Old 12-13-2020, 01:28 PM   #1
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 298
Default v6.19rc1 - December 13 2020

v6.19rc1 - December 13 2020
  • + API: PCM_SOURCE_EXT_ENUMCUES_EX distinguishes between cues and chapter markers
  • + API: add GetMediaFileMetadata
  • + API: add PCM_SOURCE_EXT_GETBITRATE
  • + EDL: fix importing media item fade shapes
  • + Elastique: update to v3.3.3
  • + Fades: add option in preferences/fades to display fade names instead of images in menus
  • + Item ruler: when displaying source media times, use section/reverse parameters [t=245993]
  • + Keyboard: option to allow the space key to be used for navigation now affects track/marker managers, track routing window, envelope window, fade editor
  • + Linux: improve behavior when copying symlinked media
  • + MIDI: fix adjusting imported MIDI length to match project tempo map [p=2373470]
  • + Media explorer: Support temporary marks for files, to track what has been previewed or other uses
  • + Media explorer: add action to reset columns to default order and width
  • + Media explorer: add option to group folders at top
  • + Media explorer: add option to show/hide scrollbars on preview waveform
  • + Media explorer: add option to wait for next measure to start beat-synced preview
  • + Media explorer: add scrollbar to preview display
  • + Media explorer: add vertical scrollbar to zoom waveform height
  • + Media explorer: apply both pitch and rate adjustments when adding to ReaSamploMatic5000
  • + Media explorer: by default, pick up beat-synced preview immediately
  • + Media explorer: display bits per sample or bitrate, depending on media type
  • + Media explorer: display media length
  • + Media explorer: display media source preferred position (BWF time reference or XMP relative timestamp)
  • + Media explorer: display position/length in milliseconds
  • + Media explorer: display sample rate and channel count for media
  • + Media explorer: fast metadata reading for .ogg files
  • + Media explorer: fix action to go to parent folder when persistent search is active [t=245677]
  • + Media explorer: fix bug where duplicate metadata may be written to files
  • + Media explorer: fix synchronized previews being off by a buffer block
  • + Media explorer: fix writing edited metadata to mp3 files
  • + Media explorer: include XMP metadata when writing user-edited metadata to .flac files
  • + Media explorer: preserve unrecognized ID3 tag elements when editing metadata
  • + Media explorer: re-initialize column view when new fields are added in a REAPER update
  • + Media explorer: set media offline before rewriting metadata, in case the file is already in use in the arrange view
  • + Media explorer: snap cursor to media cues
  • + Media explorer: support ID3:TXXX:TIME_REFERENCE to encode preferred position in mp3 media
  • + Media explorer: support customizing file last-modified date display format
  • + Media explorer: support preserving edited metadata in databases when re-reading other metadata from media [p=2376166]
  • + Media explorer: support updating metadata for multi-stream files where the vorbis stream is not first
  • + Media explorer: support writing edited source preferred position back to media files that support BWF, IXML, or XMP metadata
  • + Media explorer: with autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media pauses preview
  • + Media items: preserve manual fade shape when clearing auto-crossfade [t=240579]
  • + Media items: support applying media source BWF start offset to item ruler [t=236220]
  • + Metadata: add flac to displayed list of file types that support iXML metadata
  • + Metadata: add option to embed media time reference (media preferred position within project)
  • + Metadata: display mp3 event markers in media explorer and arrange view
  • + Metadata: list AXML metadata separately from BWF (they had been combined for legacy reasons)
  • + Metadata: list render metadata schemes in alphabetical order
  • + Metadata: support XMP relativeTimestamp (similar to BWF TimeReference, media source preferred position)
  • + Metadata: support embedding iXML metadata in mp3 files
  • + Metadata: support vorbis TIME_REFERENCE representing source preferred position for flac, ogg, opus files
  • + OGG: improve compatibility when metadata editing certain files
  • + ReaSamploMatic5000: when dragging media from media explorer, only apply preview volume/pitch/rate if media explorer option is enabled [t=246343]
  • + ReaScript: add B_RECMON_IN_EFFECT to GetMediaTrackInfo_Value()
  • + ReaScript: support UTF-8 font names on Windows [t=190468]
  • + Recording: fix potentially incorrect fadeout created when recording in item autopunch mode
  • + Render: activate "apply" button after browsing to new output folder [p=2375479]
  • + Render: respect option to embed project name in BWF when other BWF metadata is provided
  • + VST: decrease latency of IContextInfoHandler notifications
  • + VST: support "REAPER record monitor in effect" attribute for VST3 channel contexts
  • + Video processors: support UTF-8 font names on Windows [t=190468]
  • + Wavpack: improve interaction between render metadata and BWF settings
  • + Wildcards: add $dayname and $datetime wildcards
  • + macOS: improve behavior when copying symlinked media
  • # Media explorer: fix vertical scrollbar zoom button behavior
  • # Media explorer: adjust for project start offset when inserting media at BWF preferred position
  • # Media explorer: don't adjust for project start offset when editing BWF preferred position
  • # Media explorer: don't clear preview when unintentionally dragging the previewed file into the preview window
  • # Media explorer: faster mousewheel zoom
  • # Media explorer: fix behavior of 2nd click on autoplaying media [p=2377265]
  • # Media explorer: fix context menu UI feedback
  • # Media explorer: fix fast metadata reading from .flac files
  • # Media explorer: support resizing handle (the control between the zoom-in and zoom-out buttons)
  • # Metadata: label media start offset (preferred position) more consistently
  • # Render: fix $day vs $dayname wildcards [p=2374602]
  • # VST: fix "REAPER record monitor in effect" notifications during playback
  • # Elastique: update linux build to 3.3.3
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 01:34 PM   #2
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
+ Media explorer: with autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media pauses preview
Now it's works, thank you.
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 02:02 PM   #3
mabian
Moderator
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 4,328
Default

Why is the Elastique update on Linux marked separately?
Just curious...

- Mario
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 02:34 PM   #4
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 7,727
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
# Media explorer: fix behavior of 2nd click on autoplaying media [p=2377265]
Second click on item seems to pause playback now properly, but there is still one anomaly with it.

Clicking back and forth between two items, one click per item and Auto play switched ON, sometimes the pause seems to turn on automatically in one or both of the items and has to be turned off by a 2nd click.

Continuing to click back and forth between the two items, this "auto-pause" seems to turn on and off in a pattern I haven't figured out.
xpander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 03:02 PM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mabian View Post
Why is the Elastique update on Linux marked separately?
Just curious...

- Mario
It's marked with # (so will not appear in the official change log afaik), my guess is it's been done as a separate step/commit during this development cycle and hence appeared intermittently as seperate line.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 03:07 PM   #6
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Second click on item seems to pause playback now properly, but there is still one anomaly with it.
Confirmed. Moreover, sometimes my mouse ponter gets stuck for a millisecond or two when I clicking back and forth between samples.
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 04:20 PM   #7
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,921
Default

Cant wait to try it....thanks Devs!

Media explorer: with autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media pauses preview
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 07:17 PM   #8
Arthur McArthur
Human being with feelings
 
Arthur McArthur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
[*]+ Media explorer: with autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media pauses preview
The care and attention the media explorer has been getting lately is fantastic, thank you devs.

But this behavior seems counter-intuitive to my use case and moves the media explorer further away from being a responsive, reliable way of previewing sounds in a production context. Here we need the media explorer to be behave more like an instrument, with the opposite option:

With autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media restarts playback

With this option, you could count on every click producing a sound and rock rapid drum fills by clicking like you're playing Diablo.
Arthur McArthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 10:04 PM   #9
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,909
Default

^^^^ this would be nice.
Maybe option: between stop, restart and pause
__________________
🙏🏻
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 10:34 PM   #10
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 298
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur McArthur View Post
With autoplay enabled, clicking on already-playing media restarts playback
Totally disagree. Just hit space to retrigger, or map a controller. Me myself previewing drums such way.
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 10:49 PM   #11
Shootkin
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Russia
Posts: 298
Default

By the way devs, would you mind to allow us to change the top buttons? They still looks terrible, especially "level-up". Let's make 2021 the Year of Explorer!
__________________
Primal Wheel
Shootkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2020, 11:52 PM   #12
MaestroS
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
Default Media Explorer Automatic pause

Media Explorer Automatic pause is always active when you click on any sample. Who knows how to disable it?
MaestroS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 12:22 AM   #13
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deeb View Post
^^^^ this would be nice.
Maybe option: between stop, restart and pause
This! While pause probably makes sense for most useres, personally I would prefer an option to stop playback.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 04:40 AM   #14
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
This! While pause probably makes sense for most useres, personally I would prefer an option to stop playback.
Stop is what I would prefer too. Either play from beginning on click or stop is all I need.
Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 09:15 AM   #15
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 992
Default

Awesome to see all these new additions to the media explorer.

Is there any chance of getting a "refresh" button among these buttons? I usually go back and forward again to do this currently.


I generally try to avoid FRs here, but this is such a small one I'm giving it a go.
__________________
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:16 AM   #16
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Awesome to see all these new additions to the media explorer.

Is there any chance of getting a "refresh" button among these buttons? I usually go back and forward again to do this currently.


I generally try to avoid FRs here, but this is such a small one I'm giving it a go.
That's a good idea but where you suggest seems to be no space. But in the row with the transport/routing/autoplay/startonbar controls seems to be plenty of space for adding it.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:20 AM   #17
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Awesome to see all these new additions to the media explorer.

Is there any chance of getting a "refresh" button among these buttons? I usually go back and forward again to do this currently.


I generally try to avoid FRs here, but this is such a small one I'm giving it a go.
Yes, yes, yes.
That would be a godsending button, really!
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:32 AM   #18
mlprod
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,347
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Yes, yes, yes.
That would be a godsending button, really!
Just press F5?
__________________
Magnus Lindberg Productions - VRTKL Audio - Redmount Studios
magnuslindberg.com
mlprod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:39 AM   #19
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,205
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mlprod View Post
Just press F5?
I wrote about button in MX GUI.
Not always I operate MX with keyboard at hand, so when mousing-only.. you know.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 06:17 PM   #20
Nostrap
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 179
Default

Getting a hard crash when I try to "replace all occurrences" on a sample with multiple copies in the project when there are also takes with empty source elsewhere in the project. I think perhaps when it is going through the items it isn't properly handling takes with empty source.

I haven't noticed this until recently so it might be a new bug.
Nostrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 07:14 PM   #21
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostrap View Post
Getting a hard crash when I try to "replace all occurrences" on a sample with multiple copies in the project when there are also takes with empty source elsewhere in the project.
Fixing, thanks for the report!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 01:09 AM   #22
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mordi View Post
Awesome to see all these new additions to the media explorer.

Is there any chance of getting a "refresh" button among these buttons? I usually go back and forward again to do this currently.


I generally try to avoid FRs here, but this is such a small one I'm giving it a go.
Would like this too, for the same reason:
Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Not always I operate MX with keyboard at hand, so when mousing-only.. you know.
__________________
🙏🏻
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 01:13 AM   #23
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

If I drag a file from media explorer to i.e. desktop - file will get moved out of the folder and to the desktop. Dual monitor stuff...

Could drag and drop stuff be restricted to REAPER only?
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 01:20 AM   #24
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Breeder View Post
If I drag a file from media explorer to i.e. desktop - file will get moved out of the folder and to the desktop. Dual monitor stuff...

Could drag and drop stuff be restricted to REAPER only?
Didn’t test now but as far as I recall moving files from the MX to somewhere else creates a copy at the destination. That in my opinion is the ideal behaviour.

But please just don’t create restrictions. Restrictions are never good.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 03:36 AM   #25
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2,436
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Didn’t test now but as far as I recall moving files from the MX to somewhere else creates a copy at the destination. That in my opinion is the ideal behaviour.
I think it replicates windows explorer behaviour - dragging to the same drive moves and dragging to a different drive creates a copy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phazma View Post
Didn’t test now but as far as I recall moving files from the MX to somewhere else creates a copy at the destination. That in my opinion is the ideal behaviour.

But please just don’t create restrictions. Restrictions are never good.
True - I guess copy instead of move would be ideal.
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 10:25 AM   #26
Zeno
Human being with feelings
 
Zeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: HH
Posts: 929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
v6.19rc1 - December 13 2020

+ MIDI: fix adjusting imported MIDI length to match project tempo map [p=2373470]
Please devs, could you take a look at this?

BUG-Report: MIDI shifts within item-takes
&
Project Bay is buggy = useless for in-project MIDI items


Thanks
Zeno is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2020, 01:01 PM   #27
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
+ Media explorer: Support temporary marks for files, to track what has been previewed or other uses
Yeees!!! Thank you for this.

Btw. Can we have an option to choose if they are temp or permanent?
__________________
Youtube | Website | Twitter
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 10:24 AM   #28
jm duchenne
Human being with feelings
 
jm duchenne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: France
Posts: 920
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shootkin View Post
v6.19rc1 - December 13 2020[*]+ Elastique: update to v3.3.3
Time-stretching and Pitch-Shifting with one of the Elastique algorithm always gives silence or only distortion when the number of channels is greater than 48.
Since this works fine with the other methods, would it be possible to know if this is due to Elastique itself or on the way it is implemented in Reaper? In this case there would be some hope ...
This makes its use impossible for example in ambisonics from order 6 which is really a shame since the other are sometimes less efficient.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181279
jm duchenne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2020, 12:39 PM   #29
Phazma
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 2,895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jm duchenne View Post
Time-stretching and Pitch-Shifting with one of the Elastique algorithm always gives silence or only distortion when the number of channels is greater than 48.
Since this works fine with the other methods, would it be possible to know if this is due to Elastique itself or on the way it is implemented in Reaper? In this case there would be some hope ...
This makes its use impossible for example in ambisonics from order 6 which is really a shame since the other are sometimes less efficient.

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=181279
I would like to add (not specifically concerning multichannel) that the Elastique 3 algorithm according to some tests I have done in the past on long stretches has significantly more silence and “pre-echo”(if that how this initial ringing is called) than the equivalent algorithm in other DAWs. The update to 3.3.3 seems to make no difference in this regard. Elastique 2 doesn’t have this problem.

Should there be interest in looking into this I will tomorrow search for posts I have already made with comparisons and link them here or if I don’t find them re-do various tests and post them here.
Phazma is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 05:14 AM   #30
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,981
Default

Quote:
. . . . .
+ Media items: support applying media source BWF start offset to item ruler [t=236220]
. . . . .
Thanks Devs, I didn’t see you’d snuck this one in here until release, didn’t want you to think I was unappreciative

-this be very helpful, thank you.


>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK. | Item Marker Tool. (happily retired) | Source Time Position Tool. | CD Track Marker Tool. | Timer Recording Tool. | dB marks on MCP faders FR.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 07:10 PM   #31
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,981
Default

Just a quick technical question about reading metadata from the bext chunk of BWF files before I erroneously submit a bug report. I have some production recordings with large time offsets that the new version item ruler won’t allow me to check the “include BWF offset” box on. Turns out REAPER thinks these have a negative value of source offset (in source properties).

How do you read the bytes for “Time Offset Lo” and “Time Offset Hi” in the bext chunk? The EBU spec seems to say two dwords, but are these as two unsigned 32-bit integers, two signed integers, or one 64-bit signed or unsigned integer?

The offset is large enough that the msb of the first dword is a “1” while the “Hi” dword is still zero. Are you reading this Lo dword as a signed integer? The maths checks out with the negative value of offset returned. If so, is the metadata written incorrectly? The bytes are Lo 01 bc 0e ad (and Hi 00 00 00 00) which gives 16:48:08:00 at 48k if read unsigned. Is this a REAPER bug or a recorder one?


>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK. | Item Marker Tool. (happily retired) | Source Time Position Tool. | CD Track Marker Tool. | Timer Recording Tool. | dB marks on MCP faders FR.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2020, 07:12 PM   #32
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,096
Default

Can you post or email us the file? We read the value as a 64-bit unsigned integer, though in practice it shouldn't matter whether it's signed or unsigned in normal use. If the high word sign bit is set it's likely an encoding error. If we're reading the low word sign bit as a sign bit it could be our error.

Last edited by schwa; 12-19-2020 at 07:18 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 09:48 AM   #33
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 16,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Turns out REAPER thinks these have a negative value of source offset
Thanks for sending the file. This was in fact our bug, which is fixed for the next build.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2020, 10:57 AM   #34
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,981
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Thanks for sending the file. This was in fact our bug, which is fixed for the next build.

Needed a bit of a corner case offset to find it?

>
__________________
Nathan, Lincoln, UK. | Item Marker Tool. (happily retired) | Source Time Position Tool. | CD Track Marker Tool. | Timer Recording Tool. | dB marks on MCP faders FR.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.