Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2020, 03:01 AM   #1
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default Larger fonts in Actions, FX prefs etc windows

Hi. Could we have larger fonts (or a way of adjusting them) please in things like the actions window, Add FX, Prefs....

They're very small for us older users, even with windows / UI scaling.

There's a post about this here:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....43#post2319543

Thanks :-)
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 03:36 AM   #2
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

Can't wait!
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 04:35 AM   #3
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,074
Default

A size setting for all fonts would be very nice indeed! I don't have a good vision either and many times struggle to read..
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 08:44 AM   #4
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,367
Default

+1000 Right now, there is no way to adjust all font sizes. And just adjusting individual font sizes is very difficult and time consuming - even for experienced users.

Would really appreciate the option. Trying to read fonts on a large screen with average-below average vision is VERY straining.
Klangfarben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 10:37 AM   #5
Distressor
Human being with feelings
 
Distressor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 143
Default

+1 for larger fonts...

+100 for adjustable fonts.
Distressor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2020, 10:39 AM   #6
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

I haven't been this excited since True Type fonts came out 100 years ago.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 08:48 AM   #7
HockeyMike
Human being with feelings
 
HockeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 8
Default

Very much agree, I’m wanting to move over to Reaper from Logic but everything seems hard to read in Reaper. No vision problems, I’m just your typical mid-50s guy who has to wear reading glasses. I don’t have problems with any other application, and am using multiple hi-def monitors, but I struggle in Reaper. The text just seems to be smaller and less readable, and a way to globally increase font size would be incredibly helpful.

Last edited by HockeyMike; 07-20-2020 at 09:00 AM.
HockeyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 09:40 AM   #8
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HockeyMike View Post
Very much agree, I’m wanting to move over to Reaper from Logic but everything seems hard to read in Reaper. No vision problems, I’m just your typical mid-50s guy who has to wear reading glasses. I don’t have problems with any other application, and am using multiple hi-def monitors, but I struggle in Reaper. The text just seems to be smaller and less readable, and a way to globally increase font size would be incredibly helpful.
Not wishing to bash another program too much but I'm just moving over from Cubase on windows.....the text is tiny and despite multiple promises it seems a fix won't be forthcoming till december...and it'll be a paid upgrade :-(

The main reason I moved.....
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 03:00 PM   #9
cairnan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 45
Default

+1, seems like an important accessibility consideration
cairnan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 03:24 PM   #10
HockeyMike
Human being with feelings
 
HockeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 8
Default

And it's not just size, there's a lack of contrast with text in the TCP and mixer, too much grey. I found the Theme tweak parameter for Mixer FX text and Timeline foreground which I switched from the grey default to white, that helps a lot, along with bumping up the Timeline font size.

Is there a way to change the Track Title font color?
__________________
Michael Nowak
Saga Recording
HockeyMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2020, 04:49 PM   #11
nappies
Human being with feelings
 
nappies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 244
Default

+100 And will be good to get full control.WALTER for all windows!
nappies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2020, 03:23 AM   #12
n997
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 416
Default

+1 to larger, preferably adjustable font sizes in those parts of UI where that isn't yet possible
n997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2020, 09:25 PM   #13
StewartD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 7
Default




The only negative (For me) is how ridiculously freaking tiny the Reaper FX/Media/Preferences menus are. I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

To be in my sweet spot (About 6 feet away from a 32 inch monitor and NOT be able to clearly read (Nor scale) the Reaper menu font is a big downer.

I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

The ability to change/ scale menu font would be an long overdue relief.
StewartD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 05:47 AM   #14
operator
Human being with feelings
 
operator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Austria (near Lake Constance)
Posts: 265
Default

Not only the older folks but also us with "eye-diseases/weaknesses" are having a hard time navigation inside of reaper.
__________________
PLEASE Devs: "FX-Container" --> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226533
operator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 06:57 AM   #15
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

If you are in windows, Magnifier comes in handy and lets you click normally while magnified..

%windir%\system32\magnify.exe

Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 07:27 AM   #16
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
If you are in windows, Magnifier comes in handy and lets you click normally while magnified..

%windir%\system32\magnify.exe

It does! discovered that a few years ago. Unfortunately it's a bit blurry on my setup but way better than straining :-)

Still hoping the devs will change the text size natively though :-)
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 07:28 AM   #17
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

I'm old and could use bigger fonts too !
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2020, 07:48 AM   #18
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

It's a real killer - the small text / age thing.

I used to take the mick out of various friends and family when they couldn't see the TV remote.....couldn't believe that would ever happen to me.....

Little did I know....
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 10:50 AM   #19
em0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Default

Yes please, readable (or better, customizable) fonts in preferences and fx windows etc would be really appreciated. By the way, in the Linux version you can just adjust these fonts in reaper.ini, it seems to be a real windows issue.
em0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 01:07 PM   #20
em0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Default

I meant libSwell.colortheme rather than reaper.ini if anyone is interested in tweaking font sizes really easily in linux, see: https://forums.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=226178 . Would be really great if the Windows version could keep up with the Linux version -- that's something you don't hear too often...
em0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:29 AM   #21
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...9&postcount=18
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:30 AM   #22
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartD View Post



The only negative (For me) is how ridiculously freaking tiny the Reaper FX/Media/Preferences menus are. I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

To be in my sweet spot (About 6 feet away from a 32 inch monitor and NOT be able to clearly read (Nor scale) the Reaper menu font is a big downer.

I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

The ability to change/ scale menu font would be an long overdue relief.
Can I ask what theme / font you're using here? Really like it!
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 01:00 PM   #23
oneammonday
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 64
Default

Yes here also. My eyes are getting worse by the minute, it seems. Please and thank you.
oneammonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 02:15 PM   #24
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:44 PM   #25
Meo-Ada Mespotine
Human being with feelings
 
Meo-Ada Mespotine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Leipzig
Posts: 2,657
Default

I would add not only fontsize but the font and font style too.

Some may be able to read serifed fonts better, others need bold, others prefer monotyped fonts who are better to read for small letters like in words like "ill".
__________________
Use you/she/her.Ultraschall-Api Lua Api4Reaper
Bugreports&Docs notes please do here:https://github.com/Ultraschall/ultra...-reaper/issues - Donate, if you wish
Meo-Ada Mespotine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 03:46 AM   #26
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 10,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meo-Ada Mespotine View Post
I would add not only fontsize but the font and font style too.

Some may be able to read serifed fonts better, others need bold, others prefer monotyped fonts who are better to read for small letters like in words like "ill".
Consolas is my go to font so yes font type is important
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2020, 09:53 AM   #27
Troy
Human being with feelings
 
Troy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Western Hemisphere
Posts: 377
Default

This absolutely needs to be addressed. I'm so tired of dealing with software that I can't see or have to modify my entire system resolution to interact with. Adobe apps suffer from the same issue.

It was somewhat easier when you could change system font sizes in Windows but they've removed that feature and completely ignored the uproar it caused. Their "solution" is display scaling. With that, my 2560x1440 monitor is basically a blown-up 1920x1080 with no real estate gain.

I've discovered that the default Reaper 6 theme sizing doesn't work if you have Windows Display Scaling enabled. There is no change at all when switching between 100%, 150%, 200%, etc.

One trick that some of you might benefit from is using AutoHotKey (AHK) to create quick access to the Windows Magnifier. I have my middle mouse button set to bring up the Magnifier when needed.

https://www.autohotkey.com/

I any devs are reading this can you PLEASE take it seriously? I think vision impairment is ignored if the programmers don't suffer from it. I guarantee you that if a top level dev had to deal with the inability to read the tiny font sizes on everything that it would have been dealt with from the start.
Troy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 01:44 AM   #28
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coachz View Post
:-) !!!!
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2020, 04:46 AM   #29
ramses
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,013
Default

+1 from me as well.
ramses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 07:23 AM   #30
nocturn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 46
Default

yes please make editing the font size in the fx list window and media explorer possible. wasted a week trying to find an option in reaper and windows to no avail. this thread is my only hope.
nocturn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:39 AM   #31
Philbo King
Human being with feelings
 
Philbo King's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2,527
Default

I used the theme tweaker dialog and changed all the Walter fonts that had a font less than 10 to be at 10. It helped quite a bit. But don't go crazy with it, it's possible to set the font bigger than the screen space the text has, then the text gets clipped. Kinda like audio peaks in that way...
__________________
Tangent Studio - Philbo King
www.soundclick.com/philboking - stream music
www.facebook.com/philboking - gigs and news
Philbo King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 08:53 AM   #32
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,476
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StewartD View Post



The only negative (For me) is how ridiculously freaking tiny the Reaper FX/Media/Preferences menus are. I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

To be in my sweet spot (About 6 feet away from a 32 inch monitor and NOT be able to clearly read (Nor scale) the Reaper menu font is a big downer.

I literally have to move closer just to browse plugins, change buffer sizes, or sample rates.

The ability to change/ scale menu font would be an long overdue relief.
StewartD, what font (and also theme) is it, please?
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2020, 09:45 AM   #33
permeke
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 316
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
StewartD, what font (and also theme) is it, please?
me too
permeke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2020, 06:04 PM   #34
kdulcet
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Posts: 2
Default ReaperReaders

This forum post may help some of the people in this thread. It's an extension that allows you to adjust the normally unconfigurable system font:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=241546

That said, in my opinion it would be ideal to have this addressed in the actual DAW and not by an extension. I have my Media Explorer set to the side Docker and the Tempo Match, Pitch, Rate and Volume UI overlap significantly in the bottom panel. I've noticed floating FX window has similar but more mild issues, too, when using this extension. It would be great to see an official feature added that smooths the whole experience out and integrates it into the preferences.
Attached Images
File Type: png overlapping UI.png (13.5 KB, 99 views)

Last edited by kdulcet; 12-29-2020 at 06:48 PM.
kdulcet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2020, 07:03 PM   #35
FarfadetFarfelu
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 49
Default

Hello, i'm also interested in larger fonts availability for the mixer, for a laptop live situation where things need to be super readable.
FarfadetFarfelu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2021, 02:47 AM   #36
mozart999uk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 960
Default

Just giving this a little bump.

Please devs :-)
mozart999uk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 09:35 AM   #37
EManBass
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 135
Default

Another bump. I've tried soooo many things, the best compromise I've found is to scale my displays to 175% and make icons small on my computer (Windows 10). Works great, except that certain plugins, and even some programs, don't scale at all so I have to momentarily re-scale one of my displays just to use those. It'd be nice to have the option within Reaper.
EManBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2021, 10:58 AM   #38
otsoa
Human being with feelings
 
otsoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: France_var
Posts: 384
Default

Large font on browser please !
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/onde_hurlante

windows10 Pro x64 - Ryzen 7 3700x - 32Go RAM - ASRock B550M Pro4 - Asus Geforce GTX 980Ti
otsoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2021, 02:49 PM   #39
Markcastle_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 17
Default

So?
Any news about font resize?
Markcastle_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2021, 04:39 AM   #40
em0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Default changing font sizes with Reaper Reader extension

I saw this was mentioned above already, but just wanted to add for anyone with low vision stumbling on this thread that this extension at https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=241546 downloadable from https://analogdessert.com/downloads/reaper-readers/ completely solves the problem discussed in this thread (tiny, uncustomizable fx dialogs, preference windows etc). I didn't look at how he achieves this, maybe it's not completely optimal in some technical sense, but at least it makes reaper workable for me without windows magnifier.
em0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.