Old 06-09-2021, 11:25 AM   #1
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,538
Default CPU/Change PSU

I am about to change my PSU would it be alright to just use the old cables and
just assemble the PSU cable end?

I was wondering should I change my CPU I have a GA-X79 Gigabyte motherboard version 1.1
My present CPU is a Intel Xeon E5 Hexacore – 3.20 GHZ
Anybody any idea what CPU would be much better?

About the paste should I worry about the paste ( I have never done this before...) I have heard the CPU paste goes off over time should I change that anyway or just leave it be ?
Is there a better paste to purchase?

Many thanks

Grinder
https://soundcloud.com/steve-maitland-1/the-deception
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2021, 03:27 PM   #2
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,538
Default

Well
changed my PSU from a AX750 corsair to a titanium 80PLUS AX850 Corsair
Runs cool very quiet

Grinder
https://soundcloud.com/steve-maitland-1/the-deception
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 12:44 AM   #3
Softsynth
Human being with feelings
 
Softsynth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 7,247
Default

Modern modular cables were made for that very reason. They make it very easy to swap out PSUs, and you only have to use as many cables as you require, where of course units with captive cables had all of them cluttering up the case.

If you want to know what CPU is better/best for your machine then you need to go to your motherboard manufacturer's website and find out what CPU is compatible with the newest BIOS available for that specific motherboard. There should be a CPU list.
Then you can look at the fastest options and check out comparisons via your browser.
__________________
At 3440X1440 The standard Reaper 6 theme looks really good at 150% on Transport, Envelope panel & track panel. The rest at standard.
Softsynth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 03:05 AM   #4
grinder
Human being with feelings
 
grinder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 2,538
Default

You are so right softsynth I was dubious about my talent in taking on the swap over with the PSU the Corsair company made my job so much easier.
I looked for CPU's as you have suggested however it seems that tech has moved on regarding spare parts my present CPU is now officially an antique...
My motherboard Gigabyte GA X79-UP4 which has socket LGA2011 ( I don't think this is a model 3 so no real advancement after that).
The sales of CPU's in LGA 2011 land are refurbished /second hand.
I would need to purchase another motherboard and CPU to move on.
I need at least 4x PSie.
I can not afford a new build purchased computer this time around Covid being Covid.
This said after changing the PSU I can see myself assembling a new parts one inside my case.
Thanks for the chat Softsynth.

Grinder
https://soundcloud.com/steve-maitland-1/the-deception
grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 10:43 PM   #5
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 21,872
Default

FWIW I have been updating my studio desktop since I first put it together in 2010-ish.
I am still on an i7 4770 which keeps up with just about anything I want to do & has the added benefit of running my pci based interface without any hassle.

So think seriously before you decide to get into replacing everything.

My next move will need a new MOBO, cpu and memory... Unlikely to happen for a while unless something in the existing setup dies.

Same goes for my RME HDSP 9652.
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2021, 10:44 PM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 21,872
Default

FWIW I have been updating my studio desktop since I first put it together in 2010-ish.
I am still on an i7 4770 which keeps up with just about anything I want to do & has the added benefit of running my pci based interface without any hassle.

So think seriously before you decide to get into replacing everything.
Could be that switching to all SSD instead of HDD would benefit as much as changing cpu, etc.

My next move will need a new MOBO, cpu and memory... Unlikely to happen for a while unless something in the existing setup dies.

Same goes for my RME HDSP 9652.
__________________
Ici on parles Franglais
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.