Old 07-31-2018, 05:38 AM   #81
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Default

Is it an issue of lag/performance or is it the peaks might not be correct?
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 08:23 AM   #82
dazastah
Human being with feelings
 
dazastah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 86
Default

It is when selecting the next or previous sample in current directory .. the buttons and or scripts select the next or previous file. Reaper creates peak files when previewing audio files in the media explorer. The manager tries to load the peak files per rsk5 instance. Would be a minor useful adjustment to ignore peak files or non audio files when going to next or previous file. Does this make sense ?
dazastah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2018, 11:18 PM   #83
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Ah got it, it doesn't filter proper source extensions when listing files in directory. Thanks, fixing.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2018, 01:08 PM   #84
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Default

Super Update!

Thanks for taking into consideration the suggestions we're making.
The RS5K Manager feels more and more intuitive.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 03:52 AM   #85
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mutton Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 1,588
Default

cool! just saw the updates from july 31 and aug 1. thanks so much for all of the individual RS5K actions, too!
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 05:51 AM   #86
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mutton Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 1,588
Default

ahh there are some wonderful improvements here. thank you! MPL, i have been hoping for these function since 2011, you are a legend.

----------

issue 1.71: renamed midi notes don't apply to parent track.
1- open RS5K manager
2- dragndrop options: ~ "always to new track"
3- load multiple samples (new tracks are created)
4- click a sample while viewing parent track
5- rename midi note
6- open midi editor for parent track.
NOTE: no renamed midi note (undesired behavior)
7- open midi item for child track
NOTE: midi note is renamed for child (desired behavior)

----------

FR: a script-action to "open FX chain for any track with managed RS5K instance where notestart/noteend = 60" ... this will allow us to open a specific managed RS5K pad/track's FX chain by controller (without opening unmanaged RS5K instances where notestart/noteend also = 60).

if you make 1 for notestart/end 60, i will make the rest! and then you can publish on your repo if you want. or maybe you have better idea to achieve the goal: the goal is to use action to focus single pad's fx chain, so we don't have to use the mouse.

-----------

regarding RS5k_manager_control_functions: AWESOME.

hopefully an easy FR: option for "focused instance only" (or better: "last played") versions of all the increment/decrement rs5k param actions. this way, we could use a key modifier for GLOBAL param changes, and normal hotkeys for FOCUSED param changes.

use case: chop 1 drum sample into 64 pieces, assign to RS5K manager, use current scripts to pitch everything down -4 semitones, then use (LAST PLAYED/FOCUSED) param change to fine-tune that sample.

----------

i think that's it for now. please let me know if my language is unclear. by the way, i think i can withdraw my previous request for file renaming, if the midi note name thing gets resolved.
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 08:36 AM   #87
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4,998
Default

me and another user ran into an error today after syncing reapack

mpl_RS5k_manager_obj.lua:1218: bad argument #2 to 'gsub' (string/function/table expected)
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 09:03 AM   #88
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
me and another user ran into an error today after syncing reapack

mpl_RS5k_manager_obj.lua:1218: bad argument #2 to 'gsub' (string/function/table expected)

This one. Does it works with fresh update?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:02 AM   #89
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Finally got round to using this and its brilliant, thanks MPL! dropped a donation for this and your other brilliant scripts (just happened across the track fx randomizer, every plugin should have a radomizer )

An FR, don't know if its been mentioned. Would it be possible for the pads to light up when they're triggered so you can easily identify them?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:14 AM   #90
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Would it be possible for the pads to light up when they're triggered so you can easily identify them?
Unfortunately there is no way to tracking MIDI input from ReaScript.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:19 AM   #91
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Unfortunately there is no way to tracking MIDI input from ReaScript.
Ah ok, seems an odd oversight on Cockos' part.

I also have bug, the nobs work, but don't give any visual feedback. Any ideas?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:36 AM   #92
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Well, it does a bit, but doesn't look right...

todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 11:49 AM   #93
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Well, it does a bit, but doesn't look right...
They shouldn`t show any values(can`t reproduce on my machine).
They act as linear VCA faders (do NOT set absolue values) so it is impossible to show value, also some parameters are non linear. Probably I should remove these controls to prevent questions like your, sorry for confusion.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 02:57 PM   #94
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
... Probably I should remove these controls to prevent questions like your, sorry for confusion.
No problem. Well, I'd prefer they were there than not at all
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 12:44 PM   #95
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
No problem. Well, I'd prefer they were there than not at all
It seems I did it for myself. The numbers show RAW linear values of changed parameters. To know current values at least this waym let it be for now as is.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:07 AM   #96
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,585
Default

mpl,

Is it maybe possible to make an option that, when dialing a sample pitch knob, it will
increment / decrement by whole semitone steps, instead of the current behaviour: parts of semitones.

Many thanks in advance !
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:26 AM   #97
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Is it maybe possible to make an option that, when dialing a sample pitch knob, it will increment / decrement by whole semitone steps, instead of the current behaviour: parts of semitones.
Are you sure you run latest version? The behaviour was changed in 1.57, current behaviour: drag is semitones, ctrl+drag is finetune.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:43 AM   #98
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,585
Default

Mmmm.. thats great to hear mpl !

But is this script maybe not in ReaPack ?
I always do "synchronize packages" whenever i start Reaper, so being sure i always have the latest versions of the scripts in ReaPack.

If i check the version number of the Script: mpl_RS5k manager.lua, i indeed see that its an older version i am running : v1.26.
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 07:54 AM   #99
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

It is VERY old version and I strongly recommend to not using anything lower than 1.50 (the better choice is latest version, currently it is 1.74).
The name was changed, you probably have 'Action list/Reapack: Manage repositories/Options/Install new packages automatically' turned off. After 1.26 name was changed to RS5k manager (background).lua.
Also you may not have latest ReaPack version so you were not asked for removing old RS5k manager as obsolete and install new version (default).

Action list/ReaPack: Browse packages.../navigate and install RS5k manager (background). There was a lot of features added (including adding samples from browser/explorer and others), structure changed to be more stable, pattern editor was deleted as unstable, added sample mixer etc.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2018, 09:35 AM   #100
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 4,585
Default

Many thanks for your help mpl !
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 05:08 AM   #101
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
...There was a lot of features added (including adding samples from browser/explorer and others), structure changed to be more stable, pattern editor was deleted as unstable...
Any chance we might see the pattern editor back?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2018, 09:51 AM   #102
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Probably yes, but it is not in my to-do list (i.e. I will not use it).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 08:08 PM   #103
buttfreak
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default

maybe I am missing something completely... but when I run the rs5k manager and drag files to a pad, either from the media explorer or windows explorer, nothing happens at all. I feel like I just have no idea how to use this correctly. Everything is up to date as well.
buttfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2018, 10:13 PM   #104
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttfreak View Post
maybe I am missing something completely... but when I run the rs5k manager and drag files to a pad, either from the media explorer or windows explorer, nothing happens at all. I feel like I just have no idea how to use this correctly. Everything is up to date as well.
Dragndrop supported for ReaScript from 5.91. Make sure you have track selected (so RS5k manager know where to auto-put new RS5k instances when you drop sample onto pad).
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 05:52 AM   #105
buttfreak
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Dragndrop supported for ReaScript from 5.91. Make sure you have track selected (so RS5k manager know where to auto-put new RS5k instances when you drop sample onto pad).
I have tried this as well. New project. New track, selected. Run MPL RS5k manager v1.76 Open media explorer, make sure track is still selected, drag my file to RS5k manager, and nothing happens. I am running reaper v5.941/x64 and ReaPack v1.2.1
buttfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 09:56 AM   #106
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Default

Make sure that SWS is up-to-date as well.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 08:23 AM   #107
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 399
Default

Hi, I've got a bit of an issue. I dock the manager at the bottom of the screen, but every time I open it again it's docked to the right, any ideas?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 10:52 AM   #108
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mutton Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 1,588
Default

MPL! your actions to control specific parameters on all managed RS5K instances have saved me hours and hours of time in the last couple months. thank you!

i come back now to request the same action set again, but for FOCUSED RS5K instance.

this will mean ultimate control over RS5K by action, and therefor by midi controller.
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 11:27 AM   #109
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
Hi, I've got a bit of an issue. I dock the manager at the bottom of the screen, but every time I open it again it's docked to the right, any ideas?
Known issue, any clever head help would be much appreciated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
i come back now to request the same action set again, but for FOCUSED RS5K instance.
Why cant you just setup default mapping for RS5k with your controller and check 'enable when effect configuration is focused' on related controls in MIDI Learn window?
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 06:59 PM   #110
cool
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sunny Siberian Islands
Posts: 72
Default

Great script, thank you! Works very well for me, but i have one little issue with "mpl_Bypass all FX except instruments on all tracks.lua": this script bypassing only first instance SampleOMatic in the FX list, ignoring subsequent.
It (bypass script) also does not seem to unite undo points. With a large number of plugins in the FX list, it writes a huge number of values to the undo list after each use of the bypass script.

I apologize, that everything is in this topic. The issues relate more to the bypass script "mpl_Bypass all FX except instruments on all tracks.lua".

Last edited by cool; 09-16-2018 at 07:29 PM.
cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 08:02 PM   #111
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cool View Post
Great script, thank you! Works very well for me, but i have one little issue with "mpl_Bypass all FX except instruments on all tracks.lua": this script bypassing only first instance SampleOMatic in the FX list, ignoring subsequent.
It (bypass script) also does not seem to unite undo points. With a large number of plugins in the FX list, it writes a huge number of values to the undo list after each use of the bypass script.

I apologize, that everything is in this topic. The issues relate more to the bypass script "mpl_Bypass all FX except instruments on all tracks.lua".
It is offtopic. Post issues in related common thread (link in my signature). In case of mentioned script. Reaper API doesn't have function to test any FX in chain is it effect or instrument. Only function return first instrument id.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 06:22 AM   #112
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Mutton Beach, South Carolina
Posts: 1,588
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
Why cant you just setup default mapping for RS5k with your controller and check 'enable when effect configuration is focused' on related controls in MIDI Learn window?
heh because midi CC control over ATTACK is useless! there is no fine control, like there is with "Script: mpl_Increment 1ms attack (RS5k manager).lua"

i propose this, MPL:

if you take [b]"Script: mpl_Increment 1ms attack (RS5k manager).lua" and clone it into "Script: mpl_Increment 1ms attack (RS5k manager).lua **focused RS5K instance only**", then i will do the rest and give them back to you.

i do not mind the repetitive work, and i would do it myself, but i need to see how the 2 scripts would be different first (all vs focused)
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 09:28 AM   #113
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 120
Default

Could you add the ability to use items in the arrange view for samples rather than having to drag items?

rsom allows one to "import from arrange". I'd like to do the same.

In fact, I have about 1000 audio items in the arrange view that I'd simply like to assign to a midi note for each item(in some specific order) and play them. I don't think having 1000's rsom is a good idea nor necessary for just playback though(but this might be the only way to get the audio in to the render engine?).

Not sure if the "manager" script can automate the import from arrange though? If so, that is better than nothing.

Basically I am trying to avoid having to render down each auto item to it's own item. I've already split and resized all the items, so everything is fine and available in reaper and I just need to associate each item with a midi note.


Thanks...
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:21 AM   #114
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,053
Default

"Export selected items to RS5K instances" scripts
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:39 AM   #115
InfiniteDimensionality
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mpl View Post
"Export selected items to RS5K instances" scripts

Ofcourse, thanks!


Is there any way to automate assignment?

Basically assign a matrix of items to notes in a specific order.

Essentially I have an nxm matrix of audio items that I'd like to assign to midi.

n <= 12 and m <= 10

basically I have them laid out like

a b c d e f

g h i j k l

m n o p q r


where the columns are suppose to be groups in the same midi octave(Doesn't matter which) and the rows are separate octaves.

e.g., the midi notes

1 12 24 36 ...
2 13 25 37 ...
...


I believe the scripts are written in lua and lua allows executing a string, so maybe one can enter in a mapping function(takes the ith item and returns a midi note value)?
InfiniteDimensionality is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.