Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2019, 01:15 PM   #441
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 22,924
Default

@julian - just letting you know after the latest update to your scripts and API, there is no more flickering AT ALL on my computer here.


Thank you!
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 01:19 PM   #442
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapero View Post
I guess the Arch&Tilt script on this thread does something similar but i find it very confusing to work with.
Please let me know if anything is unclear and should be explained better.

Arch/Tilt should work very straightforward, as this GIF demonstrates. Between Arch/Tilt and Stretch/Compress, you can do everything and much more than Cubase's CC Editor can:



Quote:
Originally Posted by reapero View Post
Have i missed a script that does this in a more convenient way than the VelocityTool script?
Yes - the js_Mouse editing scripts!


Quote:
Originally Posted by reapero View Post
Would there be any interest in the community to have such a script?
I would be disappointed if (m)any in the community would prefer a Cubase-clone tool. I regard Cubase's CC Editor as outdated and limited, and my scripts are intended to be more elegant and far more powerful.

AFAIK, for example, Cubase's CC Editor can only do plain linear tilts and flat compressions. SONAR's Transform Tool is more advanced, as it can can do warping, and has a nifty "soft mode" (which inspired my "Tilt to chased values" script).


Quote:
Originally Posted by reapero View Post
In case this isnt avalable yet..is this now more easily doable than a year ago?
Indeed. At long last, after lots and lots of work, with the recent versions of the ReaScriptAPI extension, a "Transform Tool" with transparent overlay and mouse control is now fully doable.

I have already written a basic Transform Tool script, but I see little value in it. There are two main objections:

* Inconsistency: REAPER is quite shortcut-oriented, and nowhere else does REAPER use Transform Tools with overlaid graphics. MIDI notes, audio stretch markers, automation lanes, etc. all require editing that is just as complex as CC editing. NOTE: When Sexan completes his fantastic new Area Selection scripts, this objection will fall away.

* The biggest problem: messy interface: I haven't yet found a satisfactory way to pack all editing functions into one UI. Note that, besides my own scripts, there are also REAPER's native functions such as "Move in one direction" and "Linear ramp". (Any suggestions would be appreciated.)

Last edited by juliansader; 05-17-2019 at 01:29 PM.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 08:16 AM   #443
reapero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 161
Default

Thanks Julian, really appreciate the detailed answer.

I guess my main problem is i come from more than a dozen years of experience using Cubase and all of my Reaper prefs and settings mimic Cubase for the most part.

I really could get by easily with the limitations on Cubase so i dont really feel the need of the cool and nifty features on your scripts. I miss however left dragging to do tilt or scale (as you do everywhere else in Reaper and any other soft) and i also miss a "one to rule them all" phylosophy instead of having different scripts to do specific stuff. Less options, more efficiency...classic thing popping up with Reaper, isnt it?

I´ll give Tilt&Arch + Stretch/ Compress another run and try to overcome my left dragging syndrome.

Sexan´s Area selection seems so close now though..that would really make it for me. Other users also mentioned about using it in the midi editor.

Thanks for all your help and contributions to the forum and community!
reapero is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:20 AM   #444
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 385
Default

Hi, juliansader. About your MIDI Inspector.
The script says: "ME_TextColor = nil -- Color in RRGGBB format".
I didn't know what RRGGBB is, so I've searched...
Typing in values like E0E0E0 or #E0E0E0 or 0xE0E0E0 instead of nil either doesn't change the text color or brings up the error message window:
"js_MIDI Inspector.lua:165: attempt to get length of a number value"
or "malformed" something.

Could you give some examples of that line with text color other than nil?

Last edited by AugerJ; 06-07-2019 at 12:30 AM.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 12:44 AM   #445
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,573
Default

0xE0E0E0 is the correct format for Lua hexadecimal values.

However, in the most recent version of the script, you don't need to edit the script file to change the color of the text that is displayed in the MIDI editor -- instead, just right-click on the Inspector in the MIDI editor, and go to "Font settings" in the context menu. (The same dialog should also pop up when you first run the new version.)
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 01:24 AM   #446
AugerJ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 385
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juliansader View Post
0xE0E0E0 is the correct format for Lua hexadecimal values.

However, in the most recent version of the script, you don't need to edit the script file to change the color of the text that is displayed in the MIDI editor -- instead, just right-click on the Inspector in the MIDI editor, and go to "Font settings" in the context menu. (The same dialog should also pop up when you first run the new version.)
Thanks.
In AARRGGBB format (on the right-click - Font settings)
I typed in 0xFFE0E0E0 for zero transparency...
0x80E0E0E0, 0xCCE0E0E0, 0x1AE0E0E0 and 0x00E0E0E0 don't seem to affect transparency though.
AugerJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 10:25 AM   #447
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AugerJ View Post
Thanks.
In AARRGGBB format (on the right-click - Font settings)
I typed in 0xFFE0E0E0 for zero transparency...
0x80E0E0E0, 0xCCE0E0E0, 0x1AE0E0E0 and 0x00E0E0E0 don't seem to affect transparency though.
This is due to an idiosyncratic way that Windows' native window-rendering functions interpret alpha values (compared to Linux, Photoshop, etc): On Windows, RRGGBB values are not "alpha-multiplied" while rendering, so you have to do it yourself.

In alpha-multiplication, the R, G and B values are each multiplied with the (normalized) alpha value, so for example if you want to change the alpha of 0xFFFF0000 to 0xCC, then the RR values must also change: 0xCCCC0000.

EDIT: Uploaded new version 1.56 that does automatic alpha-premultiplication.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:33 AM   #448
Dafarkias
Human being with feelings
 
Dafarkias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: England
Posts: 75
Default

Hi!

Big fan of all you do for Reaper JS.

Just wanted to say that I'm having a little less-than-deal behavior with Arch and Tilt, both the mouse editing version and "events in lane" version.

I'm not sure when your most recent update to these scripts have been, but even after updating my ReaPack, I'm showing v3.23 for Arch&Tilt in lane, and v4.20 for the mouse editing version.

They are both performing similarly, kindof jumping and glitching about, sometimes its ok and other times not.

I'd be more than happy to upload a video demonstration.
Dafarkias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:53 AM   #449
juliansader
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
Both the mouse editing version and "events in lane" version.

I'm not sure when your most recent update to these scripts have been, but even after updating my ReaPack, I'm showing v3.23 for Arch&Tilt in lane, and v4.20 for the mouse editing version.
You can safely delete the old "events in lane" version.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
They are both performing similarly, kindof jumping and glitching about, sometimes its ok and other times not.
Note that the script tries to arch the CC under the mouse (or immediately to the left of the mouse) towards the mouse position, so if the CCs themselves are jumpy (for example, a square LFO), then the arching will also be jumpy while you move the mouse smoothly left and right.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dafarkias View Post
I'd be more than happy to upload a video demonstration.
Please do upload a video demonstration.
juliansader is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.