Old 01-28-2018, 05:05 AM   #121
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,958
Default

Wow Eugen! I can't believe I missed this for so many months. I frequently use spk77's script, so am looking forward to testing this out.

Amazing work. Raymond was right, you're a hero.

#Eugen2777_for_REAPER-hero-2018
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 01:49 PM   #122
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,958
Default

Okay, after some testing:

-It seems like we always need some Pre-Comp (known as Lookahead).
-Out Gain function is good, but this plugin needs a 'gate threshold' (not probably not a full gate section) to avoid turning up any low-level signals.
-When you load a preset and click Activate Envelopes, the script does nothing until you adjust the Threshold control. Clicking Activate Envelopes should 'refresh' the same way that adjusting Threshold does.
-Overwriting existing preset should show warning.


spk77's script acts more like an intelligent leveller, which is perfect for vocals. I have tried to obtain a similar function from your script (which has several other advantage), but I haven't found the right settings yet.
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]

Last edited by daxliniere; 01-28-2018 at 01:59 PM.
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2018, 02:29 PM   #123
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,958
Default

Ooo! And the coolest thing would for your script to detect breaths and (optionally) NOT turn them up.
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 12:00 PM   #124
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,002
Default

Another way in which the script can surpass ReaComp, is by offering looooong RMS and Pre-Comp. Since the script does not run in realtime, plugin delay compensation is of no concern. (In the current version, the script's pre-comp only goes up to 100ms, which is less than ReaEQ's 250ms.)

EDIT: Would it work OK if I simply change these lines to larger values, say 1000ms and 2000ms?
Code:
PreComp.DW_New(3, "Slider", "H", 160,40,200,20, r,g,b,a, "Pre-Comp", "ms", 0, 0, 100, 0.1, 0);

RMSsize.DW_New(7, "Slider", "H", 160,160,200,20, r,g,b,a, "RMS size", "ms", 5, 0, 1000, 0.1, 1);

Last edited by juliansader; 01-29-2018 at 12:05 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 12:07 PM   #125
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxliniere View Post
spk77's script acts more like an intelligent leveller, which is perfect for vocals. I have tried to obtain a similar function from your script (which has several other advantage), but I haven't found the right settings yet.
Which script by spk77 are you referring to?
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 12:18 PM   #126
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
Which script by spk77 are you referring to?
The script, which Eugen have improved.
This script is based on it. There was a beta version.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 04:00 PM   #127
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
The script, which Eugen have improved.
Did Eugen improve on it or was he inspired by it? I assumed inspired (since the controls are quite different)
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2018, 04:03 PM   #128
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxliniere View Post
Did Eugen improve on it or was he inspired by it? I assumed inspired (since the controls are quite different)
Yeah, I've just read he was inspired by spk's script. You're right. Well, the very first version was close to the "original" one.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Make a thread "F%#! you Reaper! I quit!" to get more views and feedback since these kind of threads get much more traction
SoundCloudFR: True Non-destructive GLUEAll the REAPER names
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2018, 09:46 PM   #129
Magicbuss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,692
Default

Can someone please explain how to make this work? I have installed reapack, imported the repository for the envelope based compressor and have the latest SWS. Now what? I dont see it in the action list. How do I apply this compressor script to a given track?

Edit: OK I got a bit further once i figured out that you have to browse to and install the package in reapack (duh!). Now it shows in the action list but when I try to run it or click the assigned key I get an error message: gen_Envelope-based Compressor v2.eel:7: syntax error: '<!DOCTYPE html'. Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by Magicbuss; 02-27-2018 at 10:00 PM.
Magicbuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 03:10 PM   #130
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 575
Default Awesome!

Wow! Thanks so much for this. This is in effect more of a gain rider plugin than a compressor, right? (i.e. an automated volume control)
So simple and straightforward to use and works perfectly!
I'd been struggling with getting TbProAudio Gain Rider to work properly (having to read the manual, going to the forum, youtube...a pain).
Also found another Reaper's user's hack to also achieve a gain rider-like effect but again too complicated and in the end, just didn't do the job as well as this does.
I just watched your animated gif and got it working instantly!
Easy to use and it works, love it!

Congrats!
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 05:03 PM   #131
daxliniere
Human being with feelings
 
daxliniere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,958
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
This is in effect more of a gain rider plugin than a compressor, right? (i.e. an automated volume control)
No, not really. It's an offline compressor
__________________
Dax Liniere
London's newest premium studio complex! (Facebook)
[i7-4790K, 12Gb RAM, Win8.1x64, NVidia GT710, UAD2-OCTO, FireFaceUFX, REAPER x64]
daxliniere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2018, 05:25 PM   #132
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 575
Default

I'm not so sure. I mean, that is a volume envelope that's being applied to the item so...
Also, the lower signals are not raised, only the peaks lowered. So I guess at best we can call it a limiter of some kind?
Maybe the dev will chime in to clear this up.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2018, 10:50 AM   #133
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Luster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
I'm not so sure. I mean, that is a volume envelope that's being applied to the item so...
Also, the lower signals are not raised, only the peaks lowered. So I guess at best we can call it a limiter of some kind?
Maybe the dev will chime in to clear this up.
Nah, nothing to clear up. It's a compressor. You just messed up the definition of limiter.
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2018, 01:50 PM   #134
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 575
Default Problem while zooming?

Don't know if this has been addressed already or not but there seems to be a problem when zooming in & out when the script is active.
See below and notice the difference when zooming in/out with and without the script active. I think it's pretty self-explanatory:

chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 03:58 PM   #135
HDWind
Human being with feelings
 
HDWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 50
Default

chumbo
Its not problem of this plugin. This old bug with zooming envelopes of the reaper!
It is necessary to ask to correct this defect in the next builds of reaper.
HDWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 04:05 PM   #136
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 575
Default

Sorry, but you'll need to extrapolate a bit more because the way my .gif shows it, when the script is deactivated, Reaper displays the zooming perfectly fine, as it should be!
But of course, there's maybe a technical aspect I might not understand, i.e. why I ask you to explain in more detail why it's Reaper problem and not the script?
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 04:38 PM   #137
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 9,487
Default

chumbo, see
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1735854
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2018, 04:43 PM   #138
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 575
Default

Ouch...yes, that clears things up. Damn, that's really too bad then
OK, don't know what to say. So Justin says...'just live with it'!? Crap.
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2018, 01:32 AM   #139
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,286
Default

Thanks eugen!
This was the only comp I could use without sound-degradation on an classical guitar
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
My music on Bandcamp
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 08:21 AM   #140
Hitcher
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 20
Default

Женя - Супер Мен!) Скрипт великолепный, уже год использую твой компрессор v1. как раз хотел подобное для пиков а ты уже все сделал!) Респект и признательность!)
Hitcher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2018, 07:32 PM   #141
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 252
Default

When I ran the script, I got this:



Please tell me whats the problem! I like this script soooo much!

EDIT: After I download it from Reapack, problem solved! I missed several files
Attached Images
File Type: png 20181022103031.png (3.7 KB, 1034 views)
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2018, 01:08 AM   #142
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,002
Default

Now that the long-standing weirdness in the ReaComp knee is being fixed (ReaComp knee size bug (FIXED)), it may be a perfect time to implement the same, fixed knee in the script too?
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2019, 01:38 PM   #143
threeoten
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 30
Default

I get the following errors when trying to run this action:

Warning: @import could not open 'inc/AudioFunctions.eel'
Warning: @import could not open 'inc/MiniGui.eel'
Warning: @import could not open 'inc/Presets.eel'
gen_Envelope-based Compressor v2.eel:26: 'Thresh.DW_New' undefined: 'Thresh.DW_New(1, "Slider", "V", 40,30,20,250, r,g,b,a, "Th'

I have python enabled, ReaPack and SWS installed.. any help is appreciated.
threeoten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 11:20 AM   #144
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,789
Default

I just get a red line. Ideas ?

Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 01:12 PM   #145
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
I just get a red line. Ideas ?

<snip>
You have the threshold set too high. Drag it down.

Sometimes I have noticed that I have to drag it down quite a lot for the compression to "take", -40 dB or so. But once it kicks in, I can then up the threshold to a more reasonable level.

But now you have it at +5.7 dB...
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 01:13 PM   #146
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 7,789
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
You have the threshold set too high. Drag it down.

Sometimes I have noticed that I have to drag it down quite a lot for the compression to "take", -40 dB or so. But once it kicks in, I can then up the threshold to a more reasonable level.

But now you have it at +5.7 dB...
Thanks, that worked. Appreciate it !
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 01:17 PM   #147
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by threeoten View Post
I get the following errors when trying to run this action:

Warning: @import could not open 'inc/AudioFunctions.eel'
Warning: @import could not open 'inc/MiniGui.eel'
Warning: @import could not open 'inc/Presets.eel'
gen_Envelope-based Compressor v2.eel:26: 'Thresh.DW_New' undefined: 'Thresh.DW_New(1, "Slider", "V", 40,30,20,250, r,g,b,a, "Th'

I have python enabled, ReaPack and SWS installed.. any help is appreciated.
You have to grab the "inc" folder from the GitHub repo. You can use DownGit. And there I already filled in the correct download link for you, as I just half an hour ago did the same thing.

You copy the "inc" folder to the same place where you have Eugene's script installed (probably in <Reaper resource folder>/Scripts).

Python has nothing to do with this, as these are eel scripts.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 11:27 AM   #148
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,628
Default

BTW, I modded Eugene's script so that it docks, and remembers its docking position. This makes it so much easier to use (for me).

I'm not sure about reposting Eugene's code edited by myself, but here are instructions so you can do the mod yourself. Line numbers below refer to line numbers in the original code, as on GitHub (see Eugene's first post on this); the line numbers will change after the new code has been input, of course.

Start by making a copy of the script, and work on the copied version. Open it in a text editor, I think that is the easiest, but of course the built in IDE would also work.

Paste the following code:
Code:
//////////////////// Dock state stuff (by MF, part code from BRSO Articulate)
function InitDockstate()
  local(width, height, dockstate, xpos, ypos)
( 
  
  // Dock state - V5 only!
  HasExtState(SCRIPTNAME, "dock") ? 
  (
    GetExtState(#dockstate, SCRIPTNAME, "dock");
    match("%d", #dockstate, dockstate);
    
  ) : (dockstate = 513);
  dockstate_last = dockstate;

  atexit("SaveDockstate();");  // Register exit function
  dockstate;
);

function SaveDockstate()
(
  // (dockstate != dockstate_last) ?
  (
    dockstate = gfx_dock(-1);  
    #dockstate = sprintf(#, "%d", dockstate);
    SetExtState(SCRIPTNAME, "dock", #dockstate, 1); // store "dockstate" string
    dockstate_last = dockstate;
  );
);
on line number 495, which is an empty line. It doesn't really have to go there, could be anywhere, but now we know exactly where the new code is.

Next you replace the (original) line numbers 500-501 (the first two lines inside the gui.init() function) with this code:
Code:
  w = 520; h = 280;
  dockstate = InitDockstate();
  x = 100; y = 500;   
  gfx_init(SCRIPTNAME, w, h, dockstate, x, y);
Finally, put this line:
Code:
SCRIPTNAME = "Envelope-based Compressor v212:dockmod";
on the empty line number 10, right before the imports (again, it doesn't really have to be there, but this is a good place as any). You can give the script whatever name you like, this is used on the docker tab, as well as in the project file to store the docking information.

I hope I got all of that right. Else, let me know.
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2019, 12:17 PM   #149
Outboarder
Human being with feelings
 
Outboarder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 773
Default

Very useful script, Good UI, Nice features.
Thank you eugen
__________________
Outboarder Scripts
Outboarder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 02:54 AM   #150
KuulArt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 30
Default

Is this able to do expansion? It would be perfect if it was able to set ratios smaller than 1.
Or is there a similar script that does it?
KuulArt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2020, 08:24 AM   #151
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 634
Default

Wow!

I'm just now trying this script out.
I must say, this is friggin awesome!
A unique approach to something so needed.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 06:37 AM   #152
LePixaliz
Human being with feelings
 
LePixaliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 41
Default

Can someone help me ? I got this kind of error when installing from Reapack :'(
I can install the V1 without problem but V2 doesn't install because of missing files for some reasons...
Attached Images
File Type: png reaper_bckLeQY8IJ.png (19.7 KB, 79 views)
LePixaliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 07:37 AM   #153
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,369
Default

@LePixaliz
Very weird this .part at the end of your missing file,


anyway, try to manually download the missing files by clicking on RAW button for each of them (on the files pages)



https://github.com/EUGEN27771/ReaScr...Compressor/inc


and save them to your HDD at the same place (same subfolder etc)


You can also download the whole repository manually with the dedciated button at home on this repo (there is a dedicated button for that)



EDIT: this was explained just few post before... https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=147
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:39 AM   #154
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 3,058
Default

Is this a portable install? ReaPack version 1.2.2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Very weird this .part at the end of your missing file,
ReaPack downloads files to a temporary <filename>.part so that, in case anything goes wrong during updating, it does not damage the original files and can easily rollback to the last working state.

The error means it was somehow unable to create some files and could not start downloading them.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-15-2020 at 12:26 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 08:46 AM   #155
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,369
Default

@cfillion
Ok good to know !


So maybe reaper hasnt right to write in the user dir.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2020, 02:47 AM   #156
LePixaliz
Human being with feelings
 
LePixaliz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 41
Default

Okay, I think it wasn't the script fault

I just installed a brand new portable version of Reaper and I had two portable versions cohabiting in the same computer (+ one dev version that I forgot I installed).
So I uninstalled the dev version, reinstalled Reapack for the portable version I was using and everything went better !

Thanks both for your help
LePixaliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.