Old 09-17-2020, 08:24 AM   #1
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default No way to disable automation "Return/Speed"





EDIT - this is not a bug, just a really weird default.

this relates to the "automation record return speed" parameter, which returns to the value at which the parameter originally was set. there's no way to disable the return.

--- original text ---

as far as i can tell, this bug prevents recording automation into AI from being useful without subsequent edits to correct a "surfing point"

1- set track envelope mode to latch
2- record a parameter curve pickup (before a looped section)
3- bug: a weird surfing envelope appears ahead of the play/latching cursor
4- bug: this creates an AI that does not end with the loop/time selection, as expected.



^ note that this "surfing point" == the param's position before you started latching.
this makes for a rude awakening if you're trying to latch in a filter sweep:



additional note: if you are already inside the loop when you begin latching, the AI that is created automatically fills the whole time selection. this solves the above problem, but points to another one: as far as i can tell, there's no way to avoid creating a time selection-wide AI if you're inside a TS.



but! this is a bummer if you're using your TS for render bounds for a mostly finished project. say you want to create a new envelope by latching in a param: you end up with project-wide AIs! amusingly, that was exactly what i wanted to avoid by using AIs in the first place.

Last edited by mccrabney; 08-12-2021 at 06:15 AM.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2020, 09:52 AM   #2
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

^ to clarify that last point, expected behavior would be that AI created in a time selection range does NOT fill the entire TS range unless that hypothetical option was toggled ON
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 03:42 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

bump, is nobody latching in AI?

this supports my suspicions that nobody actually records automation using controllers

we all just draw it in with the mouse, and instead use knobs/faders to impress potential romantic partners

Last edited by mccrabney; 05-06-2021 at 11:21 AM.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2020, 04:09 AM   #4
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

the engineer shifts in her chair. it's been a long session. she can smell the harpsichordist's body odor from the control room. they're on the third (and hopefully final) take of a thirty minute freeform jam. if there were any repeated melodies, they'd be stuck in her head by now -- instead, all she can hear is her creeping tinnitus.

"finally," she thinks, as the tambourine guy gestures cryptically from the booth. "the fadeout."

she toggles on "Automation: Set track automation mode to latch." she reaches for the fader and records a fadeout -- but she can't do it. a single, unrecorded envelope point brings the fadeout back up to the last AI value:



the clock spins backwards. the band starts up again.

with a creak and a sigh, the engineer collapses back into her chair.
a trickle of blood begins to flow from her nostril.
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2021, 04:56 AM   #5
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

bump_
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 04:20 AM   #6
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

guys, "return speed" completely kills the purpose of recording automation to make permanent changes to your parameters. in REAPER, unless playback is stopped, you cannot write automation that permanently sets the parameter to the destination value without it "returning" and i cannot fathom why this choice was made.

why would i want my automation to write automation that hasn't even passed under the edit cursor yet?

what if audio did the same thing?
mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2021, 04:40 AM   #7
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,095
Default

this kind of behavior means that recording automation is pretty much off the table:

mccrabney is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.