Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2019, 02:18 PM   #1
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 58
Default Opening MIDI Editor, and have it focus on range of notes being used

Hi all. Here's my issue: When using a virtual orchestra, when I go to different tracks in the MIDI editor, I have to constantly scroll up or down to find the notes to view/edit. For instance, every time I open the piccolo flute MIDI editor window, I have to scroll up several times to find the notes on the piano roll. As I flip through tons of tracks, the amount of time spent scrolling around to find the note ranges being used adds up.

Is there any way to set the MIDI Editor Window to be set to view the range with notes on it upon opening?

Thanks all for any help you can offer! Always appreciate it.
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 02:53 PM   #2
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,029
Default

Nope, unfortunately there isn't any way to do that
But this gets a huge +1 from me.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 04:12 PM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Obtoose, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,092
Default

to open a MIDI editor, i run this custom action:

Code:
xenakios/sws: Select items under edit cursor on selected tracks
SCRIPT: openMErunMEaction.eel (see below)
where the openME script does this (tailor to your personal zooming needs):

Code:
function do_actions_from_main_and_midi_sections()
(
Main_OnCommand(40153, 0); // MAIN section action 40153: "open selected item in MIDI editor"
active_MIDI_editor = MIDIEditor_GetActive(); // Now the MIDI editor is opened -> get MIDI editor ID

MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor, 40006); // select all events
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor, 40725); // zoom to selected notes
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor, 40466); // zoom to content
MIDIEditor_OnCommand(active_MIDI_editor, 40214); // deselect all
);

do_actions_from_main_and_midi_sections();
in my case, double left clicking an item fires off this custom action, and it zooms to the item contents.

i open and close the midi editor a lot. it's fullscreen on a 14" laptop display.
closing it and entering another midi editor from Arrange lets me zoom automatically to the item contents. i don't think this would work by changing tracks from the Track List
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° can't see what midi is selected when using "color by track"
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 04:18 PM   #4
Klangfarben
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 795
Default

Midi Editor auto-zoom is something I will always +1 when it comes up. It should zoom automatically to the length of the notes in the item as well as vertically to the note range/octave. It should NEVER show a blank area or make the user scroll.

And this is not something that should have to be done with scripts and workarounds either. This should be standard behavior. Always. There is never a time you would not want it to do this automatically.
Klangfarben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 04:27 PM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Obtoose, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,092
Default

what if you're expecting to enter the midi editor at edit cursor position on a track-wide midi item where the only notes at at the end of the track?
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° can't see what midi is selected when using "color by track"
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2019, 07:59 PM   #6
vsthem
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 58
Default

Just found the Zoom to Content action, so I'm just hitting the short cut key every time I open a midi editor. Now I just wish I could add that to my custom action that I have when I double click a track on the TCP Window

Item: Unselect All Items
Screenset: Load Window Set #3
Item: Select All Items in Track
Item: Open in Built in Midi Editor

I'd like to add: Zoom to Content at the end of this....

is there any discussion about removing the barrier between MIDI actions and MAIN Actions? I don't see any purpose to this other than having more key commands available...but it seems like there are plenty of combination keystrokes to accommodate 1 group of universal key commands....
vsthem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2019, 03:14 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Obtoose, U.S.A.
Posts: 2,092
Default

i use an eel script to break that barrier in post 3 above
__________________
° using REAPER as host/arranger/sequencer to write instrumental beat music.
° striving for a loop-based, controller-centric midi recording/editing workflow.
° can't see what midi is selected when using "color by track"
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.