Old 11-19-2019, 11:08 PM   #1
lokey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 36
Default Touchscreen

Anybody else using a touchscreen monitor with REAPER? How are you liking it? What type of custom buttons have you made to speed up workflow with the touchscreen?
lokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 01:31 AM   #2
n997
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 78
Default

Slightly offtopic - I'm using a non-touch Wacom Cintiq for drawing MIDI etc., which includes some similar workflow concepts regarding buttons.

I've made buttons for many of common shortcuts in MIDI editor etc., as well as actions like "FX: Show/hide track envelope for last touched FX parameter", and some custom actions.

It's an interesting difference between keyboard and mouse-based workflow. Visual-kinetic link of flicking a pen to specific point of the screen can be quite intuitive. Eventually muscle memory develops for bringing hand/pen to specific spots of the screen for specific actions. It's somewhat comparable to getting used to playing an acoustic instrument or using a MIDI controller.

I suspect it's much the same for a touchscreen. If I was setting one up, I'd check which shortcuts, actions and scripts are used most often, and make a toolbar of them. After that, a toolbar for custom actions/scripts of common commands that require more than one mouse move, so that pressing a button on the touchscreen makes the workflow faster.
n997 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2019, 10:08 PM   #3
lokey
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 36
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokey View Post
Anybody else using a touchscreen monitor with REAPER? How are you liking it? What type of custom buttons have you made to speed up workflow with the touchscreen?
There's not anyone using a touchscreen with REAPER besides me?
lokey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 02:27 AM   #4
synkrotron
Human being with feelings
 
synkrotron's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Warrington, UK
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lokey View Post
There's not anyone using a touchscreen with REAPER besides me?
My Surface Pro has a touch screen and I run REAPER on it, but after having a play around with the touch screen to alter faders and what have you I decided it wasn't for me.

Probably down to my fat fingers and the Surface Pro 12" monitor...
__________________
Bandcamp // YouTube // SoundCloud
synkrotron is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2019, 03:15 AM   #5
drummerboy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 84
Default

I use a Slate Raven with Reaper.
Besides Multi-Touch support (multiple fader control) it works like a charm.
drummerboy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:16 PM   #6
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 115
Default

For item editing the handles are not big enough.
Otherwise, everything works just fine.
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 06:27 PM   #7
d. gauss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,420
Default

timely thread as i thought i would be purchasing a nice big touchscreen this month, only to learn:

1) you can't use one hooked up to a mac without 3rd party workaround$

2) reaper mixer can't do multi touch (grab more than one fader at once)

ay yi yi.
d. gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 09:05 PM   #8
HammyHavoc
Human being with feelings
 
HammyHavoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Liverpool, United Kingdom
Posts: 49
Default

If you've not tried it yet, I highly recommend The Reaper Blog's ReaperWRB 2 on an Android tablet, iPad or Surface in the studio. Love it.
__________________
Hammy Havoc | Split An Atom
HammyHavoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 01:09 AM   #9
X. O. Apodo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 117
Default

Just checked the mixer is not multi-touch.
__________________
Multi-touch Monitor, XotoPad 2 and iPad Air as Midi Controllers, iConnectMIDI2+,
Windows 10 64 bit, Reaper 5, Waves Gold, Komplete 11, Iris 2, ZPitchMap, Synthmaster, Some Melda, PSP, SonoKinetic, Eventtide.
X. O. Apodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2019, 09:34 AM   #10
Dragonetti
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kiel
Posts: 115
Default

triggering with your own multi-touch gesture actions, that would be great, but unfortunately only future music
Dragonetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.