Old 02-24-2017, 07:02 PM   #1
eugen2777
Human being with feelings
 
eugen2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 271
Default Lua: New Function - GetMediaItemTake_Peaks

We are now able to use this?
It definitely will not be changed?
=============
Example:
Code:
min_freq = 80
max_freq = 1000
Thresh_dB = -40
min_tonal = 0.85

------------------------------------------------------------
function Init()
    -- Some gfx Wnd Default Values ---------------
    local Wnd_bgd = 0x0F0F0F  
    local Wnd_Title = "Test"
    local Wnd_Dock,Wnd_X,Wnd_Y = 0,100,320 
    Wnd_W,Wnd_H = 1044,490 -- global values(used for define zoom level)
    -- Init window ------
    gfx.clear = Wnd_bgd         
    gfx.init( Wnd_Title, Wnd_W,Wnd_H, Wnd_Dock, Wnd_X,Wnd_Y )  
end

------------------------------------------------------------
function Peaks_Draw(Peaks)
  local min_note = 69 + 12 * math.log(min_freq/440, 2)
  local max_note = 69 + 12 * math.log(max_freq/440, 2)
  local Thresh = 10 ^ (Thresh_dB/20)
  ----------------------
  local axis = gfx.h * 0.5
  local Ky = gfx.h * 0.5
  local Kn = gfx.h/(max_note-min_note)
  local offs = min_note * Kn
  ----------------------
  local abs, max = math.abs, math.max
  for i = 1, #Peaks, 4 do
    local max_peak, min_peak = Peaks[i], Peaks[i+1]
    local xx = i/4
    gfx.set(0,0.5,0,1)
    gfx.line(xx , axis - max_peak*Ky, xx, axis - min_peak*Ky, true) -- Peaks   
    -------------------- 
    if max(abs(max_peak), abs(min_peak)) > Thresh then
      local freq, tonal = Peaks[i+2], Peaks[i+3]
      local note = 69 + 12 * math.log(freq/440, 2)  
      if tonal >= min_tonal and note >= min_note and note <= max_note then
        gfx.x = xx; gfx.y = gfx.h + offs - note*Kn;
        gfx.setpixel(1,0,0)
      elseif note < min_note then
        gfx.x = xx; gfx.y = gfx.h - 10;
        gfx.setpixel(0,0,1)
      elseif note > max_note then
        gfx.x = xx; gfx.y = 10;
        gfx.setpixel(0,1,1)
      end
    end
  end
   
end
------------------------------------------------------------
function Item_GetPeaks(item)
  if not item then return end
  local take = reaper.GetActiveTake(item)
  if not take or reaper.TakeIsMIDI(take) then return end
  local item_start = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_POSITION")
  local item_len = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_LENGTH")
  local sel_start, sel_end = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange(false, false, 0, 0, false)
  if sel_end - sel_start == 0 then sel_start = item_start; sel_end = item_start + item_len end
  
  local starttime = math.max(sel_start, item_start)
  local len = math.min(sel_end, item_start + item_len) - starttime
  if len <= 0 then return end 
  ------------------
  --PCM_Source = reaper.GetMediaItemTake_Source(take)
  local n_chans = 1   -- I GetPeaks Only from 1 channel!!!
  local peakrate = gfx.w / len
  local n_spls = math.floor(len*peakrate + 0.5) -- its Peak Samples         
  local want_extra_type = 115  -- 's' char
  local buf = reaper.new_array(n_spls * n_chans * 3) -- max, min, spectral each chan(but now 1 chan only)
  buf.clear()         -- Clear buffer
  ------------------
  local retval = reaper.GetMediaItemTake_Peaks(take, peakrate, starttime, n_chans, n_spls, want_extra_type, buf);
  local spl_cnt  = (retval & 0xfffff)        -- sample_count
  local ext_type = (retval & 0x1000000)>>24  -- extra_type was available
  local out_mode = (retval & 0xf00000)>>20   -- output_mode
  ------------------
  local Peaks = {}
  if spl_cnt > 0 and ext_type > 0 then
    for i = 1, n_spls do
      local p = #Peaks
      Peaks[p+1] = buf[i]             -- max peak
      Peaks[p+2] = buf[n_spls + i]    -- min peak
      --------------
      local spectral = buf[n_spls*2 + i]    -- spectral peak
      -- freq and tonality from spectral peak --
      Peaks[p+3] = spectral&0x7fff       -- low 15 bits frequency
      Peaks[p+4] = (spectral>>15)/16384  -- tonality norm value 
    end
  end
  ------------------
  return Peaks
end

---------------------------
function Project_IsChanged()
    local cur_cnt = reaper.GetProjectStateChangeCount(0)
    if cur_cnt ~= proj_change_cnt then proj_change_cnt = cur_cnt
       return true  
    end
end

---------------------------
function main()    
    if Project_IsChanged() then
      gfx.setimgdim(0, 0, 0) -- clear buf 0
      gfx.setimgdim(0, gfx.w, gfx.h)
      gfx.dest = 0; -- set dest buf = 0   
      local item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0, 0) 
      if item then
        local Peaks = Item_GetPeaks(item) 
        if Peaks then Peaks_Draw(Peaks) end
      end 
    end
    -----------
    local img_w, img_h = gfx.getimgdim(0)
    if img_w > 0 and img_h > 0 then
      gfx.a = 1; gfx.dest = -1; gfx.x, gfx.y = 0, 0
      gfx.blit(image, 1, 0, 0, 0, img_w, img_h, 0, 0, gfx.w, gfx.h)
    end
    ----------- 
    char = gfx.getchar() 
    if char == 32 then reaper.Main_OnCommand(40044, 0) end -- play
    if char ~= -1 then reaper.defer(main) end              -- defer       
    -----------  
    gfx.update()
    -----------
end

Init()
main()
__________________
ReaScripts

Last edited by eugen2777; 11-08-2017 at 10:12 AM.
eugen2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2017, 07:39 AM   #2
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

Hi eugen,sorry for offtopic but you got something I really need for a long time. I've modified the script a little to act the way I need but:

How can I draw edit cursor here so it replicates the position from arrange?

I need this "Editing Guide" when editing tracks that are bellow or in the middle of the project and I cannot see the source track. The script needs to "Lock Waveform of selected track" so here is a little gif.

Lets say I've locked the first track "Kick" as GUIDE track, now that waveform stays in the script so I can see it as I edit another track. But I need edit cursor position also to be drawed so I know how much I need to offset the new edit. Hope this makes sence.


Now I only need to see edit cursor too in the script


In your script I only modified the start-end to be arrange window rather than time selection
Code:
sel_start, sel_end = reaper.BR_GetArrangeView(0)
I did not included or coded Lock track yet

Here is the mockup what I need :


Thank you very much!

Last edited by Sexan; 02-25-2017 at 07:50 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 07:18 AM   #3
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

It can be EXTREMELY efficient when optimized even at much higher resolutions by dinamically altering it based on zoom level
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 10:10 AM   #4
eugen2777
Human being with feelings
 
eugen2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Yes, it is very fast, it was just a simple example.
Specifically, as to make it easier.
And do not forget, pay attention to the frequency of the, it's more fun
__________________
ReaScripts
eugen2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 10:28 AM   #5
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

Sorry for writing off topic here,this is the first simple script for waveforms so I've finally learned something about it, thank you very much!

I've removed "not-necessary" code from it to adjust it to my needs (a very very simple waveform viewer),but I have one issue that I do not know yet how to fix

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...dification.lua

At the end of the item weird jiterring begins :

I assume its because there are no more samples at the end so it freaks out like this

And please can you show me how to draw edit cursor in the script (never done that before)?

Once again thank you very much!

Quote:
Originally Posted by eugen2777 View Post
And do not forget, pay attention to the frequency of the, it's more fun
I think I've removed that from the code if you mean "frequency = spec&0x7fff"
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2017, 12:38 PM   #6
eugen2777
Human being with feelings
 
eugen2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Well, I'll look at it tomorrow, I have no time now!
This will be decided!
__________________
ReaScripts
eugen2777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 04:44 AM   #7
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@Sexan
Oh so you are digging an workaround for Track sticking: Can somebody make this real? - Cockos Confederated Forums ?
Track sticking would still be more flexible cause you have all kind of reaper element (text items, colors, notes, gif..) so... don't hesitate to boost this Feature Request !

@eugen

Another code snippet with the function mentionned here :
ReaScripts-Templates/Justin_Get item source frequence and pitch at a certain position.lua at master · ReaTeam/ReaScripts-Templates · GitHub
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2017, 05:31 AM   #8
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

Yeah! I've requested this script few times but noone responded.Thanks for snippet
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2017, 02:12 AM   #9
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

I need to bump this, I need edit cursor position in here but I'm mathematically challenged for that kind of procedure. I managed to render it but its way of the possition

Last edited by Sexan; 03-12-2017 at 02:19 AM.
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 06:05 AM   #10
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Maybe this could be mod to handle my Faint Peak - Overlapping Items FR in some ways. Not as handy as native solution though...


(also, was there any other simple items to waveform gfx script ?)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2018, 06:30 AM   #11
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Here is a small demo:


(thx Eugen for the initial code snippet !)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2018, 07:48 AM   #12
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 4,599
Default

OMG Cant wait!!!!!! This will be perfect for aligning tracks that are not in the view! Thank you!
Sexan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 02:45 AM   #13
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Still experimenting:
  • take color
  • works with selected tracks instead
  • Vertical scale zoom (not shown in demo)
Aligning items at sample level precision seems prety handy with that


Note: sub sample positining isn't necessary. Rendered items with less than one sample shift results in exact same file.

Last edited by X-Raym; 09-30-2018 at 04:26 PM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 04:40 PM   #14
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

  • edit cursor and play cursor
  • filled waveform
  • (not new but out of the box: all item waveform modifications are supported - fades, envelopes, rates)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2018, 04:47 PM   #15
Thonex
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,719
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
  • edit cursor and play cursor
  • filled waveform
  • (not new but out of the box: all item waveform modifications are supported - fades, envelopes, rates)
Very slick mon ami!!
__________________
Cheers... Andrew K
Reaper v6.80+dev0621 - June 21 2023 • Catalina • Mac Mini 2020 6 core i7 • 64GB RAM • OS: Catalina • 4K monitor • RME RayDAT card with Sync Card and extended Light Pipe.
Thonex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 03:32 AM   #16
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

New features:
  • Track locking
  • Get child track
  • Arrange view width matching (manual offset for now)
  • Better colors
  • Vertical indicators (edit, play, time selection)


Pretty nice when it's docked above or below the arrange view :P


@Thonex
Thx :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 03:55 AM   #17
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

And now with blend mode additive switch:


X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 07:14 AM   #18
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

ça a l'air génial!)
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2018, 05:11 AM   #19
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

Awesome.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 08:56 AM   #20
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

X-Raym, how is it going?
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:08 AM   #21
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@Ivannn Bennnettt
I'm thinking about a mode which woul sum the waveform, I think it could be interesting for alignement, or null test without having to listen :P


But this need some rewriting.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:38 AM   #22
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

It'll be great!
Looking forward!
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 03:22 PM   #23
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Here is how waveform sum could looks like:


Unfortunatly, this is not really usable for now, there is some rounding issue I don't know how to fiw which makes opposite pahse items not null when arrange view is zoom out :S

EDIT: I think I know the issue, here is the thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=213286

Last edited by X-Raym; 11-11-2018 at 04:31 PM.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 07:47 PM   #24
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Here is how waveform sum could looks like:


Unfortunatly, this is not really usable for now, there is some rounding issue I don't know how to fiw which makes opposite pahse items not null when arrange view is zoom out :S

EDIT: I think I know the issue, here is the thread: https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=213286
What an amazing script! Is there any demo for trial?
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 09:29 PM   #25
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@dysrock
Thx !


No release plan yet, just experipentation, and feedback reception on different concepts tested :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:21 AM   #26
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

You're teasing and teasing
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2018, 08:33 AM   #27
Distressor
Human being with feelings
 
Distressor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Berlin
Posts: 151
Default

I want this so bad!
Distressor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 04:42 PM   #28
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

I'm using this script right now in a project and I have to admit it is really really handy for alignong samples which are far apart on the project ! Awesome !
A bit CPU intensive if you monitor a lot of track though (like 15) but usable.
For public release, it would still need button I think.


--


I made another epxeriment based on the code, but with source peaks with time:


The idea is to visually display what section of a source the item use, and even show the overlapps of sections usage if multiple items with same section selected.




It's a bit rough for public release though, it doesn't support take rate, stretch markers, loops, section etc, it is just the basic I needed (take start offset and item length, all the rest is standard).

Very useful if you want to check that you didn't use the same pieces of audio of a soundtrack too many times !

(I made a script for that, one of my early scripts, https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=1481447 but I think it is a bit broken, and less handy than real time preview)
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 04:59 PM   #29
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Here is how waveform sum could looks like:


This is amazing! Could we test it?
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 10:23 PM   #30
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

still looking forward
Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2019, 02:28 AM   #31
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Anyone would know how to make eugen code display multichannel ?


I tried to mod it without success so far:


Code:
min_freq = 80

max_freq = 1000

Thresh_dB = -40

min_tonal = 0.85



------------------------------------------------------------

function Init()

    -- Some gfx Wnd Default Values ---------------

    local Wnd_bgd = 0x0F0F0F  

    local Wnd_Title = "Test"

    local Wnd_Dock,Wnd_X,Wnd_Y = 0,100,320 

    Wnd_W,Wnd_H = 1044,490 -- global values(used for define zoom level)

    -- Init window ------

    gfx.clear = Wnd_bgd         

    gfx.init( Wnd_Title, Wnd_W,Wnd_H, Wnd_Dock, Wnd_X,Wnd_Y )  

end



------------------------------------------------------------

function Peaks_Draw(Peaks)

  local min_note = 69 + 12 * math.log(min_freq/440, 2)

  local max_note = 69 + 12 * math.log(max_freq/440, 2)

  local Thresh = 10 ^ (Thresh_dB/20)

  ----------------------

  local axis = gfx.h * 0.25

  local Ky =axis

  local axis2 = gfx.h * 0.75

  local Ky2 = axis2

  ----------------------

  local abs, max = math.abs, math.max

  local j = 0

    for i = 1, #Peaks, 8 do

      j = j + 1

      local max_peak, min_peak = Peaks[i], Peaks[i+2]

      local xx = i/4

      gfx.set(0,0.5,0,1)

      if j % 2 == 0 then

        gfx.line(xx , axis - max_peak*Ky, xx, axis - min_peak*Ky, true) -- Peaks   

      else

        gfx.line(xx , axis2 - max_peak*Ky2, xx, axis2 - min_peak*Ky2, true) -- Peaks   

      end



  end

   

end

------------------------------------------------------------

function Item_GetPeaks(item)

  if not item then return end

  local take = reaper.GetActiveTake(item)

  if not take or reaper.TakeIsMIDI(take) then return end

  local item_start = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_POSITION")

  local item_len = reaper.GetMediaItemInfo_Value(item, "D_LENGTH")

  local sel_start, sel_end = reaper.GetSet_LoopTimeRange(false, false, 0, 0, false)

  if sel_end - sel_start == 0 then sel_start = item_start; sel_end = item_start + item_len end

  

  local starttime = math.max(sel_start, item_start)

  local len = math.min(sel_end, item_start + item_len) - starttime

  if len <= 0 then return end 

  ------------------

  --PCM_Source = reaper.GetMediaItemTake_Source(take)

  local n_chans = 2   -- I GetPeaks Only from 1 channel!!!

  local peakrate = gfx.w / len

  local n_spls = math.floor(len*peakrate + 0.5) * n_chans -- its Peak Samples         

  local want_extra_type = 115  -- 's' char

  local buf = reaper.new_array(n_spls * n_chans * 3) -- max, min, spectral each chan(but now 1 chan only)

  buf.clear()         -- Clear buffer

  ------------------

  local retval = reaper.GetMediaItemTake_Peaks(take, peakrate, starttime, n_chans, n_spls, want_extra_type, buf);

  local spl_cnt  = (retval & 0xfffff)        -- sample_count

  local ext_type = (retval & 0x1000000)>>24  -- extra_type was available

  local out_mode = (retval & 0xf00000)>>20   -- output_mode

  ------------------

  Peaks = {}

  if spl_cnt > 0 and ext_type > 0 then

    for i = 1, n_spls do

      local p = #Peaks

      Peaks[p+1] = buf[i]             -- max peak

      Peaks[p+2] = buf[i+2]    -- min peak

      Peaks[p+3] = buf[n_spls+i]             -- max peak

      Peaks[p+4] = buf[n_spls + i+2]    -- min peak

    end

  end

  ------------------

  return Peaks

end



---------------------------

function Project_IsChanged()

    local cur_cnt = reaper.GetProjectStateChangeCount(0)

    if cur_cnt ~= proj_change_cnt then proj_change_cnt = cur_cnt

       return true  

    end

end



---------------------------

function main()    

    if Project_IsChanged() then

      gfx.setimgdim(0, 0, 0) -- clear buf 0

      gfx.setimgdim(0, gfx.w, gfx.h)

      gfx.dest = 0; -- set dest buf = 0   

      local item = reaper.GetSelectedMediaItem(0, 0) 

      if item then

        local Peaks = Item_GetPeaks(item) 

        if Peaks then Peaks_Draw(Peaks) end

      end 

    end

    -----------

    local img_w, img_h = gfx.getimgdim(0)

    if img_w > 0 and img_h > 0 then

      gfx.a = 1; gfx.dest = -1; gfx.x, gfx.y = 0, 0

      gfx.blit(image, 1, 0, 0, 0, img_w, img_h, 0, 0, gfx.w, gfx.h)

    end

    ----------- 

    char = gfx.getchar() 

    if char == 32 then reaper.Main_OnCommand(40044, 0) end -- play

    if char ~= -1 then reaper.defer(main) end              -- defer       

    -----------  

    gfx.update()

    -----------

end



Init()

main()
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 10:15 AM   #32
dsyrock
Human being with feelings
 
dsyrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: China
Posts: 565
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Anyone would know how to make eugen code display multichannel ?
I tried to mod it without success so far:
Hi, there is a little question here. Why I can't see anything after running neither your script or Eugen's ? Just an empty window.
dsyrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2019, 02:30 PM   #33
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@dsyrock
My code snippet isn't really a 'script' like the scripts I showcased, just some experimental code :P
So the concept with Eugen script and this code snippet

  • Select an item
  • Run the action to build Spectral peaks if the items doesn't have them build already
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 01:47 PM   #34
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

So I haven't worked on this for a while, they are not perfect, and still a bit CPU intensive if you have lots of long items, but as I often use them, I released them in pack so you can enjoy them as they are:


https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...18&postcount=3


Enjoy !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 11:09 PM   #35
Ivannn Bennnettt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 305
Default

Ivannn Bennnettt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 05:05 AM   #36
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default

Looks useful.

For looping.. Would it be possible to instead of showing the start/end of the item. Could it instead show the start/end of the cycle/loop region of the arrange page instead?

That would be super useful. So basically what you have in the overview script but divided to show the loop start/end instead.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2019, 08:04 AM   #37
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@musicbynumbers
Hi ! thx
Can you show me what you mean loop cycle ? To be sure I get it :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2019, 03:58 AM   #38
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default

Sure. Not near reaper to take a screen capture yet but I'll try and be more detailed below

I mean reaper's loop region at the top of the arrange page that actually is using for looping/cycling whilst playing in the arrange area.

If you were able to show exactly what you've done for the end and start of an item but instead, show the end and start of the summed items on the selected tracks at the point at which the loop regions end and start that would be super useful.


That way, the user could adjust the loop region at top of arrange and in real-time be able to see (and more importantly "hear") whether the selected area is looping well.

then, you adjust the items start and end to match the loop area.

This is much more intuitive then trying to first do this soley on the item level as you then have to set loop region to the item to hear it.


Also, most of the time, when doing say ambience SFX loops (for games), you are often mixing multiple tracks at once to get the right feel so being able to see a sum of these at the top of the screen zoomed into the loop points is super useful.

If that isn't clear though, let me know and I'll do a diagram when I've got time and back in the studio.
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 05:05 AM   #39
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

Thanks to lokasenna logarythmic interpolation code,
I manage to make spectral colorization from eugen source !





I share the code for free for my fellows scripters :P


Just the extra code:

https://github.com/ReaTeam/ReaScript...ks%20color.lua

Demo (integration with eugen source):

https://github.com/ReaTeam/ReaScript...orm%20demo.lua


I also updated my premium script pack to add spectral peaks to the existing scripts :P


Enjoy
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 05:10 AM   #40
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 9,875
Default

@musicbynumbers
Ok I understand both of your requests :P



For the using Loop section, that make sense (cause it helps audition the part), and it should be possible


For multiple source at the same time, well, non looped version of this is what it is designed for :P It only miss the loop feature somehow.


I'll keep that in mind but lets first see if the pack interest other users as it is.


Most important step for me is multichannel display at this point :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.