Old 06-21-2018, 12:26 PM   #1
Cirenah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Default Initializing Main Window Freeze: VST related

Hi, reaper is currently frozen for me and I'm 90% sure this is because it's trying to load up a vst, alter ego, while loading up my most recent project. I'm wondering how I should go about fixing this issue, or at the very least, how can I open reaper without opening my last project, so that I won't have to deal with alter ego loading in?
Cirenah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 12:33 PM   #2
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,183
Default

If you're on Windows, try to launch Reaper with the 'create new project' shortcut in the Windows Start menu:




You can change the startup behavior inside Reaper via Preferences > General > Startup settings: Open project(s) on startup: (set it to [New Project] or [Prompt]).
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 01:21 PM   #3
Cirenah
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 14
Default

Hi, I couldnt access that window, but I did realize I could open up a different recent project so I did that. Thank you very much anyhow
Cirenah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 01:37 PM   #4
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4,183
Default

Just as an additional side note:

There's also an Open with FX offline (recovery mode) checkbox available at the bottom of the File > Open project window which can be useful in certain cases.
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2019, 08:25 AM   #5
DarkVince
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 1
Default

Hi, I'm experiencing the same kind of problem with the new V6.0x version. Let me explain a bit more...
I've been using version 5.X 32 bit on Windows 10 till now and everything was working fine. I created a template song with all routings and plug-ins and it has always been ok.
With the new version 6.0 or 6.02, when I want to close a project, the "Initializing..." Windows freezes immediately and Reaper no longer responds...I have to kill it from the task manager which is not very friendly.
I think it may come from a VST plug-in load/unload and/or time response because if I created a new project from sratch with only Kontakt for example, it works.
Before I'm going into a long process trying to recreate my template track by track until the problem occurs again, I was wondering if any of you (the super users here) have an idea or have experienced this since version 6?
Thanks!
DarkVince is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.