Old 02-09-2010, 08:47 AM   #1
Rome
Human being with feelings
 
Rome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavromula Beta
Posts: 154
Default Virtual Keyboard and QWERTZ key layout

I've noticed this on several computers with a (german) QWERTZ keyboard layout:

The 'Z' and the 'Y' keys are swapped when playing REAPER's virtual keyboard with a computer keyboard.

This is just a minor annoyance, not really a showstopper.
Rome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 08:51 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,888
Default

You need to create a text file and put it where other Reaper .ini files are (are you on Win or Mac?). The file needs to be called reaper-vkbmap.txt, and needs to look something like this:

Y -12 ; C
S -11 ; C#
X -10 ; D
D -9 ; D#
C -8 ; E
V -7 ; F
G -6 ; F#
B -5 ; G
H -4 ; G#
N -3 ; A
J -2 ; A#
M -1 ; B
, 0 ; C
Q 0 ; C
L +1 ; C#
2 +1 ; C#
W +2 ; D
190 +2 ; D
3 +3 ; D#
232 +3 ; D#
E +4 ; E
189 +4 ; E
R +5 ; F
5 +6 ; F#
T +7 ; G
6 +8 ; G#
Z +9 ; A
7 +10 ; A#
U +11 ; B
I +12 ; C
9 +13 ; C#
O +14 ; D
0 +15 ; D#
P +16 ; E
188 +17 ; F
187 +18 ; F#
221 +19 ; G


This is for Croatian keyboards (and there are STILL some keys not working!!!). There's a file for German keyboards, lemme find it...

There it is for Germans (I hope):

> -12 ; C
Z -12 ; C
S -11 ; C#
X -10 ; D
D -9 ; D#
C -8 ; E
V -7 ; F
G -6 ; F#
B -5 ; G
H -4 ; G#
N -3 ; A
J -2 ; A#
M -1 ; B
, 0 ; C
Q 0 ; C
L +1 ; C#
2 +1 ; C#
W +2 ; D
190 +2 ;D
3 +3 ; D#
186 +3 ;D#
E +4 ; E
191 +4 ;E
R +5 ; F
5 +6 ; F#
T +7 ; G
6 +8 ; G#
Y +9 ; A
7 +10 ; A#
U +11 ; B
I +12 ; C
9 +13 ; C#
O +14 ; D
0 +15 ; D#
P +16 ; E
219 +17 ;F
187 +18 ;F#
221 +19 ;G




I agree this support should be BUILT INTO REAPER AS A PREFERENCE, not as a user created file, most of users don't even know this is possible.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:05 AM   #3
Ollie
Super Moderator (no feelings)
 
Ollie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On or near a dike
Posts: 9,744
Default

Or download the german reaper-vkbmap.txt from here: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...6&postcount=16
Ollie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:38 AM   #4
Rome
Human being with feelings
 
Rome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stavromula Beta
Posts: 154
Default

I've searched the forum but did not see this one. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You need to create a text file and put it where other Reaper .ini files are (are you on Win or Mac?). The file needs to be called reaper-vkbmap.txt, and needs to look something like this:
That worked for me. Thank you very much. So this is a feature and not a bug - good to know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There it is for Germans (I hope)
Almost. After a bit of experimentation I came up with exactly the same map that Steindork just posted. I've just added the low B in my version:

226 -13 ; B <

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I agree this support should be BUILT INTO REAPER AS A PREFERENCE, not as a user created file, most of users don't even know this is possible.
I was one of them. I don't think that it will be possible for Cockos to include every possible combination with REAPER. But a (simple) learn function would surely help a lot.
Rome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 10:50 AM   #5
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 23,888
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rome View Post
I don't think that it will be possible for Cockos to include every possible combination with REAPER.
It's possible, because all keyboard layouts are widely known. You can see them on Wikipedia, if not anywhere else.

So, this should pose no problem for Cockos to import!
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2010, 07:11 PM   #6
marcus82
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 189
Default the new key map is giving me a headache

it doesn't at all resemble the way a piano keyboard is set up. The sharps and flats are on the same level on the qwerty as the natural notes.

please get this fixed. I also cannot find the key map file on my vista system.
marcus82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.