Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Compatibility

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2020, 03:36 AM   #1
Benwa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
Default Highly compressed/distorted audio recording problem

Hello people

I have a recent problem with recording audio in Reaper. When I record something the audio sounds highly compressed and distorted. I use a mackie profx16v2 mixer as an interface to record the master to reaper (windows 10). All the recording levels are normal and it used to work perfectly fine. When I try to do the same recording in audacity it sounds normal.

If i import audio in reaper that i didnt record myself or recorded in audacity in reaper there is no problem. When I render in WAV it is compressed/distorted, when I render in flac no problem.

I tried reinstalling reaper, changing buffersizes and so on but nothing seems to solve the problem? Any one know what I am overlooking (software hardware)? Any insight on CPU, RAM etc? Is it my latop that cannot handle Reaper anymore ?

Thanks in advance
Benwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 08:20 AM   #2
WarrenG
Human being with feelings
 
WarrenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Forest, VA
Posts: 36
Default

Long shot but might you have any codec's running on the machine?
Reason I ask is you state it works on Flac and not wav.
unless I misunderstand your statement.
Any FX on the project?

Hope you get it sorted!

Warren
WarrenG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 10:37 AM   #3
Benwa
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 2
Default

How can I know this? I dont have too much knowledge and experience with codecs.

When all is normal the audio somtimes glitches a little bit with lots of FX on. But that is because my computer is getting a little bit older but still OK to be functional.
Benwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 03:14 PM   #4
WarrenG
Human being with feelings
 
WarrenG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Forest, VA
Posts: 36
Default

As stated a long shot, if you loaded some you would know. and as you said it worked before.

???
WarrenG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.