; 08-05-2009 at 01:31 AM.
spaceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:42 AM   #24
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Umeå, Sweden
Posts: 947
Default

I'm use PC Reaper under Darwine when I have to open an old project (and occasionally when mastering stuff and I need PC only plug ins). Wouldn't record with it (obviously) but for mixing or mastering it's OK (especially since those old projects were created on a much slower machine).

Regards,
- Jonas
Jonas_Eriksson_Swe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2009, 05:18 PM   #25
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

My guess is Cockos is struggling with all these AU plug-ins issues ...
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 09:39 AM   #26
fiddler59
Human being with feelings
 
fiddler59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Athens GA USA
Posts: 256
Default

Me too !! I think they still have a bit to sort out before it goes out of beta status...

David B
fiddler59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 04:56 PM   #27
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

yep, there is quite a bit to be fixed, so I think we'll be stuck with betas for a while from now.

Now, good news is current betas are quite stable (a few bugs and quits here and there).

I am so amazed what these 3 guys manage to do !
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2009, 11:51 PM   #28
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

haha :-)

I sometimes also feel like a lonely Reaper OSXer
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 01:41 AM   #29
frankvg
Human being with feelings
 
frankvg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 51
Default

Lonely Reaper OSXers UNITE!!
frankvg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 05:38 PM   #30
jdriver
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 16
Default heaven forbid

Quote:
Originally Posted by myownsilence View Post
One thing that has held me back from buying on osx(and using over 30 days of course!) a license has been the fact that I would be paying for a beta version, something against my beliefs.
Heaven forbid the developers should get paid before you deem their product "ready for prime time."

I'm so tired of reading posts on here along the lines of "if only it would come out of beta, I would pay, really I would."

It's worth $60 bucks as is. If you can't see that, doubtful you will ever cough up. When it's out of beta the argument will morph into "if only they'd fix (my_biggest_gripe), I'd pay, really I would."
jdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 10:18 PM   #31
mattemuse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Heaven forbid the developers should get paid before they deem their product "ready for prime time." And by "prime time" I mean "ready to be sold commercially," as the definition of a beta build precludes this.

Last edited by mattemuse; 08-29-2009 at 10:20 PM.
mattemuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 11:29 PM   #32
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanabit View Post
Ive already paid for my Reaper beta here to support the effort. Id pay again to get it up to the PC level
same here !
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 03:19 AM   #33
manning1
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,959
Default

i realise some people are huge mac fans.
but for people who want all the pc features..and cant wait..
in my area one can get refurb pc's all the time around 200 buks for dual cores with warranties. and xp installed.
its a no brainer imho.
install a good 7200 rpm drive with 32 mb cache for another 70 buks or so
dedicated for track recording and for less than 300 buks you can do 80 traks.
heck ive got an old amd athlon here i was given that'll do over 120 traks useing the old mixdown a few beds to stereo n reimport trick.
so i would say keep your mac for what you like bout it n add a pc .
anyhoo its all gonna be obsolete whether macs or pc's.
cos theres gonna be some exciting technology coming down the pike
of that i'm sure.
i'm a big fan or refurb desktop pc's. cos of the money saveings
which you can put towards a nice mic pre or whatever.
otoh laptop pc's are a zoo cos a person cant fix em easily unlike desktop pc's.
manning1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 08:53 AM   #34
The Spark
Human being with feelings
 
The Spark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 148
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdriver View Post
Heaven forbid the developers should get paid before you deem their product "ready for prime time."

It's worth $60 bucks as is.
As someone who has paid for a Reaper license (twice now in fact), I have to ask why should the Mac Reaper user settle for less stability, and features than the PC Reaper user for the same price? How long should a 'beta' period last?

Eventually they are going to have to hunker down and fix the problems with the Mac version of Reaper and take it out of beta, or its going to hurt the credibility of the Mac version, if it hasnt started to already.
The Spark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 08:58 PM   #35
Moldy Beans
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default

While I would really like it to be non-beta, I have experienced no problems with the beta version. I use it for tracking and mixing, barely any midi. I'm using a 2.0ghz Macbook. The only problem I have had were from faulty plug-ins. I save often, have never lost anything.

Is the Windows version really that much ahead of the OSX version, or is everybody just being hypercritical?
Moldy Beans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 03:49 AM   #36
mrp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Spark View Post
Eventually they are going to have to hunker down and fix the problems with the Mac version of Reaper...
There have been five updates to the Mac version of Reaper so far, just in the month of August. Isn't that proof enough that the development team has not abandoned the Mac platform?
mrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 04:23 AM   #37
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrp View Post
There have been five updates to the Mac version of Reaper so far, just in the month of August. Isn't that proof enough that the development team has not abandoned the Mac platform?
Can you name the five updates and their substance?
Maybe I´m not aware of them as I see only this two points in August:

+ OSX: default to Cocoa UI for AU plug-ins that support it
+ OSX: fixed manually editing JS parameter values


I´m sure they are working on it... and I´m happy to see that.
But do I have missed one or two updates?
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:32 AM   #38
mrp
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kainer View Post
Can you name the five updates and their substance?
hi,

I've had these updates in August:
v3.104 - August 29 2009

v3.103 - August 27 2009

v3.102 - August 15 2009

v3.101 - August 14 2009

v3.1 - August 13 2009

The substance details are in the readme which accompanies each version.

Happy Reaping !
mrp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 08:49 AM   #39
Kainer
Human being with feelings
 
Kainer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cologne/Bangkok
Posts: 1,258
Default

ah, ok. you wrote about regular (win/mac) reaper updates. I knew this updates. I thought you mean specific mac-development updates.

Happy Reaping for you too!
__________________
I am old here

http://kainerweissmann.de
Kainer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2009, 10:37 PM   #40
mio*star
Human being with feelings
 
mio*star's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 46°31'20.67"N - 6°37'6.47"E
Posts: 803
Default bootcamp ?

I may go Bootcamp on an ugly windows in the meantime ...
too bad !
__________________
www.royalstudios.net
mio*star is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.