Old 02-28-2012, 03:45 PM   #1
Lobsterinn
Human being with feelings

Default Comping multiple tracks?

Can't find this info in a search or on Kenny's video:

I am trying to comp a bass amp and di track simultaneously. Is there a way to select a take (in lanes) from one of the tracks and have the corresponding take in the other track selected as well? I have grouped the two tracks for all parameters but I cannot find a way to make this happen.

I'm new to Reaper so it is the first time this has come up for me. Please help save me time! Thanks.
Lobsterinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:52 PM   #2
metal_priest

select the items you want to group and then right click on them -> group-> group items or the shortkey "G"
metal_priest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:11 PM   #3
Lobsterinn

I know how to group things, but grouping doesn't seem to allow me to edit multiple tracks in the way I am used to doing in Pro Tools.

For example: if you had multiple takes at a drum part, and those drums were spread across 6 tracks, how would you edit those takes together without having to select each item on each track every time you wanted to audition an different take?

Am I missing something?
Old 02-29-2012, 12:21 AM   #4
metal_priest

mmm i think that what you want is grouping items, that is different from the grouping tracks.
The first option makes a group of the items you want to edit all together, so you can cut, copy, paste, delete, change volume of the items, stretch ecc
The second option makes a group of the paramiters of the tracks you want to move together, so you can control all the levels, pan, mute, solo, rec ecc

So they are very different, and you can group items in the same track or in different tracks, without grouping the tracks themself (ex. drums, you want to be able to control different pans and volume for each track, but you want to edit the items all together. So, you will set only the "Items Group" and not the "Tracks Group"..)