Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 04-14-2021, 09:35 AM   #1
Winko
Human being with feelings

Default I ask about latency, editing issue, hardware, suggestions

Hi

I'm not a total newbie. I've been having some fun with sound editing back in the 90's, but I know like 1% of how sound editing looks like now and how to use Reaper. Hope you excuse me asking so much at once.

--- Latency
-------------------

Is using a virtual instrument instead of MIDI differs in terms of latency? I mean using your PC's keyboard. And can a 5$ cheap QWERTY keyboard affect it? Will I see an improvement when I connect a music keyboard or drum set through MIDI - MIDI-to-USB converter - PC?
I'd like to have no latency when creating, playing live, but also I'd like to be able to record it properly.
What "all track metering" checkbox does exactly?

I saw a youtuber saying you should toggle this (all track metering) to compromise between playback latency and recording.

Can different virtual instrument plugins have different playback latency? I think there's more latency in a free bass instrument I've installed, compared to others.

A modern PC has gigabytes of memory, so I understand the size of the sound files are not a problem, but does the quality or lenght matter? For example, if I load an hour long sound file as a virtual instrument. Would that affect latency in any way?
And if I insert a sound file into Reaper track, does it matter what type of file it was? I would assume it should uncompress everything when adding the file?

Is Asio4all inferior compared to "real" Asio? Maybe I should just use a retro PC with windows XP and audigy 2 for "proper" Asio? Or maybe it completetly doesn't matter? I'm afraid the topic is complicated, with various OSes, various motherboard vendors, USB controllers, APIs etc. etc.

Right now it says 6.6ms in my upper right corner of Reaper window