Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > JSFX and ReaScript Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2018, 08:40 AM   #201
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
@Miui very nice feedback!
Happy to have been useful. I might give you more of those feedback going ahead. Hopefully you wonàt need them!
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 09:12 AM   #202
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

BTW regarding View TS in your video, to actually "comp" or to use that part of TS into current version you need to click "TO - CURRENT".

Thats the way other DAW does it also and (at least for me) it makes sense. If it would automatically merge as soon you are in VIEW TS mode then there would be a lot of errors since you scroll to see versions and they auto merge with current one.

Clicking "To-current" you confirm you want that part merged to current version

Deactivating VIEW TS without merging anything restores the current version default state, which in your case in the video, current version had a gap in default state so it was restored that way. If you clicked "TO" it would merge with it
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 09:35 AM   #203
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
BTW regarding View TS in your video, to actually "comp" or to use that part of TS into current version you need to click "TO - CURRENT".

Thats the way other DAW does it also and (at least for me) it makes sense. If it would automatically merge as soon you are in VIEW TS mode then there would be a lot of errors since you scroll to see versions and they auto merge with current one.

Clicking "To-current" you confirm you want that part merged to current version

Deactivating VIEW TS without merging anything restores the current version default state, which in your case in the video, current version had a gap in default state so it was restored that way. If you clicked "TO" it would merge with it
Got it!
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 11:33 AM   #204
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

Ok guys what do you prefer :



1. one is old behavior, you click select version and then manipulate it
2. is mouse over, you just manipulate it

Now when creating comps the focus goes on it (for previewing), but in mode no.2 you can just mouse over stuff you want to preview. So this will need some tweaking because in mode no.2 there is no sense to set focus on comp because you can preview it easily.Mode no.1 would need it,so you can preview the comp immediately

Even if this mouse over voodoo is cool I'm not so sure of it (I like mode 1 best, its consistent), mouseover you can be DJ like never before,change shit around in nanoseconds

Because of the absence of great and majestic (always in our hears and minds ) Area selection, this cant be made studio one style... but it can be ... lets say...close

Last edited by Sexan; 10-11-2018 at 11:46 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 11:58 AM   #205
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,242
Default

Mode 1 by far for me!!


In mode 2: let's say you have 10 takes and you want to preview number 1 and then number 10. You must avoid passing the mouse over 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 because they will get previewed. I do not see the advantage of this mode. Just to avoid one click?
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 12:02 PM   #206
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

Yeah thats why I sayed 1 is more consistent

Just testing,it will be as it was. Only change is it will focus on comp when created,so you can preview it without clicking on it
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 12:06 PM   #207
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,242
Default

Yeah, this is nice
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 12:18 PM   #208
Ozman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 447
Default

I prefer Mode 1, but making it optional would be even better.
Ozman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:30 PM   #209
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

I always got something difficulties in watching those superfast Gif. Is mode 2 like the one I show you in Studio 1?

If so, of course, you already know that for me is, incomparably, version2. And I invite anybody to try comping in S1...I have the suspect you would change your mind.

P.S. Looking better at the gif I got it better. For monitoring purpose solution 1 is fine. Although, it would be cool if when dragging on selected or unselected track it becomes active with no further click needed to be promoted on comp track.

P.S. 1 click in a comping session becomes 500 click in half an hour. The least the better.

Last edited by Miul; 10-11-2018 at 09:13 PM.
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 08:49 PM   #210
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 389
Default

My vote is for number 1!

I found another bug when adding MIDI notes:

https://imgur.com/a/BNo2spa

And I'm still having the issue with adding items from left click modifier linked to Copy item to cursor. There are undo points being created btw (2 of them actually)
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2018, 11:57 PM   #211
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

@Arthur I'm still looking at that problem,issue is that very last undo is not insert item,but unselect all items so my script does nothing in that case.
@Miul I can make that activate version under mouse cursor when time selection is made.

just out of curiosity how do you preview lanes in S1? Click on them? solo them via button?

EDIT: @Arthur, that script would need a small modification in order to work, other functions need to be called from main function and all that functions need to be moved above main function to work. With this modifications it works fine with my script

Last edited by Sexan; 10-12-2018 at 12:33 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:48 AM   #212
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
just out of curiosity how do you preview lanes in S1? Click on them? solo them via button?
I'm not quite sure what you are referring to.

To view all the lanes you just have a shortcuts the same way in your app you click on ALL.

But then you say solo, so probably you want to know how you can hear the whole take?
Different ways: every lane has got a solo button or, you can temporary promote the lane to main track altogether. This is done clicking on a arrow on the lane.
In this case you won't lose what you have already done as the former comp will just go down as any other lane, keeping all the comping done untouched.
You can also duplicate the comping track so that you can make little variations and compare the two of them.

Personally, unless I really want to hear the whole track I just select long sections, I hear it and than undo. But it's a bit improper as a system itself.

Hope this is what you wanted to know, otherwise, please, clarify me better what you exactly want to know and I'll be happy to answer.

Cheers
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 07:51 AM   #213
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

Ok this is the MINIMAL as it can be:
It looks the version under the mouse,now does not matter if item is muted unmuted,version under the cursor will go to comp

+Comp is now auto focused when creating (for previewing)


but this one ALSO has a little clumsiness which cannot be avoided:
mouse cursor must not leave version you want... or else it will comp the last version under the cursor. So for example while you do time selection little faster and mouse ends up version up or down that one will be comped.

Speed aside my still favorite one is the most simplest one (previous one). Select version you want make selection it comps, me happy. So this behavior will be an option because its not quite "SAFE" since if your mouse can end up on version you did not want to comp...

edit: And NOW when I wrote all this down I have a idea to MAYBE fix this issue ...

Last edited by Sexan; 10-12-2018 at 07:59 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:41 AM   #214
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Ok this is the MINIMAL as it can be:
It looks the version under the mouse,now does not matter if item is muted unmuted,version under the cursor will go to comp

+Comp is now auto focused when creating (for previewing)

That looks quite right to me man!!!
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 08:44 AM   #215
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

Since GUI is pretty limited and its getting crowded,I am porting this to beautiful Lokaseenna GUI Library so there will be no updates for few days until it gets ported
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 09:21 AM   #216
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,242
Default

Great! Lokasenna's GUI library is the way to go! Check his awesome builder too!
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 12:35 PM   #217
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Since GUI is pretty limited and its getting crowded,I am porting this to beautiful Lokaseenna GUI Library so there will be no updates for few days until it gets ported
Hi,

I was wondering, when you select a section for the comping track are you free from snapping? When maximized, on small sections I always need to press shift otherwise it snaps, really not the best.
Is there any setting that you know to avoid this behavior?
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 01:20 PM   #218
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

I hit ALT + S when I want free snap mode, or just click on the magnet icon in the tool bar (this shortcut toggles it)
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 09:08 PM   #219
Miul
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 239
Default

Could you tell me the action you have set for alt-s as I override it.
Getting of the snap, incredibly, doesn't do it to me.
Miul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:05 AM   #220
multibody
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 43
Default

Thank you for this very promising looking skript!

Has anyone tested this with the Reaper Implementation of Melodyne/ARA?

Does the comping work well?
multibody is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:38 PM   #221
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,994
Default

the side effect of porting is) that you fix more bugs than normally since you need to check every function...at least this one except new sexy look will behave better I hope next few days it will be finished
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.