COCKOS
CONFEDERATED FORUMS
Cockos : REAPER : NINJAM : Forums
Forum Home : Register : FAQ : Members List : Search :
Old 07-22-2009, 12:27 PM   #1
Amber.City
Human being with feelings

Default Acoustic vs Acoustic Electric

I have a $3000 dollar Gibson Acoustic, which i love, but i want to start making recording acoustic easier, and create better quality, (since i'm no expert at mic-ing a guitar.) So i was looking into buying a pickup.

What would be better, buying a guitar that's no more than a $1000 dollars, thats an acoustic electric, or buying a picking, which would cost substantially less?

I'm not equating sound quality to money, but just showing how much i want to spend vs what i have.
Old 07-22-2009, 03:10 PM   #2
BenK-msx

personally i hate the sounds of pickups - flat lifeless things that don't translate dynamic playing or a nice 'guitar' sound (which your guitar no doubt has)...

i found the most natural miking arrangment ive got so far was a stereo mic (XY) setup using LDC types, a few feet away.

i'm sure with half-decent mics and your shit-hot guitar in a nice space, plus some judicious tweaking in post in reaper, you can get something far better than any pickup.
worth recording a pickup to blend in at low level perhaps if guitar has them.

no doubt if you wanted miking tips there are far more qualified than i to assist in that department.
Old 07-22-2009, 05:20 PM   #3
Wolffman

My view is similar to BenK-msx, While accoustic pick-ups certainly have their place and can sound good in the right context, IMO nothing is going to beat a good guitar ( like yours ) well miced is a good accoustic space.
Heres a couple of things i do when micing acc guitar.

1st walk around in the room playing the guitar & find where in the room it sounds best to your ears and set up there.

2nd experiment with mic type / placement, i found often the best sound comes from not so orthodox mic placement. If it sounds good do it.

thats my 2c worth.