Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-14-2020, 08:22 AM   #721
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmike View Post
I installed Reapack 64 dll in the user plugins. When I launch I get the usual window. But when I try to access or browse anything I get:

Couldn't connect to server (7): Failed to connect to github.com port 443: Bad access

I've used Reapack before on another Win 64 laptop. Any ideas? Thanks.
Try visiting https://github.com using Internet Explorer. If you are connected to a network requiring web requests to go through a proxy server, enter its address in Manage repositories > Options > Network settings. If you are using a firewall, make sure reaper.exe is allowed full network access.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2020, 10:28 AM   #722
mcmike
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Try visiting https://github.com using Internet Explorer. If you are connected to a network requiring web requests to go through a proxy server, enter its address in Manage repositories > Options > Network settings. If you are using a firewall, make sure reaper.exe is allowed full network access.
Thanks. I did some searching online and people suggested disabling anti-virus (didn't work) and disabling firewall, which did work. I'll configure the firewall for Reaper.
mcmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 09:05 AM   #723
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Buy One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,196
Default

What's the procedure for getting a pull request approved? Are there any pre-requisites apart from passing all checks?

Last edited by Buy One; 01-02-2021 at 09:13 AM.
Buy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2021, 03:59 PM   #724
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 15,308
Default

Unfortunately providing a decent description is not part of the procedure.
-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 01-08-2021 at 05:55 AM.
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2021, 11:19 AM   #725
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Buy One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,196
Default

What's the proper way to upload a package which includes several files referenced in the metapackage file?

I've followed tutorials posted by cfillion at https://github.com/ReaTeam/ReaScript...ment-748501874 but the only file getting uploaded is the main, the included ones are nowhere to be found on GitHub.
Buy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2021, 08:18 AM   #726
Kr3eM
Human being with feelings
 
Kr3eM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 231
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcmike View Post
Thanks. I did some searching online and people suggested disabling anti-virus (didn't work) and disabling firewall, which did work. I'll configure the firewall for Reaper.
Try - ReaPack/Manage repositories/Options.../Network settings...
Untick 'Verify the authenticity of SSL/TLS certificates (advanced)

It's the only way it works for me.
Kr3eM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 11:19 AM   #727
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buy One View Post
What's the proper way to upload a package which includes several files referenced in the metapackage file?

I've followed tutorials posted by cfillion at https://github.com/ReaTeam/ReaScript...ment-748501874 but the only file getting uploaded is the main, the included ones are nowhere to be found on GitHub.
Hi Buy One in your Main header it should say the files names you need to add here is an exemple: (notice you need to give the same number of spaces in the indention (as far as I know))

Code:
 
-- @version 1.52
-- @author Daniel Lumertz
-- @provides
--    [nomain] Table to string.lua
--    [nomain] Core.lua
--    [nomain] General Functions.lua
--    [nomain] GUI.lua
--    [nomain] main.lua
--    [nomain] map_func.lua
--    [nomain] Modules/*.lua
--    [nomain] Classes/*.lua
-- @changelog
--    + Beta release
Folder_Name/*.lua for adding all files in the folder

Last edited by daniellumertz; 01-14-2021 at 11:25 AM.
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 11:24 AM   #728
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

I am getting
HTTP response code said error (22): The requested URL returned error: 503 Backend is unhealthy

When trying to sync with any reapack repo what does that mean?
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 03:30 PM   #729
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Buy One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniellumertz View Post
Hi Buy One
Thank you Daniel, this is for creating a pull request directly from your own repository, right?
Buy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 08:52 PM   #730
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

this is for including multiple files when someone download an script.

If script file A needs files X, Y, Z to work
In the file A that will have the header you need to declare as above what should be with!

I had to open some exemples to understand

Again be careful the amount of space should be the same
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2021, 01:24 AM   #731
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Buy One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniellumertz View Post
this is for including multiple files when someone download an script.
Ah, OK, and what does [nomain] tag mean?
Buy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2021, 02:49 AM   #732
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

I don't know haahhaha
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2021, 03:01 AM   #733
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buy One View Post
Ah, OK, and what does [nomain] tag mean?
It disables adding the file to the action list. It's the default for additional files.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2021, 04:29 AM   #734
Buy One
Human being with feelings
 
Buy One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1,196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
It disables adding the file to the action list. It's the default for additional files.
Thank you
Buy One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 11:08 AM   #735
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,171
Default

I'm having problems currently downloading anything other (or bigger?) than scripts via ReaPack.
Have written about it here.
That was some days ago, and just now I updated js_Mouse editing - Multi Tool.lua via ReaPack which contains a .cur file which took a couple of minutes to download (it succeeded in the end though).

edit:
Updating ReaLearn still hangs at about 50% downloaded forever for me currently.

Ok, my internet connection is really dodgy at times but I'm wondering if anyone else is experiencing similar problems lately?

Last edited by nofish; 01-20-2021 at 11:14 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 11:24 AM   #736
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

How long does it take to download the same URLs using the web browser and command-line curl in comparison to ReaPack?

The progress bar is not aware of the download progress of individual files, so it can remain a the same position for a while even if progress is made (until the next file starts downloading).

(The biggest .cur of the Multi Tool is only 4KB, smaller than many scripts. ReaLearn's .dylib is 7MB.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Updating ReaLearn still hangs at about 50% downloaded forever for me currently.
Is the main thread frozen when that happens? Could it be a variation of this strange bug?

Last edited by cfillion; 01-20-2021 at 11:37 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2021, 12:06 PM   #737
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,171
Default

Nevermind, seems to be my internet connection indeed.
This is downloading via web browser:


Thanks.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 04:20 PM   #738
sdog
Human being with feelings
 
sdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Crawford, CO
Posts: 43
Default packaging a jsfx with presets and a reabank

Tried to figure out how to do this from the ReaPack documentation, and by reading this entire thread, but couldn't figure it out. I suspect it's either not possible or I just don't understand how to get there.

I am nearing completion of a JSFX script. It still needs a little tweaking and testing, but I'm looking ahead to distribution. This would be the first script I've tried to make compatible with, and installable by, ReaPack. All my previous FX and scripts have been simply for my own use or put up on stash. Just stumbled across Reapack looking for some other scripts and it seems like a really good way to share my work.

If I had to, I could package just the JSFX effect, but it would be really cool if I could also package with it a handful of presets (an .ini file under the [User]/REAPER/Presets I presume, unless there's a better way) and a bank file (a .reabank file under [User]/REAPER/Data unless there's a better way) to allow more human readable MIDI automation of those presets through ReaControlMIDI.

I suspect the answer, if it's possible. lies in the "provides" tag, but I couldn't immediately figure out how I would format those paths for the two extra files in my case. (I was looking here: https://github.com/cfillion/reapack-...-Documentation).

I can struggle with the syntax a little more if people say "Oh yeah. You can do that." Or I can save myself some time and energy if you tell me I want the impossible.

The thought just now occurred to me that presets, even if possible to install the first time, could be problematic on a later update, because people may have added their own presets in the intervening time. This would precipitate a decision of whether or not to leave presets, overwrite, or merge. So maybe I'm crazy to want to offer this. Thoughts?
__________________
Doug Gallob - Composer/Audio Engineer
Aural Hygiene - "Dangerous Music for Dangerous Movies"
sdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 05:17 PM   #739
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

The syntax for adding a .rpl file (preset library) and writing a file in the Data directory is:
Code:
provides:
  The Effect.jsfx.rpl
  [data] Some File.reabanks
Or, if using https://reapack.com/upload/jsfx for generating the metadata header and uploading to the stock repository:
  1. Click on "Add file"
  2. Set "Resource type" to Data (.reabanks only–the .rpl should have the JS effect type to be installed in the Effects folder)
  3. Customize storage filename (and optionally the install filename)

Last edited by cfillion; 01-24-2021 at 12:50 AM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 09:35 PM   #740
sdog
Human being with feelings
 
sdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Crawford, CO
Posts: 43
Default

perfect!! I will try this once I get the finishing touches on the script. Thanks!!
__________________
Doug Gallob - Composer/Audio Engineer
Aural Hygiene - "Dangerous Music for Dangerous Movies"
sdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 12:06 PM   #741
sdog
Human being with feelings
 
sdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Crawford, CO
Posts: 43
Default

So. This seems on topic for a packaging thread, but if you feel it's drifting too far off, let me know and I'll post this elsewhere. Once again, I couldn't find any obvious answers elsewhere.

.ini presets vs. .rpl presets?

I'm trying to understand their usage differences (specifically when I *should* use one over another, even more specifically in a packaging/distribution scenario vs. a user scenario.)

What I know so far as well as questions about what I don't (or what I *think* I know. Confirmation or denial is welcome):

1. both store reaper presets.

2. the file format is different, so they are not interchangeable.

3. .ini preset files are modified automatically whenever I tweak (add, save, rename, etc.) an effect preset in Reaper.

4. .ini preset files are stored by default under the user's "Reaper/presets" directory.

5. .rpl presets are created/used by export/import process in the Reaper FX presets interface. Are they created/read by any other means?

6. They appear to use the same set of presets operated on by the .ini. (i.e. whatever I see in the preset drop down of the effect).

7. based on what I see in the rpl export interface, it appears that the .rpl storage location is entirely up to the user. Is there a "preferred" location where .rpl files should go? (I ask this question as a user and as an effect distributor.)

8. As a user, 99% of my preset needs are met by the automated .ini process. If I need new presets, I just save them, but this also makes them highly configurable and hard to rely on as a deliverable.

9. As a user, under what context would I want to export/import an rpl instead?

10. I'm guessing that there is some reason for having two different mechanisms to store presets. One reason could be that one mechanism is historical and the other is superceding it. Is this the case? Another reason could be that one mechanism excels in one context and another excels in a different context. If this is the case, what are those different contexts? My brain is in JSFX mode at the moment. Maybe some of these separate contexts also come into play for other flavors of effect (VST?...)

To paraphrase all of my other questions into something that is a lot easier to ask, but probably harder to answer: What is the "right" ("Reaper") way to use/deliver effect presets in which contexts?
__________________
Doug Gallob - Composer/Audio Engineer
Aural Hygiene - "Dangerous Music for Dangerous Movies"
sdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 01:38 PM   #742
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

The .ini in the presets folder contains the user's settings so it cannot be packaged in ReaPack. The preset libraries can be imported/exported to/from the .ini. The preset library installed alongside the effect (using the effect's filename + .rpl, eg. "atlantis-reverb.jsfx" and "atlantis-reverb.jsfx.rpl") is automatically imported by REAPER.

Last edited by cfillion; 01-24-2021 at 01:50 PM.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 03:01 PM   #743
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

hey cfillion

I am updating directly to github and an Reateambot is changing the index file to match the things and make everything all right

https://github.com/daniellumertz/DanielLumertz-Scripts

I wonder if it can keep older versions of mine script.

Now it only contains the actual in the reapack.

I am updating by 1 deleting all older script files then uploading (with same name ) It works, just the older versions are not there (maybe because I upload this way?)
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 04:03 PM   #744
sdog
Human being with feelings
 
sdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Crawford, CO
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks, Christian. I only wish I could ask questions as concisely as you answered them. My understanding has jumped ten-fold. Thank You!! (And thanks for ReaPack by the way. Great idea!)
__________________
Doug Gallob - Composer/Audio Engineer
Aural Hygiene - "Dangerous Music for Dangerous Movies"
sdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2021, 04:21 PM   #745
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniellumertz View Post
I am updating by 1 deleting all older script files then uploading (with same name ) It works, just the older versions are not there (maybe because I upload this way?)
Replace the file's content's instead of deleting + recreating them in separate commits to preserve older versions. There's an "edit this file" button on the file view page (example). I'm not sure how it works with file upload though.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 04:55 PM   #746
teniente powell
Human being with feelings
 
teniente powell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 326
Default

Maybe someone has asked it before. I want to delete some scripts from Reapack. I go to Browse Package, I select what I want to delete, left click, uninstall selection.

But when I synchronize packages, they return again. Is there any way to delete them forever?
teniente powell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 05:00 PM   #747
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Disable "Install new packages when synchronizing" in Manage repositories > Options.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 05:08 PM   #748
teniente powell
Human being with feelings
 
teniente powell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Disable "Install new packages when synchronizing" in Manage repositories > Options.
Oh, no. I want to install new packages when synchronizing. What I want is not to install the packages I have uninstalled.

I have 60 scripts in chinese characters. I uninstall them. When I synchronize, that 60 scripts return. I don't want them to return when synchronize.
teniente powell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2021, 05:36 PM   #749
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Are they from the same repository? You can override the global auto-install option per-repository too.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2021, 02:17 AM   #750
teniente powell
Human being with feelings
 
teniente powell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Spain
Posts: 326
Default

Yes, they are from the same repository. That is a way. I was searching if I could "mark" them to be bypassed by synchronization. Thanks anyway.
teniente powell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 04:13 PM   #751
GameAudioRvlzzr
Human being with feelings
 
GameAudioRvlzzr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Stuttgart, Germany
Posts: 219
Default

I recently get loads of errors when synchronising...

Can someone tell me what might be wrong?
Thank you
Attached Images
File Type: gif reapack1.gif (23.6 KB, 276 views)
File Type: gif reapack2.gif (35.0 KB, 262 views)
GameAudioRvlzzr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 04:24 PM   #752
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

The first picture shows obsolete packages. This is normal, it happens when packages you have installed were deleted by their author. You can select which ones you want to keep or uninstall (or disable this feature entirely in Manage repositories > Options).

The second error is related to domain name resolution. I've never seen that one before though. A quick Googling suggests it may happen if a firewall denies the connection. Make sure reaper.exe is allowed full network access in your firewall(s) settings.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 12:51 AM   #753
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Replace the file's content's instead of deleting + recreating them in separate commits to preserve older versions. There's an "edit this file" button on the file view page (example). I'm not sure how it works with file upload though.
Ok! Will do this next time! Sorry the late response

One question the reateam bot that edits the index in my repo. It was made specifically for this method of uploading or it works the same way when someone uploads the `normal` way ?

Thanks for your work cfillion !
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 06:48 AM   #754
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daniellumertz View Post
One question the reateam bot that edits the index in my repo. It was made specifically for this method of uploading or it works the same way when someone uploads the `normal` way ?
The bot runs when a 'git push' operation is performed. Either through GitHub's web interface or by using git on your computer.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2021, 11:41 AM   #755
daniellumertz
Human being with feelings
 
daniellumertz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 2,026
Default

Thanks For the answers cfillion !
daniellumertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 03:10 AM   #756
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Somewhere in this universe or so.
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
The bot runs when a 'git push' operation is performed. Either through GitHub's web interface or by using git on your computer.
Just to have a rough idea: with which frequency the main/master is updated? I mean: from the moment a script is pulled and everything is ok, how many days elapse from this point in time to the moment in which it's available on ReaPack, please?

I mean: 1w, 15days, 1month? What's the frequency?

Thank you a million
__________________
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11 Pro
ReaPack (with bilingual Tutorials): https://bit.ly/ReaPack_Repository
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 10:19 AM   #757
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

About 2 minutes.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 10:58 AM   #758
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Somewhere in this universe or so.
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
About 2 minutes.
yes from the moment you merge it, for sure :-) :-p
My question is: with which frequency the merging occurs?
__________________
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11 Pro
ReaPack (with bilingual Tutorials): https://bit.ly/ReaPack_Repository
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 02:34 PM   #759
cfillion
Human being with feelings
 
cfillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 5,109
Default

Usually as soon as I read the email and have some free time. Can take longer for big releases or if there's edits to be made.
cfillion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2021, 04:00 PM   #760
BartR
Human being with feelings
 
BartR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Somewhere in this universe or so.
Posts: 1,712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cfillion View Post
Usually as soon as I read the email and have some free time. Can take longer for big releases or if there's edits to be made.
Ah ok. Thank you
I though it was based on week or 15days.

Thank you so much
__________________
Reaper: always the most up-to-date.
O.S.: Windows 11 Pro
ReaPack (with bilingual Tutorials): https://bit.ly/ReaPack_Repository
BartR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.