Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 04-03-2013, 04:43 PM   #1
1992guitars
Human being with feelings

Default Absolute Beginner (switching Over from AKAI DPS24) -- How Do I Select Audio???

Hey guys,

My name's Sean & I'm a guitar player. By love and by trade (thankfully). I've spent the past twenty years of my life with the instrument in my hands and just never took home recording very seriously until a couple months ago. I just always figured that would be best left to engineers who'd studied audio like I've studied the guitar, amplifiers, touch, tone, etc. etc. etc.

But long story made short, I'm recording a guitar album and just wasn't getting the best performances during the allotted studio time, where the clock was running and the bill was piling up, and ---- among other things --- was greatly influenced by the life and work of Chet Atkins, who of course was was one the earliest home recordists!!! (along with Les Paul). So I thought, "if Chet could do it, so can I..."

For the past seven or eight years I've been using the long discontinued AKAI DPS24 24-track recorder. I must be the only person in the entire history of humankind who ever got one of those, was overwhelmed by the learning curve, and surrendered to using it as a very basic home scratchpad for songwriting, guitar parts, etc., but I did learn to use it that much all those years ago.

Fast forward to 2013 and the AKAI is up and running again. Spent a lot of time learning how to get better sounds, treating a small area of my apartment to record in (which was as significant as a microphone or pre upgrade --- the difference some OC703 made was staggering), and rocking and rolling again on the AKAI.

But here's the bottom line.

At some point I have to switch over to a computer-based system and I'm already living in the past. Which brings me here...