Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > JSFX and ReaScript Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2016, 12:58 PM   #41
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,601
Default

darn... I wish could understand how to use this...

anyone tutor me a little? something simple like just reaeq on one track for starters

thanks for your help

EDIT: OK got some of it by reading carefully the readme file... but still do not understand the
sequencer part.....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain

Last edited by hopi; 12-10-2016 at 01:31 PM.
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 02:26 PM   #42
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
darn... I wish could understand how to use this...

anyone tutor me a little? something simple like just reaeq on one track for starters

thanks for your help

EDIT: OK got some of it by reading carefully the readme file... but still do not understand the
sequencer part.....
Ok - quick explanation.

Target slot - this is the fx plugin state that the sequence step is travelling toward.

Morph Time - How quickly the step reaches the target slot (in bars/beats)

Step shape - curve used for the transition. Tri = linear, Sine = sine etc.

Step Rebound - Whether the step resets to beginning when it reaches the target or bounces back (reverses direction)

Step length - how long the step lasts in bars/beats. So if the step length is shorter than the morph time - the target slot is never reached before moving to next step. If step length is longer then the fx plugin state will either hold position until the end of the step - or if loop is set (4th button in row under morph time bar) - the morph will continue (either bouncing back towards previous fx plugin state - or resetting to previous state and travelling towards the target slot again - depending on Rebound setting for the step). With loop set - the morph is always travelling somewhere - and won't hold position.

Start slot - this forces the step to start at the specified fx param state, regardless of where the morph finishes for the previous state.

So basically - it's not like a traditional sequencer as each step length can be different.

Each Preset (P1..P2..P3 etc) has 4 sequencers (only one can be running at a time)

Seq Loop - loops the sequence when it reaches the end - so will run forever until you stop it.

Spd 1x/2x etc - simply a multiplier that effects the speed the seequence is run at.

Play group - adding a sequence to a play group allows you to trigger many sequences at once (using the >1 >2 buttons)

The yellow BAR/BEAT/OFF selector means when you trigger a sequence - it should start on the beat or bar - or simply as soon as you click the play button, click the auto morph slot.

Stutter/Smooth - essentially inserts a delay between each morph iteration - so the transitions become stuttery or smoother.

IMPORTANT - the morph sequences are always run on the right-hand side A-H + R (random) slots - so if you have the yellow morph fader bar over to the left - the sequence will have no effect. Move the bar towards the right-hand slots - then the sequence will be interpolated with the selected slot on the left hand side. Move the morph slider completely right - and the sequence will be fully realised (not interpolated with the chosen left hand A-H + R slot...


Hope this helps a bit. I've gone from memory and haven't really played much with it since I started Stripper - so I may have made a mistake in my explanation!!
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 05:43 PM   #43
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,601
Default

lb0... thanks as ever... I'll try to do what you say...

I do understand Stripper has taken you away ... well hey, that is what Strippers do ain't it? LoL

Yet I also think when you can, this lua is worth more love.
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 06:37 PM   #44
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Have you examples how you use this tool?


My favourite parameter to morph would be simply the WET parameters of n fx! Then you would not destroy any sound, only changing their amounts, for creating variety, against boringness.



Can we midi map the crossfader?
Sorry - completely missed this post. Sorry I didn't reply sooner.

Yes - the crossfader can be midi controlled. You need to get the lbx input morph script from the chaos engine github page - load this into the action list and assign a midi controller to run it. Then that midi controller will control the crossfader, which I assume can then be recorded into an automation lane and drawn in also if required.

As yet - no examples other than the initial video. I plan to continue development of this script once I get to a decent 'leave it there' v1 point for the Stripper script.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 04:59 AM   #45
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Just found this amazing thing ! Pretty wild stuff one can make with this .
Thanks !

I seem to be having some problems with saving from the L/S option, get an error when saving. So I cannot load either.
When opened with the same vst in another project I have to set everything up again.

Any plans on finishing this
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun

Last edited by Arnar; 12-21-2017 at 05:10 AM.
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 05:19 AM   #46
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
Just found this amazing thing ! Pretty wild stuff one can make with this .
Thanks !

I seem to be having some problems with saving from the L/S option, get an error when saving. So I cannot load either.
When opened with the same vst in another project I have to set everything up again.

Any plans on finishing this
Have fun with it
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 06:41 AM   #47
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

In this and MPL randomize there is the "All except protected" how can I make parameters protected ?

Also , am I doing something wrong with the saving with the L/S or is it just how you left it ?
If I could save settings per synth , I would use this all the time.
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 06:48 AM   #48
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
In this and MPL randomize there is the "All except protected" how can I make parameters protected ?

Also , am I doing something wrong with the saving with the L/S or is it just how you left it ?
If I could save settings per synth , I would use this all the time.
Sorry - I missed half your previous post.

Not sure what's wrong with the save and load - will check when I get the chance. It certainly has worked in the past...

What error are you getting?
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 07:12 AM   #49
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

When I try and save I get this message "...EAPER\Scripts\LBXChaosEngine-master\LBX Chaos Engine.lua:282: attempt to index a nil value (local 'file')"

It does not save and therefore will not load either, so I have to set it up every time. The save with project works fine.

If you plan to work on this I have a couple of suggestions , it would be nice to be able to save multiple presets per instrument , for example on for going completely nuts and perhaps one a bit more conservative.

Also , and this one would be very cool ..after setting up the parameters to morph its great to switch presets and see how it affects a different preset but for that to work one should be able to push "Get focused fx " again to get the settings for a newly selected preset as the base "A".

The way it is now , A holds settings from the initial "get focused fx" and applies that as soon as the slider is moved.

Having said that , I would be happy to be able to save

This would be the correct install path ?
C:\Users\HaZaR\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Scripts\LBXC haosEngine-master

ps..all except protected ? how can I protect things ?
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 07:21 AM   #50
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
When I try and save I get this message "...EAPER\Scripts\LBXChaosEngine-master\LBX Chaos Engine.lua:282: attempt to index a nil value (local 'file')"

It does not save and therefore will not load either, so I have to set it up every time. The save with project works fine.

If you plan to work on this I have a couple of suggestions , it would be nice to be able to save multiple presets per instrument , for example on for going completely nuts and perhaps one a bit more conservative.

Also , and this one would be very cool ..after setting up the parameters to morph its great to switch presets and see how it affects a different preset but for that to work one should be able to push "Get focused fx " again to get the settings for a newly selected preset as the base "A".

The way it is now , A holds settings from the initial "get focused fx" and applies that as soon as the slider is moved.

Having said that , I would be happy to be able to save

This would be the correct install path ?
C:\Users\HaZaR\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Scripts\LBXC haosEngine-master

ps..all except protected ? how can I protect things ?
ah - my path is:

C:\Users\Leon\AppData\Roaming\REAPER\Scripts\LBX

Place the script in that folder (your username obv) - and save should work ok.

Will get back to you about other questions when I've got a mo....
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 10:16 AM   #51
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Excellent ! This works.

As for my suggestions , adding the ability to capture the "A" whenever , for the purpose of being able to change the main preset would be very cool, but even cooler would be to be able to capture the plugin setting whenever and into whatever slot.
That way you can just capture presets and morph between them rather then only having the random function.

After trying a bit more , that seems to be exactly the way it works.


Also , how do I bind the input morph to a midi controller , I am not getting a menu or seeing anything when I open/start the input script.

This is quite literally insane being able to do this , the sound design possibilities !
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun

Last edited by Arnar; 12-21-2017 at 11:11 AM.
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 10:49 AM   #52
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
Excellent ! This works.

As for my suggestions , adding the ability to capture the "A" whenever , for the purpose of being able to change the main preset would be very cool, but even cooler would be to be able to capture the plugin setting whenever and into whatever slot.
That way you can just capture presets and morph between them rather then only having the random function.
OK - you want to be able to capture the plugins current parameter values directly into any of the slots?

That would be pretty easy to add - but will need to go over the code a few times (haven't worked on this one for over a year!).

When I get some time I'll look into. At the moment I have two other scripts also with requests outstanding - and not a lot of free time - but will gladly look at when that time becomes available
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:00 AM   #53
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
Also , how do I bind the input morph to a midi controller , I am not getting a menu or seeing anything when I open/start the input script.
The LBXInput_Morph script should be loaded into your actions list. Then simply bind that script to a midi (or osc) control messaage from the external controller.

Then the bound control will trigger the script. This then stores it's value which the choas engine script picks up.

It's a primitive solution but one of the only one's available - and it works. But don't expect any sort of sample accuracy. As with all Lua scripts - there is latency caused by the polling of the scripts runloop, which is small but can be noticed on fast morph changes - if you are expecting a snap change to happen exactly on the beat - you probably won't get it bang in time - but you can record the automation and adjust it if needs be. For many tasks it isn't a problem.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 11:32 AM   #54
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Personally I think I would prefer to use this for one fx at a time and be able to print the automation, it seems you disabled it because of that ?
Also , the sequencer is always free-running which makes it hard to get a properly repeated pattern
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun

Last edited by Arnar; 12-21-2017 at 11:40 AM.
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 01:10 PM   #55
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Sweet , working! Although I am not sure how to record this automation.
Sry if I am being daft , say I use a mod wheel , record it where ?
Its not on a track ? :P


Just discovered crossfading between two settings and capturing that.

Gamechanger for me.

Thanks so much for this awesome script.
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2017, 03:56 PM   #56
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
Sweet , working! Although I am not sure how to record this automation.
Sry if I am being daft , say I use a mod wheel , record it where ?
Its not on a track ? :P


Just discovered crossfading between two settings and capturing that.

Gamechanger for me.

Thanks so much for this awesome script.
Glad you've worked some of it out.

Yes - not sure if it's possible to capture the crossfader as automation. I know how it can be done (using a dummy jsfx like in Stripper) - so will consider adding that as an option to enable external control.

If the sequencer is free running (been a while since I used it I admit) - I've done a similar thing with modulation on the Stripper script - but which sticks to project position - so might be able to incorporate that too.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 06:54 AM   #57
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

For now I can record the output as audio or just use it to make new presets.
If you ever update it I guess recording the automation would be the number one concern for me , either recording the crossfader or just the whole automation.

Thanks again for this amazing plug.

PS...
Now working on a song and I would kill to be able to record what I am doing , donate possible ? I am willing to pay for it
Recording the complete automation or -just the crossfader and which slot is in use would be killer. Or recordin the crossfader and which slot and then writing that to automation would be the ultimate solution.

I literally have no way of achieving these sound without this and now I am hungry ! haha LOL
Again personally I would only use this for one instrument at a time an then write automation if that makes it easier ?
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun

Last edited by Arnar; 12-22-2017 at 07:07 AM.
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 08:50 AM   #58
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
For now I can record the output as audio or just use it to make new presets.
If you ever update it I guess recording the automation would be the number one concern for me , either recording the crossfader or just the whole automation.

Thanks again for this amazing plug.

PS...
Now working on a song and I would kill to be able to record what I am doing , donate possible ? I am willing to pay for it
Recording the complete automation or -just the crossfader and which slot is in use would be killer. Or recordin the crossfader and which slot and then writing that to automation would be the ultimate solution.

I literally have no way of achieving these sound without this and now I am hungry ! haha LOL
Again personally I would only use this for one instrument at a time an then write automation if that makes it easier ?
Thanks. Well - you can already record the live automation into each parameter's automation lane. Just record enable any you want to capture. Obviously - once you have stuff in the lanes - you then cannot control them from the script unless you set to latch/write or disable them).

Easiest way is to set global automation mode to write or touch. Then play your tracks and use the script live to record the morphing.

I can certainly improve on the recording options. I can add a jsfx slider plugin to trigger the crossfader (possibly even trigger the pads). This will then allow for recording just the script fader movements etc - which can be adjusted if required.
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 11:38 AM   #59
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnar View Post
In this and MPL randomize there is the "All except protected" how can I make parameters protected ?
They are defined inside code, but theoretically can be moved to some ini file for example.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 02:28 PM   #60
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

Its beyond me why everyone isnt all over this script ?
Maybe it just flew under the radar ?

Even without all the automation parts its absolutely unbeatable for making new sounds and just saving them .

At the moment I am using this for Xfer Serum and its incredible.
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2017, 02:47 PM   #61
Arnar
Human being with feelings
 
Arnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Smokie Bay.
Posts: 795
Default

As for the automation , I did try that and it didnt work so I thought it was not working but I will try again.

EDIT: Seems to work now , all is good.
__________________
In Music We Trust.
http://soundcloud.com/hazar
http://soundcloud.com/ifthenrun

Last edited by Arnar; 12-22-2017 at 05:17 PM.
Arnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2018, 06:47 PM   #62
TCT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Default Error message

Just found this plugin! Looks excellent!

I keep getting the following error message when I try to run it, though:

" LBX Chaos Engine.lua:7: unexpected symbol near '<' "

Any ideas?
TCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 12:59 AM   #63
lb0
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TCT View Post
Just found this plugin! Looks excellent!

I keep getting the following error message when I try to run it, though:

" LBX Chaos Engine.lua:7: unexpected symbol near '<' "

Any ideas?
Well - there's no code on line 7 - so that's a corruption issue caused most probably by github.

Please download the file as RAW from github. Open the lua file as RAW and save the page (or copy and paste text into blank document).

Link to RAW version:

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/L-...s%20Engine.lua
__________________
Projects - Reascripts - Lua:
LBX Stripper | LBX Chaos Engine | LBX Floating FX Positioner | LBX SRD Smart Knobs
Donate via Paypal
lb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2018, 04:42 AM   #64
TCT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 9
Default

That worked, thanks! I look forward to exploring this when I get home from work today!
TCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:26 AM   #65
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 13,601
Default

OK well... I can see this is one serious lua... but I'm so dumb that I need a step by step 'how to use it'... guide...

I feel that if Kenny or anyone could provide a little video instruction about how to use it ... just basically... then I could carry on with more complex configs later...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2018, 01:31 AM   #66
ChristopherT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: South
Posts: 295
Default

I'm in awe of this amazing work.
But I am dumb also.

All this needs is a proper in depth "how to " video tutorial

...and then it will take over the world
ChristopherT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.