Old 09-10-2019, 05:27 AM   #1
XilburQost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Default When to use stereo plugins versus mono?

I'm using plugins from Waves audio and many of them come in both mono and stereo versions. Unfortunately, I cannot seem to find an explanation for when I would use one versus another.

For example, I'm trying out Waves Renaissance Bass plugin on my Reaper bass MIDI track. Do I use the stereo version or mono? (There's no reference to the differences in the Renaissance Bass manual.)

Thanks.
XilburQost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 07:37 AM   #2
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,939
Default

pretty simple

if you have mono audio you can use the mono plugin

if stereo use the stereo version

some waves have what they call a mono\stereo version as well
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 09:32 AM   #3
XilburQost
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 10
Default

Simpler than I thought. Thanks hopi!
XilburQost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2019, 09:54 AM   #4
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 24,556
Default

Never use mono plugs in my opinion, reaper uses 2 channels regardless and if you throw a mono plugin on a track and then put that track in a folder or buss it will break panning on the folder/buss unless the mono plugin sends the same signal to 1/2 - IIRC that is.
__________________
If it requires a null test to find it, it is by definition minuscule.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 07:33 AM   #5
Larry Kriz
Human being with feelings
 
Larry Kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 37
Default

https://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=480970
__________________
Reaper V5.983, Samplitude Pro X4, Sonic Core XITE-1/Scope V5, Windows 7 64 Home Premium, Sonic|Core XITE-1/SCOPE 5 (64) & A16 Ultra A/D converter.

Last edited by Larry Kriz; 09-11-2019 at 07:41 AM.
Larry Kriz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2019, 03:02 PM   #6
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Never use mono plugs in my opinion
Yeah that. Technically, this would use up to almost twice as much processing as really necessary, but unless you really think it’s killing your CPU, just use the stereo ones. You CAN usually manipulate the routing pins to make mono ones work, but that’s more messing around than it’s worth most of the time.

Course, the actual correct answer is “Fuck Waves!”
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 02:14 AM   #7
Judders
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8,541
Default

Yeah, if you don't sort out your routing pins then mono plugins will process the left channel and pass unprocessed audio on the right.

Brainworx consoles are the only plugins I bother with mono versions of, because of their randomised channel properties thing.



All Waves plugins get used in stereo versions only here.
Judders is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.