Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Old 09-14-2018, 04:46 PM   #1
sjs94704
Human being with feelings

Default Controlling Volume on a single track (Clipping Issue)...& How to fatten up my tracks

I have pre-recorded music I sing to. Each instrument is on a separate track.

I'll do my best to get all the details here as best as I can.

In my projects I have what are called 'drum kits', meaning all the parts of the drums are wrapped up into one track. I use a little EQ to draw out each of the individual parts, but my issue is now getting the volume I want.

Right now I am playing one of my songs and the drum kit is at the volume I want, but, it is clipping at about only +1.5 to +2.1. But it is clipping.

I've also been just experimenting with a plugin that I have never used before so my settings might be way off. It is the JS: Stereo Width plugin.

Just playing with it, I have the Width Boost at 6.0 & the Center Boost the same at 6.0 on the drum kit track. Like I said, these may be way off and too much (or not enough), but, I do like the sound I'm getting with these settings.

There is also the Blue Cat's Gain plugin and it is set to -9.50 (I may not need this at all since the Stereo Width plugin has a gain setting already on it)

I saw Kenny Gioia in a video about avoiding clipping and he is using the JS: Volume/Pan, but, in his example he is using it on the MASTER track.

Here is the heart of my confusion about how to do this .....

I like the volume of the drums I am getting right now, but, I just don't want that track to clip and am just not sure what plugin or some other method I can use to maintain the volume I want without clipping.