Old 11-14-2017, 10:23 AM   #1
cjewellstudios
Human being with feelings

Default Reaper Midi Control path

Is there a way to force a midi controller to any channel other than chan 1 of the control path?

I have a tc64 I use for actions (which is awesome btw) and i'd eventually like to get another one. Anyhow, I also have a nanopad that I used to try and sort this issue out. I enabled the nanopad for control in the prefs but it also comes in on chan 1 when you set it for an action.

I've fiddled with miditoreacontrolpath (butchering that name probably) and disabled the controllers for control, but I can't seem to get reaper to even see a message that isn't on channel one. I also tried the midi channel router (also forget the exact name of that reaper plugin), I thought I was on to something there but was unsuccessful.

Maybe one of you fine fellows/ladies has some guidance for me.
cjewellstudios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 07:25 PM   #2
Time Waster

I'm no expert on MIDI controllers, but I would think that you need to set the MIDI channel on the controller, not in REAPER. It's unlikely that the controllers will be transmitting on all channels simultaneously and the default channel is most likely going to be channel 1, which could be why you can't get REAPER to see messages on any other channel. That's my guess anyway, assuming I understand your question.
Old 11-14-2017, 07:51 PM   #3
cjewellstudios

Quote:
Originally Posted by Time Waster View Post
I'm no expert on MIDI controllers, but I would think that you need to set the MIDI channel on the controller, not in REAPER. It's unlikely that the controllers will be transmitting on all channels simultaneously and the default channel is most likely going to be channel 1, which could be why you can't get REAPER to see messages on any other channel. That's my guess anyway, assuming I understand your question.
Thank you very much for responding man!