Old 02-04-2020, 01:22 AM   #1
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
Default ReaEQ: Parallel mode for Bandpass

Would be handy every once in a while if you want to band-pass multiple bands from the same signal. Having a parallel mode available for the bandpass would allow you to have the bands in the same EQ without them filtering each other out.

Useful for, for instance, creating quirky filter automation, such as a vowel filter.
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 03:43 AM   #2
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 965
Default

Maybe parallel is not the word your´re looking for here! Parallel processing means you have the same signal on a different track ( bus for example) to process and combine with the original one.
From what i understood , your request is in the same ReaEQ set all bands to band pass and move them together, changing the frequency , right ? If so you could to that in a couple ways, automation lanes for each frequency and automate equally the frequency or you can use a script for that. I know there is a script in reapack (cant remember who´s the author) that you can change value of the same parameter of the same plugin across multiple tracks that have that plugin inserted. Maybe there is one to a single plugin and for multi parameters.
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 04:11 AM   #3
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Parallel processing means you have the same signal on a different track ( bus for example) to process and combine with the original one.
That's exactly what I'm looking for. If you have, for example, a 200 Hz band pass and 800 Hz band pass with narrow bandwidth set up serially (one after the other), no signal gets through, because they filter each other out. If they are set up in parallel, you can hear the 200 Hz and 800 Hz bands together.

You could use ReaFIR to draw a pass-through for multiple bands, but these cannot be automated.

You could set up an effect to output the dry signal to multiple channels, then chain single bandpass ReaEQs to operate on each channel pair and output back to 1-2, but that's a bit clunky.

Or, you could send the same signal to multiple tracks and have a single band pass in each, then mix them together. But that's more clunky.

Last edited by Skaven252; 02-11-2020 at 04:33 AM.
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2020, 04:42 AM   #4
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
Default

Here's a parallel bandpass done with multiple effects (one dummy to split to 6 channels, then a single band ReaEQ in each channel pair, then a 3-band Joiner to mix them back together).

Would be handier if you could do this all in just one ReaEQ, with a convenient "parallel mode" checkbox for the Band Pass.
Attached Files
File Type: zip parallel_bandpass.zip (1.6 KB, 8 views)
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 04:14 AM   #5
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 965
Default

I get it.
What plugin you know that is capable of doing such process? ProQ-3 fabfilter ?
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 04:18 AM   #6
pepe44
Human being with feelings
 
pepe44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Portugal
Posts: 965
Default

Take a look at this thread, maybe a good feature for the Eq:

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=213501
__________________
Intel core i7 6700K - socket 1151 LGA - Chipset z170 - 16G DDR4 - Nvidia GTX 1060
pepe44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 05:07 AM   #7
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
What plugin you know that is capable of doing such process? ProQ-3 fabfilter ?
Fabfilter doesn't do it AFAIK, but the MeldaProduction MFilter can do it. And it's got a pretty neat vowel filter preset as well, that makes use of parallel bandpasses.

Last edited by Skaven252; 02-12-2020 at 05:14 AM.
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 05:16 AM   #8
Skaven252
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepe44 View Post
Take a look at this thread, maybe a good feature for the Eq:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=213501
That looks really cool.

Side note: Parallel mode is only really useful with a band pass (or rather, multiple band passes). If you use it with a peak, notch, shelf, or hi/lo pass it's a bit moot.
Skaven252 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.