Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2018, 09:50 AM   #1
DEM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Default Can't save - did I do something wrong on install?

Tried to take it for a test drive, but I never got to that point. After watching multiple videos on installing (mac os High Sierra) turns out I can't save projects. So.... wipe clean and start from scratch? Does this happen often? thanks
DEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:13 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,553
Default

How exactly are you not able to save projects?
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:13 AM   #3
cyrano
Human being with feelings
 
cyrano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 3,592
Default

WHERE are you saving to?

I've never seen this happen with Reaper, but it sometimes happens with other apps, especially when saving to the desktop or the downloads folder. It's a permissions problem that happens on High Sierra, because of SIP.

You might need to boot from the recovery partition to fix the permissions.
__________________
“It has become appallingly obvious that our technology has exceeded our humanity” Albert Einstein
cyrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 10:29 AM   #4
DEM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Default

I followed all the directions on tutorial videos. I set up an external drive for my projects. But it seems like there are a lot of folders and paths to name and maybe I didn't do that correctly. Shouldn't be this difficult. Same one I've been using for Pro Tools, so I know it works. I create a project, try to save and get an error message "unable to save project". I'm at the point where I feel like I either have to reinstall from scratch and waste a day on that or pay for a PT subscription cuz I know that works. I have work to do...
DEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:09 PM   #5
DEM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Default

fixed, I think. Went through setup tutorial and fixed path names I think is what did it.

Of course, now it just won't record. You'd think I'm just an idiot but I've been using Pro Tools for 7 years, so...
DEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2018, 12:15 PM   #6
DEM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Default

Never mind... Doh!
DEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.